Maria Full of Grace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Maria Full of Grace Reviews

Page 2 of 82
November 23, 2013
interesting story but, not very exciting
½ November 22, 2013
this is such an amazingly-acted Hispanic flick
it truly explores the horrors of dealing with drugs and bringing them into the US
Catalina Sandino Moreno is a young teenager coming into her own; she lives with her family, works at a dead-end job, is in a rocky relationship with her boyfriend, and desperately wants to leave and make some more money
when she's asked to carrying pill pellets illegally into America she is unaware of the risks and dangers involved
sure there's some money to be made but Maria is thrown into a dark underbelly and some other women are dragged along
the film does involve the drug element and how out of hand it can get even getting detained by airport security but the real strength of the film is in Maria's resistance to partaking in the devastation of the work she has gotten herself into
even her best friend tries to talk some sense into her many times
Maria also has to contend with her pregnancy on the rise and not understanding that she's putting herself at risk
you can tell by her facial expressions that she wants to be a certain way and then another, she has that kind of ability to project a raw emotion for each scene
I felt so bad for her that things got out of control so fast and she couldn't do anything about it
I almost welled up during one scene, too
the film is such a big struggle but it does its job at claiming we should stay away from drugs and try not to make a quick buck because of them no matter how tempting it is
Maria is trying her hardest to still be somewhat 'graceful' as a person doing the right thing and thinking of other people despite the desperate scenario
this is a very good film saying let's not do this and do something else
Hawaiianguy2991
Super Reviewer
October 11, 2013
Imagine facing a choice that could release you from the struggles of being poor. Would you take that risk if it meant ruining your life or the lives of family and friends around you? There are many people who are faced with that problem every day. The fact that people are willing to subject themselves to smuggle drugs in their own bodies for money really indicates the state of desperation in poor countries. This film gives us insight into the life of a 17 year-old girl, about the choices she's faced with. I think watching this film might give you a sympathetic understanding of the impoverished and a greater appreciation, it did for me. Catalino Sandino Moreno gives an outstanding performance. Maria Full of Grace is a serious but engaging film that shows the endless world struggle of the poor who want and try to get out of their desperate and imprisoning lives.

Story: A
Acting: A
Direction: A
Visuals: A
Overall: A

**** out of 4 stars
½ September 24, 2013
Interesting movie, found some of the interactions somewhat insignificant, that between Maria and her boyfriend for one, and Blanca was annoyingly immature. This Spanish language drama covers the naivety of those who enter into drug smuggling and maybe the naivety of many of us as viewers as well, worth a watch for sure.
September 12, 2013
This is an amazing movie. Still one of my all time favorites 10 years later.
Totally worth watching, in fact I will have to watch it again one of these days soon.
½ July 13, 2013
Excellent film featuring a stunning debut performance from Catalina Sandino Moreno. Shines a light onto the drug trade, but also tells a fascinating "American Dream" story from an interesting angle.
½ June 24, 2013
I usually don't care for films that sink too deep into reality but Catalina Sandino Moreno's performance totally sold it for me.
June 12, 2013
Internationally acclaimed Colombian film about a pregnant seventeen year old girl who all of a sudden becomes a mule smuggling drugs to the US by ingesting pebbles of heroin. Dealing with a real social issue experienced by thousands of real-life Colombians, this film is absorbing and suspenseful, with good use of character, tension and atmosphere. Maria Full of Grace also features a powerful performance by Catalina Sandino Moreno in the lead.
May 25, 2013
Catalina Sandino Moreno was nominated for an Academy Award in this, her stunning debut film performance. Indeed, we cannot take our eyes off any of these radiant and textured Columbian women.

A layered story of the poverty driven Colombian cocaine trade spins out of control, then gracefully evolves into a powerful fable of the driving generational force of motherhood.

Writer / Director Joshua Marston has quietly cobbled together a small miracle.
April 19, 2013
So that's what happens when you first travel abroad?

I liked the idea behind the movie, but I'm not so sure if the main character is supposed to be so cold and slightly demure. Anyhow, what do I know, I never smuggled anything
½ April 5, 2013
i don't have a lot to say about this except that is a thoroughly entertaining movie that moves very briskly with moments of genuine terror and tension in a realistic, third world context with some coming of age young adult movie tropes thrown in
½ March 21, 2013
Gripping and educational.
½ March 17, 2013
María Álvarez: How many times have you done this?
Lucy Díaz: Two.
María Álvarez: How did it go?
Lucy Díaz: Here I am.

Una película de el tráfico de drogas que nunca se muestra. No hay grandes explosiones o persecuciones, simplemente se trata de el realismo en estas situaciones, y es desgarrador y igualmente de dramático el tema sin necesidad de recurrir a estos elementos. La actuación de Catalina Sandino Moreno es impresionante.
March 11, 2013
Ganske bra film.
Kunne tenka meg å sjå fortsettelsen..
March 8, 2013
that story its soooooo sad and true
½ February 7, 2013
This drama about teenage girls in over their heads with a drug-smuggling operation gone wrong is slowly paced and hard to watch, but every moment of it is riveting.
February 6, 2013
So nicely cool movie
½ January 27, 2013
It's hard to like a spoiled brat. Interesting only from a technical standpoint.
January 21, 2013
This Spanish-language story of a normal girl in a desparate situation feels like a documentary in the best sense of the term. Catalina Sandino Moreno's performance as Maria is heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.
½ January 20, 2013
A vivid and disturbing depiction of an horrifying drug trafficking trip. Way better than the so-called classics like "Traffic" if you want to explore its educational value, except there is an exemplification of American Dream somehow. Dazzling performance from the beautiful Cataline Sandino Moreno.
Page 2 of 82