Marci X - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marci X Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 28, 2007
It's no masterpiece, but I found it consistently good-hearted and sometimes hilarious, and the sparse crowd I saw it with was laughing as much as I was, especially at the outrageous rap numbers.
February 5, 2004
It's the kind of movie that Mel Brooks used to make, warts and all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 27, 2003
A talent-stuffed assemblage of barbs and giddy musical numbers that shouldn't be written off as a feature flop -- but savored instead for the cult-ready collection of late-night satirical skits and misses it is.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 23, 2003
There is more to [Lisa] Kudrow-and "Marci X" proves it-than Phoebe Buffay...An unexpectedly sharp-nailed satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 23, 2003
Marci X is silly, crude, juvenile and often very, very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 29, 2014
Marci X, though, is just clueless and sad, seemingly having missed the point that hip-hop is no longer a novelty to be slapped on the cheek with a white glove.
July 29, 2014
[it] might better have been called Marci Why.
July 29, 2014
Rudnick can be an extraordinarily clever writer, but he doesn't seem to understand that a screenplay has to entail more than a series of skit ideas strung together.
July 29, 2014
This is a messy disaster at which you can only scratch your head and mutter, "What were they thinking?"
July 29, 2014
Most of the laughs come from the questionable taste of Benjamin's subject matter, as opposed to any genuine wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 29, 2014
The film sheds weak satirical light on the issues of freedom of speech, media responsibility, and oppression of minorities. It's anybody's guess who the target audience could be.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 26, 2010
Seemingly endless movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 7, 2008
There's a tawdry, self-congratulatory air about the film that leaves a bad taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 27, 2007
Marci X is the kind of terrible movie I'm almost glad I've seen, because this decade probably won't bring a worse movie than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
October 27, 2005
| Original Score: 0/5
February 2, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 27, 2004
A sketch comedy that misses more than it hits.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 10, 2004
Como algum est˙dio p˘de aprovar este roteiro? Como os atores aceitaram participar do projeto? Como este conseguiu ser lanšado? Como Benjamin pode ser chamado de 'cineasta'?
| Original Score: 1/5
November 16, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
September 14, 2003
Suggests a sort of Judeo-Nubian alliance that would supposedly make uptight WASP's quake with fear. I think.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Page 1 of 3