Marley & Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marley & Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2011
It's shaggy and scattered, but give Marley a biscuit for its realistic depiction of how powerful can be the bond between dogs and their "people."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 12, 2011
If you like the Lassie films, or even Beethoven and Old Yeller, you'll probably find this one easy to like.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 7, 2010
Although billed as a romantic comedy, this film is neither: it's a drama spanning about two decades in a marriage
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 17, 2009
I'm fairly sure that the book and the film shared a common goal -- to make its audience sit, stay, laugh, cry, then move on -- and at those modest aspirations, the movie succeeds.
July 5, 2009
It left me crying like a five year old...
April 26, 2009
Even dog skeptics might be surprised how deftly Marley & Me adapts newspaper columnist John Grogan's book...into the equivalent of a kid's movie for adults. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 23, 2009
Sometimes, and especially on a crummy afternoon in the middle of March, it's nice to be able to switch off and settle down to enjoying the sight of middle-class families eating well and playing together in sprawling, bucolic gardens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
...the strength of the finale effectively elevates everything that preceded it...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 10, 2009
Marley & Me is a film of moments and many of them are cute. For anyone who has ever had a dog or a close pet, there's bound to be some connection.
March 20, 2009
Directed with admirable sensitivity and spot-on populist instincts...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2009
It is a very positive film, so it won't appeal to cynics, but it should appeal to just about everyone else.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 13, 2009
There's much more to this than just the cute dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 13, 2009
Evidently contrived and something of an ungainly hybrid, the film shares its canine protagonist's facility for wearing down your resistance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
March 12, 2009
Belly laughs are few, a sharp script keeps you on your toes. However, Kathleen Turner as a Barbara Woodhouse-style dog trainer, leg-humped by Marley, is a sight you have to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 12, 2009
A surprisingly moving portrait of family life over the course of 15 years, enlivened by strong, likeable performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2009
Somehow, I fell in the end for this dog-gone sweet little movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 24, 2009
Un pasatiempo divertido y sensible al mismo tiempo, liviano y nada pretencioso. Quien busque una comedia sólo para reír, que busque otra cosa; aquí también encontrará lágrimas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 31, 2009
By the time Marley & Me ends, dog owners, especially, will be quite moved while everyone else will feel inspired to adopt a dog like Marley as part of their own family.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 7