The Mangler 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mangler 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 25, 2015
This movie is sooooooooooo good
Super Reviewer
October 31, 2014
A generic techno-thriller, The Mangler 2 has nothing whatsoever to do with Stephen King's original story. When a rebellious college student downloads the Mangler Virus onto her school's computer system it takes over and proceeds to kill everyone at the school. Clearly written by someone who doesn't know how computers work, the whole thing is preposterous. And the bad acting and cheap sets don't help any. Just an incredibly stupid and poorly made film, The Mangler 2 is complete garbage.
April 8, 2012
Better than the 1st, and with no relation. Nothing like a technology takeover film!
January 13, 2012
Almost completely unrelated to the first film or the Stephen King story, The Mangler 2 concerns a school that implements a new computer security system that a hyper-rich and intelligent student hacks and turns into a lethal killing machine. Three words sum up this film: dumb, dumb, and dumb! And, just in case you're thinking it, no, Lance Henriksen's presence does not redeem the film in any way.
Super Reviewer
June 2, 2011
Not a direct sequel to the first, just another story of possessed machines gone murderous after a cyber virus infects the computer system of a high-tech school and starts to kill off the students and teachers. It's such a good damn idea that should have provided plenty of inventive kills and plenty of carnage, but the kills are lame, tame and out of frame. I accept that the film is low-budget but there was no sign of it's $4 million budget whatsoever! Movies with half the money have produced some amazingly creative and entertaining films. This one just started to get embarassing and I can't believe Lance Henrikson will star in just any old crap these days, though he is the best thing about the film really to be fair.
½ May 15, 2011
No gore, blood or scares in this.
May 28, 2010
Even w/ the greatest actor 2 walk the face of the earth this horror film still produces a horribly made horror moview/ the the only thing horrific is how bad it is!
½ January 20, 2010
Da mein Player dazu neigt, automatisch Untertitel einzublenden las ich sofort zu Beginn des Films den Gehörlosen-Hinweis "Spannende Musik". Danke, liebe DVD - allerdings wage ich es, dirda zu widersprechen. "Langweiliger, eintöniger Synthesizer-Brei" wäre wesentlich treffender gewesen.

Und mit den Worten "langweiliger Brei" lässt sich auch der Rest des Films sehr gut beschreiben. "The Mangler" war zu seiner Zeit ein innovativer und durchaus spannender Horrorfilm. Diese Umsetzung des Konzepts ist einfach nur bizarr, lässt keine Atmosphäre aufkommen und zeigt unkreative, langweilige Kills, die zudem meist ins Off verlagert werden. Gepaart wird dies mit den typischen unsympatischen Teenie-Stereotypen, unvorstellbar unlustigen Wortspielen und vergeigten Witz-Versuchen sowie einem der uninspiriertesten Filmauftritten von Lance Henriksen.

So sehr mich dieser Film von Anfang bis Ende gelangweilt hat muss ich aber zugeben, dass es einerseits gegen Ende durchaus ein paar gute Momente gibt und dass ich schon weit, weit, weit schlechtere Filme miterleben musste. All das ist natürlich weder eine Entschuldigung noch eine Rechtfertigung - Fakt ist und bleibt eines: "The Mangler 2" ist die kostbare Lebenszeit, die man damit verbringt, einfach nicht wert.
January 11, 2010
*1/2 (out of four)

If ever there was a movie that needed a sequel it is "The Mangler"! I really hope sarcasm can be read into that statement and no one takes me too seriously.

The students at a college need protection so the heads create a virtual demon to protect them. But this demon does what demons do best. It turns on them and becomes a killer. Who would have thunk it?
½ September 22, 2009
Hahaha Holy shit this movie is terrible.
½ September 18, 2009
i've seen the 8th layer of hell, and its this garbage
July 14, 2009
Having seen The Mangler and read the sequel's synopsis, I'm really not convinced, at all, that I want to see it.
Super Reviewer
May 23, 2009
only reason to watch this is the plastic girl and her stoner boyfriend. rest is borrrring!
April 22, 2009
steampress goes digital!
April 8, 2009
The only thing that The Mangler 2 has in common with the first Mangler film is, well, nothing.
January 2, 2009
WOW, what a mess. The Mangler 2 is one giant cliche rollercoaster about a rebellious teen hacker girl whose also the resident goth chick (you can tell by how dark her lipstick is. Oh, and she has major daddy issues) who is forced to go back to her upscale private school (ran by none other than Lance Henriksen, who looks really pissed off to be in this movie. Can't blame him either.). Soon, the girl meets up with her gang of walking cliche friends (the stoner, the hot bitch, the jock, and token black guy) who are all forced to stay behind (along with generic faculty and staff) after the entire class goes on a field trip. The goth chick is so gothy and upset with how bad she has it in her millionaire lifestyle that she uploads a virus called The Mangler v.2.0 into the new school security system, and bam, the system has a mind of its own and is killing people left and right in various mechanical ways. This movie was a huge pain to watch, and quite a letdown, not to mention it has NOTHING to do with the original Manger movie. The best person in this film, Lance Henriksen is given a completely wasted role with no potential, until the evil computer uses his body to reach out to our lead heroine, but then even that scene is completely ruin when he sings a Spice Girls (!!!!) song. WTF!!!! I will say that I was surprised to see the humorous Chef and bodyguard survive. At least that aspect was original, other than that, this movie is a complete waste of time and money.
October 29, 2008
Poor follow up to The Mangler. Technically its Ok, its just that it really doesn't have anything to do with the original film. The first is a possessed laundry press. This time out its a possessed security system.
½ August 31, 2008
Movie started very boring. It only starts getting interesting when your 40 minutes into it. Then the people start dying. The way they die are really cool.
July 21, 2008
Godawful. Topped only by the next entry in the series.
July 20, 2008
So unbelievably bad that it's impossible to describe just how bad it is. Every aspect of this movie is so stupid that it's almost funny.
Page 1 of 3