Manufactured Landscapes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Manufactured Landscapes Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 9, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 28, 2007
Burtynsky's awe-inspiring work ultimately speaks for itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 6, 2007
Each of Burtynsky's subjects is impressive in its scale, but terrifying in its ecological impact.
October 19, 2007
What the film does well is to make us part of the problem: After all we demand the lowest prices in everything we buy and that probably means it was made in China.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 7, 2007
Burtynsky avoids any political content to his work, but it's hard not to feel anxious and sad at the spectacle of the rapid industrialization and urbanization of the world's most populous nation.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 7, 2007
My first question: What kind of nefarious events had to occur so that I could purchase the computer with which I write this review?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 20, 2007
Like Burtynsky's pictures, captures images that are at once awesome, humbling, and rather terrifying.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 16, 2007
Documentarian Jennifer Baichwal's film finds a way to comment on ecological and environmental destruction without bludgeoning audiences with heavy-handed messages. There is a mesmerizing quality to the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 11, 2007
Burtynsky's photos are stunning (some of his images of dumps resemble Jackson Pollack's drip art), but what's most interesting about Landscapes is the tension between his work and the filmmaking.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2007
Canadian fine art photographer Edward Burtynsky shoots the recycling dumps, superfactories, vast quarries and shipyards, capturing visual beauty in the ecological devastation.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 27, 2007
Burtynsky calls for "a whole new way of thinking" about the world's economy and ecology, though he never says what's wrong with the old way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 27, 2007
The movie works best traveling from the eye straight to the conscience.
July 26, 2007
Pulls real, enigmatic beauty out of the artificial.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 25, 2007
never stoops to easy scape-goating, nor to pat, politically correct answers. It is as engaging, as maddeningly thought-provoking, as it is beautiful
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 20, 2007
Again and again, Baichwal tapers passages of her film toward resolution in the form of a finished picture by Burtynsky, telescoping her vision and his.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 19, 2007
Unfortunately this film, for all its mesmerizing merits, isn't that alarm, the clock still ticking to doomsday while we all continue to sit by and twiddle our thumbs in misbegotten stupor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2007
Opens with [an] extended moment: a 10-minute-long tracking shot of workers, rows and rows and rows of them, putting in their hours at a Chinese factory. It's an epic touch and reason enough to see this movie in a theater with a large screen.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 4