Margaret Cho - Notorious C.H.O. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Margaret Cho - Notorious C.H.O. Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 26, 2014
the first and still the best read funny
½ June 30, 2012
Donald is wrong. Wonderful live show. Haters gonna hate.
March 22, 2012
Cho's best stand-up movie
Super Reviewer
½ February 6, 2012
I'm glad that Margaret Cho has faded away. It is amazing how she was able to recycle one decent set into two feature films and healthy paydays doing stand up shows across the country. Cho certainly received the benefit of being one of the first to be the comedic "hag" to her gay audience and the novelty pushed her to grand levels in my appearance. Destined to be a footnote in history.
January 27, 2012
Absolutely hilarious. Especially poignant for those of us who grew up with a lot of Asians. Her impressions of her mother will induce seat-wetting!
½ July 21, 2010
haters get lost: Margaret Cho is the greatest!!
July 21, 2010
Felicia has agreed to be my interviewee for my 'Go-Go Boot' documentary....and Delana has agreed to be my producer for my Star Wars short for the San Diego Comic Con...
July 21, 2010
i love how all her fans are gay. i mean, rosie dosent have HALF that many gay fans, and rosie is TOTALLY gay. magaret cho just likes to fuck.
July 21, 2010
Life has been unexpectedly hectic as of late, but luckily my viewings of movies (particularly old ones which I missed out on initially) has picked up.

Note about Netflix: if you haven't tried this service yet, you are missing out on one of the quintessential internet fads. An affordable online rental service, this thing makes it not only efficient to see thousands of available titles on DVD, but also affordable. A flat rate per month and unlimited movies which can be sent back in pre-paid return envelopes. Can it get any better?

Okay, enough of the shameless promotion. Onto the films themselves:

[b]The Notorious C.H.O.[/b] - I genuinely like Margaret Cho and all, but this stand-up comedy feature film is not one of her greatest moments. Neither, for that matter, are very many of the jokes particularly funny; in fact, she exhausts some gimmicks so immensely that you're left wondering when it will all end instead of how funny they might actually be.

[b]Hero[/b] - The blueprint for "House of Flying Daggers," they say, is both beautiful and intoxicating, although the narrative structure is a bit too over-the-top for my tastes. But I guess if you're part of that whole "Crouching Tiger" fan club, you aren't seeing these movies necessarily for raw story power or anything. And that's okay, because "Hero" is interesting enough in several other regards to warrant the attention. All that complex choreography reeks of art.

[b]Wonderland [/b]- Starring Val Kilmer as legendary porn star John Holmes, the film chronicles the events surrounding and leading up to a series of murders that took place in Southern California towards the end of his infamous career. The specifics were never cleared, but the movie offers various different insights into possible ways that the events played out. Some of the flashbacks are well-acted and photographed; other moments are bit too melodramatic. Still, not a bad film; certainly informative.

[b]The Texas Chainsaw Massacre[/b] - The remake, not the original. Basically just an elaborate 96-minute geek show with a few jump moments... but then again, such sentiment basically describes the original film, too. Not badly made or executed by any stretch, at least, and the picture is punctuated by a series of slight differences from the original to at least make the viewing experience a little more interesting than it might have been. Oh, and that ending? Terrific.

New movies: [b]Robots[/b] was pretty darn awesome, [b]The Ring Two[/b] was pointless drivel, and [b]Sin City[/b].... well, let's just say I can't tell you until opening day, or the studio might have my head.
March 24, 2010
Miss Cho has yet to let me down. In fact, she's never come remotely close.

Always hilarious and entertaining. I could watch her stand-up for hours on end, seriously.
½ February 18, 2010
I know comediennes can be nasty. But that doesn't make them funny.
½ January 10, 2010
I respect Margaret Cho both as an Asian and as a comedian. I respect her a little more as an Asian comedian. Heck, I even met her once at UNT. And although this movie was funny, there were some jokes that ran a little too long. And, the "moral messages" were laid on a bit thick too. It's okay to have them, but so frequently?
Super Reviewer
½ November 25, 2009
A glorious sexually charged stand up that cracks you up til you hurt.
½ June 28, 2009
parents make such great material.
June 3, 2009
she actually looks cute in this picture.
½ March 7, 2009
I've seen Cho before. I've enjoyed her work. But this was simply unwatchable. Not only was her material vastly lacking in wit or cleverness, but the audience was HORRIBLE. It seemed to take 5 minutes to tell one simply joke because they would burst into uncontrollable laughter and applause after EVERY. SINGLE. SENTENCE! And if the punchline involved anything particularly graphic, or an obscene gesture of any sort, you could pretty much go grab a bite to eat, go to the restroom, check your email, and the crowd still wouldn't have shut up yet.
Even the jokes or concepts that WERE funny were quickly beat into the ground with irritating and over-the-top voices and drawn out deliveries. I love stand up comedy, and I would never recommend this DVD to anyone.
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2009
Margaret Cho is raunchy. Not a bad thing necessarily especially since she is so extraordinarily honest about herself and the observations she makes about sex, relationship, family and self-love (yes, both kinds). The Notorious C.H.O. is more of a platform for her call to arms for tolerance and living without fear.

She touches on the attack on New York and at the time of the taping was probably one of the first jokes made after 9/11. And she campaigns for all people who are minorities whether based on race, sexual orientation, body type, social status, etc. to stop believing in all the ad campaigns and prejudices and start loving themselves to hilarious effect.

Unfortunately, this doesn't come close to the bravery of I'm The One That I Want. No where in Notorious does she come close to the depth of soul-searching and honest reflection of herself as she did in I'm The One, which in itself is a hard act to follow.

Notorious C.H.O. is more frivolity and less substance, but that's just fine this time around. With all the chaos in the world that Cho mentions it's wonderful to just sit back and have someone this talented keep you stitches for 90 minutes.
½ January 1, 2009
This is not her best work, by far, as a comedian, but if you're interested in feminism and such - she has a several bits for that. ;)
December 23, 2008
Deceitful cover, she's really fat. Her wardrobe does not help at all. Jokes are pretty lame, but better than her 2000 effort.
Page 1 of 4