Marriage Story Reviews

February 7, 2020
Jennifer Jason Leigh will never watch this movie, and neither should she.
February 4, 2020
Marriage Story follows the confusion and mounting frustrations of Charlie, while Nicole's motivations feel largely opaque.
January 30, 2020
What is so startling is Nicole and Charlie's lack of depth about their lives. Yes, they mourn the end of their marriage, but Baumbach's script offers no emotional or spiritual rationale for their sorrow.
January 10, 2020
Noah Baumbach's script, about the trials and tribulations of divorce and custody battles, is really nothing we haven't seen before, on big or small screens.
December 20, 2019
The lawyers topic closes with an incongruity: Nicole's gratitude betrays all previous representations of vileness and affirms the superficiality of the film. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 16, 2019
It's insupportable, false, pretentiously realistic, inhabited by heavy characters, dialogue and situations. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 13, 2019
What should feel authentic can often feel hokey, sanitized and a fairy-tale of what a divorce could look like if people just got out of their own way.
December 13, 2019
Marriages can, do, and in certain cases ought to end, and bravo to [Noah] Baumbach for his candor in examining his own. But just as some matrimonial ties should be severed, so too should Marriage Story have pared down its fussy indulgences.
December 11, 2019
Marriage Story is a promising film that has carved out powerful performances from the cast, but Baumbach's strategies in drawing out his character arcs are uneven, insufficient, and disappointing.
December 6, 2019
Baumbach deserves kudos for highlighting the adversarial nature of divorce court...but his odd storytelling decisions too often undercut the human dynamics he's trying to explore.
December 4, 2019
Think Kramer vs. Kramer meets Husbands and Wives with smartphones.
November 29, 2019
It's not a terrible movie, there are things to admire about it, but you leave the theatre underwhelmed and wondering what all the fuss was about.
November 22, 2019
Their privilege is rarely checked or acknowledged, while the plight of others is never really addressed even slightly. It all feels very worthy, hoping insight will outweigh specificity, but it's something we have, literally, seen before...
November 15, 2019
Marriage Story falls short of its models because it doesn't reflect contemporary -- Millennial -- problems surrounding intimacy. Hence, Baumbach's reluctance to call the movie what it is.
November 8, 2019
While admit that this a beautifully-written movie... I can't help but see this movie from this rarefied perch.
November 1, 2019
I felt that I was watching "acting"- since his protagonists are show people, Baumbach has allowed them more theatricality, thus risking the naturalism he wanted to portray.
October 16, 2019
The perfect example of how misogyny manifests among the artistic classes.
October 8, 2019
Getting hit with such a snootful of mega-misery is not necessarily what I'm looking for in a relationship movie. I don't find catharsis here. All I see is a kind of cinematic therapy session.