Marley & Me Reviews

Page 2 of 3
December 25, 2008
At the end of Marley & Me you don't leave the theater with a sense that anything much has been learned, only that a fixture in the Grogans' comfortable suburban lives has been removed.
December 24, 2008
Marley's misadventures play like a TV movie, never reaching the heights of such endearing canine-centered films as 2000's My Dog Skip.
December 24, 2008
You should bring lots of Kleenex with you. It might just come in handy.
December 24, 2008
Want to see a grown man cry? Take him to Marley & Me.
December 24, 2008
Marley boasts animal magnetism.
December 24, 2008
I thought the first three-quarters of it about as engrossing as a Puppy Chow commercial, and the last quarter pretty depressing. But that's chiefly because it only made me think of my own dogs.
December 24, 2008
I said to Lady, "It's a labra-bore"/She said, "Scout, you overpraise."
December 24, 2008
If characters talking to dogs and dog reaction shots are some of your favorite things, add some stars to this review.
December 24, 2008
A dog movie that isn't a dog of a movie -- what a pleasant Christmas surprise.
December 24, 2008
A disarmingly enjoyable, wholehearted comic vision of the happy messiness of family life.
December 24, 2008
Marley & Me is everything you could want in a holiday movie -- family friendly, touching, funny. Plus, it's surprisingly intelligent and real. It may be the best family film of the year.
December 24, 2008
When Marley is not on the screen, Wilson and Aniston demonstrate why they are gifted comic actors. They have a relationship that's not too sitcomish, not too sentimental, mostly smart and realistic.
December 24, 2008
The movie never captures the crucial leap that made the book a hit. It's never Marley & Us.
December 24, 2008
Need a shortcut to manipulate an audience's emotions? Always go with the dog.
December 24, 2008
The book, like the movie it inspired, is a sweet, surprisingly moving chronicle of a young couple's struggle to simultaneously build a family, advance their careers and maintain their sanity.
December 23, 2008
Marley & Me proves how lifeless Lady and the Tramp would have been if told from the p.o.v. of Jim Dear and Darling.
December 23, 2008
The book has been known to make grown men weep. But seeing the movie, you can't help but feel had.
December 23, 2008
The nonthreatening adorableness of Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson is no match for the emotional range of Marley.
December 22, 2008
Here, there's no great momentum, just a long, flat arc toward the inevitable.
December 22, 2008
Seldom does a studio release feature so little drama -- and not much comedy either, other than when the dog clowns around.
Page 2 of 3