Marley & Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marley & Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 21, 2014
I can vouch that director David Frankel succeeds in wringing out every last tear from the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 23, 2008
The book has been known to make grown men weep. But seeing the movie, you can't help but feel had.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 29, 2012
Save some time; stay at home and think of your dead pets instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 23, 2008
Despite having been labored over by sharp screenwriters Scott Frank and Don Roos, Marley & Me feels like She's Having a Baby with some Marmaduke cartoons grafted onto it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 29, 2008
The production manages, against heavy odds, to make its canine star an incorrigible bore. The problem is bad parenting.
December 22, 2008
Seldom does a studio release feature so little drama -- and not much comedy either, other than when the dog clowns around.
December 23, 2008
Just another innocuous character dramedy that might have been handled better if done independently.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 29, 2008
It's difficult to invest in John's suburban angst, questioning his choices while looking around at his huge home, pretty wife, healthy kids and cushy career.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 29, 2008
Kids and adults will like it, but be forewarned -- it's not all laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 24, 2008
Its small moments of insight don't make up for the overall lack of drama or narrative, but they will evoke all the proper emotions out of an audience with tissues at the ready.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 23, 2008
Hell is Marley & Me.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
January 1, 2009
It's an anemic comic-drama about a dull couple searching for happiness, and they happen to have a dog.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 19, 2008
A dog rules a bland couple. Makes me glad I didn't read the book. Cured my puppy lust.
Full Review
December 22, 2008
After its breezy first act the film goes into a second act that's intended to be darker and more dramatic but doesn't convince on either count.
December 24, 2008
90 minutes of mediocrity followed by 10 minutes of the most manipulative, mean-spirited pap ever put into a movie made for families
| Original Score: 1.5/5
December 24, 2008
If characters talking to dogs and dog reaction shots are some of your favorite things, add some stars to this review.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 23, 2008
Pull back the intense tear-jerking and layers of sitcom filmmaking, and you're left with a movie with amazingly little in the way of dramatic nutrition or organic sentiment.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
December 24, 2008
I said to Lady, "It's a labra-bore"/She said, "Scout, you overpraise."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 22, 2008
Here, there's no great momentum, just a long, flat arc toward the inevitable.
December 24, 2008
Marley's misadventures play like a TV movie, never reaching the heights of such endearing canine-centered films as 2000's My Dog Skip.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 7