Margaret Cho - Notorious C.H.O. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Margaret Cho - Notorious C.H.O. Reviews

Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
September 19, 2002
This is hardly big-screen stuff.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
September 13, 2002
Has enough laughs to make it worthwhile for Cho's most devoted fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tom Sime
Dallas Morning News
September 12, 2002
Preserves some indelible new routines.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
August 30, 2002
A raunchy and frequently hilarious follow-up to the gifted Korean American stand-up's I'm the One That I Want.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
August 30, 2002
A movie that will surely be profane, politically charged music to the ears of Cho's fans.
Top Critic
Robert K. Elder
Chicago Tribune
August 29, 2002
Cho offers some of her best material to date: jokes and stories that will no doubt embarrass and haunt her later in life -- a sign of truly raw, personal comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
August 23, 2002
The best comedy concert movie I've seen since Cho's previous concert comedy film, I'm the One That I Want, in 2000.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
August 9, 2002
An hour and a half of joyful solo performance.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
L.A. Weekly
August 8, 2002
The film benefits greatly from a less manic tone than its predecessor, as Cho appears to have settled comfortably into her skin.
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
August 2, 2002
[Cho's face is] an amazing slapstick instrument, creating a scrapbook of living mug shots.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 18, 2002
For 95 often hilarious minutes, [Cho] riffs on the diciness of colonics, on straight versus gay personal ads, on how men would act if they had periods, and on the perils of a certain outré sexual practice.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Stephen Cole
Globe and Mail
July 11, 2002
Where last time jokes flowed out of Cho's life story, which provided an engrossing dramatic through line, here the comedian hides behind obviously constructed routines.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 10, 2002
If you really want declare war on the culture of brainless glam, you have to get a bit smart and ugly. In this war, Cho is truly doing her bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
July 3, 2002
A hit- and-miss affair, consistently amusing but not as outrageous or funny as Cho may have intended or as imaginative as one might have hoped.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Megan Turner
New York Post
July 3, 2002
Essentially a formulaic showcase for the provocative Korean-American's singular comedic styling.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
July 2, 2002
Brilliant, over-the-edge concert film.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Ed Park
Village Voice
July 2, 2002
She needs us far more than we need her.
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
June 28, 2002
Margaret Cho's comedy embraces the audience, looking at the absurd humor in our hang-ups.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
June 24, 2002
Captures the raw comic energy of one of our most flamboyant female comics.