Marley & Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marley & Me Reviews

November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 13, 2009
Evidently contrived and something of an ungainly hybrid, the film shares its canine protagonist's facility for wearing down your resistance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
December 29, 2008
The dog -- or the many dogs who play Marley through the years -- also delivers some of the funniest scenes.
December 29, 2008
I think this movie works because of the relationship on screen between Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston.
December 29, 2008
Not every book has a movie lurking in it.
December 29, 2008
Frankel turns the camera toward the canines as frequently as possible, but too often we're stuck with Wilson and Aniston's bland characters. You wonder if it might have been better to let sleeping dogs lie.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 29, 2008
The movie is ultimately less about the pain of loss than about the way families often take shape around a pet.
December 29, 2008
Though it requires three or four hankies to mop up the mess this sentimental tale leaves behind, the tears feel largely unearned.
Read More | Original Score: C
December 29, 2008
David Frankel adapts John Grogan's sentimental bestseller with no artistic pretensions beyond alternately making you feel like your heart is caving in, then injecting you with a gigantic syringe of good cheer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 29, 2008
It's a film guaranteed to appeal to tender-hearted pet lovers. But the movie, which was largely filmed in Miami and Fort Lauderdale, turns out to be less about dogs than it is about one man's trajectory through adulthood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 29, 2008
When the story lags -- and it does more than a few times -- there is Alan Arkin as Grogan's crusty editor Arnie Klein to help things along.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 29, 2008
The production manages, against heavy odds, to make its canine star an incorrigible bore. The problem is bad parenting.
December 29, 2008
Marley & Me turns out to be the best -- and truest -- film about humans and our animals to arrive onscreen in a dog's age.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
December 29, 2008
Marley, of course, steals every scene he's in, which is most of them.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 29, 2008
Doesn't consistently capture the book's personable tone.
December 29, 2008
Director David Frankel gives the movie the aw-shucks feeling of a sitcom with a large sentimental streak.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 25, 2008
It should come as no surprise that when you team Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston with a Labrador retriever, you get a bundle of blond fluff.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 25, 2008
At the end of Marley & Me you don't leave the theater with a sense that anything much has been learned, only that a fixture in the Grogans' comfortable suburban lives has been removed.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2008
Marley's misadventures play like a TV movie, never reaching the heights of such endearing canine-centered films as 2000's My Dog Skip.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 24, 2008
You should bring lots of Kleenex with you. It might just come in handy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
Want to see a grown man cry? Take him to Marley & Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
Marley boasts animal magnetism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
I thought the first three-quarters of it about as engrossing as a Puppy Chow commercial, and the last quarter pretty depressing. But that's chiefly because it only made me think of my own dogs.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 24, 2008
I said to Lady, "It's a labra-bore"/She said, "Scout, you overpraise."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 24, 2008
If characters talking to dogs and dog reaction shots are some of your favorite things, add some stars to this review.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2008
A dog movie that isn't a dog of a movie -- what a pleasant Christmas surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
A disarmingly enjoyable, wholehearted comic vision of the happy messiness of family life.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 24, 2008
Marley & Me is everything you could want in a holiday movie -- family friendly, touching, funny. Plus, it's surprisingly intelligent and real. It may be the best family film of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 24, 2008
When Marley is not on the screen, Wilson and Aniston demonstrate why they are gifted comic actors. They have a relationship that's not too sitcomish, not too sentimental, mostly smart and realistic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
The movie never captures the crucial leap that made the book a hit. It's never Marley & Us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 24, 2008
Need a shortcut to manipulate an audience's emotions? Always go with the dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2008
The book, like the movie it inspired, is a sweet, surprisingly moving chronicle of a young couple's struggle to simultaneously build a family, advance their careers and maintain their sanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 23, 2008
Marley & Me proves how lifeless Lady and the Tramp would have been if told from the p.o.v. of Jim Dear and Darling.
December 23, 2008
The book has been known to make grown men weep. But seeing the movie, you can't help but feel had.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 23, 2008
The nonthreatening adorableness of Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson is no match for the emotional range of Marley.
December 22, 2008
Here, there's no great momentum, just a long, flat arc toward the inevitable.
December 22, 2008
Seldom does a studio release feature so little drama -- and not much comedy either, other than when the dog clowns around.
December 22, 2008
Watching the stars try to out-cutesy the mutt is one for the puke bucket.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 22, 2008
This perky, episodic film is as broad and obvious as it could be, but delivers on its own terms thanks to sparky chemistry between its sunny blond stars, Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston, and the unabashed emotion-milking of the final reel.