Marley & Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marley & Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
September 28, 2011
It's shaggy and scattered, but give Marley a biscuit for its realistic depiction of how powerful can be the bond between dogs and their "people."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 12, 2011
If you like the Lassie films, or even Beethoven and Old Yeller, you'll probably find this one easy to like.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
July 7, 2010
Although billed as a romantic comedy, this film is neither: it's a drama spanning about two decades in a marriage
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
William Goss
December 17, 2009
I'm fairly sure that the book and the film shared a common goal -- to make its audience sit, stay, laugh, cry, then move on -- and at those modest aspirations, the movie succeeds.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
July 5, 2009
It left me crying like a five year old...
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
April 26, 2009
Even dog skeptics might be surprised how deftly Marley & Me adapts newspaper columnist John Grogan's book...into the equivalent of a kid's movie for adults. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph (UK)
April 23, 2009
Sometimes, and especially on a crummy afternoon in the middle of March, it's nice to be able to switch off and settle down to enjoying the sight of middle-class families eating well and playing together in sprawling, bucolic gardens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
April 17, 2009
...the strength of the finale effectively elevates everything that preceded it...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
April 10, 2009
Marley & Me is a film of moments and many of them are cute. For anyone who has ever had a dog or a close pet, there's bound to be some connection.
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 20, 2009
Directed with admirable sensitivity and spot-on populist instincts...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
March 15, 2009
It is a very positive film, so it won't appeal to cynics, but it should appeal to just about everyone else.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 13, 2009
There's much more to this than just the cute dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
March 13, 2009
Evidently contrived and something of an ungainly hybrid, the film shares its canine protagonist's facility for wearing down your resistance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
Victor Olliver
March 12, 2009
Belly laughs are few, a sharp script keeps you on your toes. However, Kathleen Turner as a Barbara Woodhouse-style dog trainer, leg-humped by Marley, is a sight you have to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Matthew Turner
March 12, 2009
A surprisingly moving portrait of family life over the course of 15 years, enlivened by strong, likeable performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 1, 2009
Somehow, I fell in the end for this dog-gone sweet little movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
February 24, 2009
Un pasatiempo divertido y sensible al mismo tiempo, liviano y nada pretencioso. Quien busque una comedia sólo para reír, que busque otra cosa; aquí también encontrará lágrimas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
January 31, 2009
By the time Marley & Me ends, dog owners, especially, will be quite moved while everyone else will feel inspired to adopt a dog like Marley as part of their own family.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 7