The Mark of Cain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mark of Cain Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A pretty okey drama movie about british soldiers in Iraq. It was a well made movie with realisitic and emotional feeling. The movie is mainly about the soldiers hard lives there so don't expect many fire fights etc.
October 15, 2012
An interesting story about how the torturers in turn become the tortured.
½ July 20, 2011
This was an interesting war movie in that it really was character driven. It also was very specifically driven by two characters rather than say a unit. What I liked about it was that it was a compelling and interesting story and left the characters with different moral challenges that they had to deal with and attempt to over come it. They each responded differently and in often conflicting manners which was interesting to watch. The problem was that it was very predictable and the character motives change much too frequently. One instance you'd hate them, the other you'd feel for them which is tough to do because I was constantly shifting my point of view. This movie is definitely worth a watch.
February 10, 2011
The plot is great. Also really good performances.
November 15, 2010
Krig er shait. Alle soldater er viljeløse nikkedukker,til helvete med de! Bra film om feige krigere,glad jeg nektet militæret ass, og ikke endte opp som dumming i en eller annen tullete krig!
June 4, 2010
Brittish Iraq film done pretty well
April 29, 2010
spoko, ale aktorow z takim parszywym ryjem (gerard kearns) nie powinni pokazywac na ekranie :|
½ February 25, 2010
A powerful film unusually showing the British side of things in Iraq.
½ October 10, 2009
A well-made movie on how war corrupts soldiers. Powerful acting and story.
May 20, 2009
the 1st time i saw it i thought it was sooo good and really left me thinking about it, the 2nd disappointedly i thought it was too harsh with the violence and maybe paid more attention to the story line, its still very good but a bit of a disturbing watch!
½ May 15, 2009
poor acting but insightful plot
March 25, 2009
Although Mark of Cain isn't a bad movie, and most of the acting is in fact pretty good, it seems to be lacking a clear purpose. For a movie that aims to make a political statement, it seems to pull its punches at the most crucial moments. As a movie that wants to tell a story about a modern war, although realistic and often gritty, it is not nearly as powerful as Platoon or as intricate as Jarhead. In fact, the power of the story seems to peter out after the first two-thirds of the movie. For example, the technique of starting with a crucial scene, and then flashing back to this scene as the story unfolds, becomes less powerful. Eventually, the viewer pretty well knows what to expect. Watch Mark of Cain, expect some poignant scenes, but don't expect any new insights in that fiasco known as Iraq and don't expect to see war's truly horrific face.
January 12, 2009
Incredible war movie.... essential viewing!
½ October 24, 2008
Wasn't horrible, decently acted but the story has been done.
½ September 13, 2008
The Mark of Cain is a BAFTA Award winning British television film first broadcast in 2007 following three young men as they experience the extremity of war for the first time, and the permanent effects of what they have seen and done as they return from their tour of duty. Rather than heroic stories, all they bring home are tawdry trophy photos, as well as the secrets of what they really did, until the consequences of their actions surface to confront them.
½ September 8, 2008
Rett og slett litt kjedeligt. Ingen karakterar å vær på lag med i det heila tatt. Slutten tok seg litt opp, men mest for at han fekk fram avsky i meg mot dessa folkene.
½ August 27, 2008
An excellent low-budget film focusing on the mistreatment of Iraqi detainees by Britsih Army regulars. Good performances from a no-name cast and a strong storyline.
½ August 10, 2008
Only just watched it last night. thought it was a very good movie. I'm a big Leo Gregory fan so that's what made me watch it. Very realistic and good stor of solider over in Iraq and what they are going through.
July 27, 2008
Velspilt drama om ungdom fra England, sendt for å opprettholde freden i Basra, delvis basert på en sann historie. Skremmende at gutter som knapt er noe mer enn store barn sendes til skarpe oppdrag, ikke bra. Men bra film.
July 18, 2008
Skremmende bra film som handler om en gjeng britiske soldater som går altfor langt i Basra Irak. Kan sammenlignes med det amerikanerne gjorde i Abu Gharib fengslet i 2003. En veldig bra politisk krigs drama som er laget på fakta fra Irak krigen. Anbefales på det sterkeste. Gå å se filmen på kino folkens :-)
Page 1 of 3