Marci X - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marci X Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 29, 2014
Marci X, though, is just clueless and sad, seemingly having missed the point that hip-hop is no longer a novelty to be slapped on the cheek with a white glove.
July 29, 2014
[it] might better have been called Marci Why.
July 29, 2014
Rudnick can be an extraordinarily clever writer, but he doesn't seem to understand that a screenplay has to entail more than a series of skit ideas strung together.
July 29, 2014
This is a messy disaster at which you can only scratch your head and mutter, "What were they thinking?"
July 29, 2014
Most of the laughs come from the questionable taste of Benjamin's subject matter, as opposed to any genuine wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 29, 2014
The film sheds weak satirical light on the issues of freedom of speech, media responsibility, and oppression of minorities. It's anybody's guess who the target audience could be.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 26, 2010
Seemingly endless movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 7, 2008
There's a tawdry, self-congratulatory air about the film that leaves a bad taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 27, 2007
Marci X is the kind of terrible movie I'm almost glad I've seen, because this decade probably won't bring a worse movie than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
February 28, 2007
It's no masterpiece, but I found it consistently good-hearted and sometimes hilarious, and the sparse crowd I saw it with was laughing as much as I was, especially at the outrageous rap numbers.
February 5, 2004
It's the kind of movie that Mel Brooks used to make, warts and all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 27, 2004
A sketch comedy that misses more than it hits.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 10, 2004
Como algum est˙dio p˘de aprovar este roteiro? Como os atores aceitaram participar do projeto? Como este conseguiu ser lanšado? Como Benjamin pode ser chamado de 'cineasta'?
| Original Score: 1/5
September 14, 2003
Suggests a sort of Judeo-Nubian alliance that would supposedly make uptight WASP's quake with fear. I think.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
September 13, 2003
Marci sets out to fix the situation and prove she's more than Daddy's little girl. Will she and Dr. S fall in love? Will Ben's company be okay? Will even the senator learn to get down to the rapper's music? Let's hope you never have to find out.
September 1, 2003
A more blithe display of astonishingly clueless anti-Semitism, racism, homophobia, and sheer bad taste has not been seen since probably ever.
September 1, 2003
Draw a big red "X" through this one.
Full Review| Original Score: 0/4
August 31, 2003
The fatal flaw of Marci X is its complete and total disconnect from the contemporary zeitgeist of hip-hop culture in American society.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 31, 2003
A bad joke that turns out to be a bad movie as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
August 30, 2003
J.A.P. meets rap, but it's not a marriage made in heaven -- (very) far from it, in fact.
Page 1 of 3