The Martins (The Tosspots) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Martins (The Tosspots) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 30, 2015
a fantastic heartwarming comedy staring the always great Lee Evans, we all know these people, you may hate them, but if u watch this you will just see how lucky you are compared to these unlucky sods that went wrong in life
You may feel unworthy well how do you think these people feel
Lee Evans, Kathy Burke and a whole other Extra cast of well known names make these people look as real as can be
Well done and hats off to these people who can only afford budget orangeade and not a decent holiday
This is Royle family- the movie, they may not have money, good holidays, nice food but what they do have love and family
Fuck tango, you want family
November 13, 2014
Lee Evans gives a great performance. However, this film lacked interest and appeal in my opinion
September 4, 2014
This film is less about working class people but the epitome of what people think of as benefit Britain. A very over the top character in the form of Lee Evans, but another enjoyable role from Kathy Burke. Watchable, but missable
July 2, 2013
lee evans is brilliant
January 13, 2013
At first, it feels like a pro-underdog film; a celebration of underachievement, slacking and mediocrity. But the little guy vs the world attitude exhibited by Evan's character is justifiable only to him and the film isn't really a critique on class differences, but of the misplaced sense of entitlement a lot of people share regardless of their background. It's very nineties British fare, but it's better than I expected.
December 26, 2012
Surprisingly enjoyable considering I dislike Lee Evans. He's good; Kathy Burke is wonderful, as always. It's often classified as a comedy but I wouldn't come to it expecting laughs: It's too angry for that.
November 28, 2012
I thought this movie was ok, a bit funny in parts, Lee Evan was ok but it's not his best film, it also starred Kathy Burke Perry from Kerry and Perry go large, it's a ok movie and I would love it on DVD
June 11, 2012
Sad film rather than funny about people with little hope, education and live on benefits.
½ December 18, 2009
This film was awful. It's meant to be funny, but it really isn't. I wouldn't see this film unless you are very boring and sad.
½ September 5, 2009
It was a bit shit.
Eddie was quite right in saying it came across like a propaganda film promoting chavs (they have feelings too, they don't want to be chavs bla bla bla).

It all just felt a bit dirty and daft.
½ April 3, 2009
lmao very good british comedy!
March 14, 2009
lo0ve this film its the best
½ September 1, 2008
Patchy comedy. Only mildly amusing in places. Evans is far better when he's doing his stand-up. Kathy Burke is wasted in the role as his long suffering wife.
½ August 24, 2008
I enjoyed this film. Lee Evans is a joy and no one plays a down-trodden wife like Kathy Burke. far-fetched, maybe, but I enjoyed it and would watch it again.
August 21, 2008
wow i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good comedy movie 2 watch....this has got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...imn a fan of kathy burke ( i think that she is brilliant in the hit tv show harry enfield n chums where she plays waynetta slob n perry)...i think that lee evans is a great comic actor n hes brilliant stand up comic because he is a really funny man 2 see live on stage this is a good movie 2 watch n its enjoyable
August 21, 2008
A funny, heart warming film. Loved it.
August 20, 2008
When you're watching this you're not quite sure if you're watching a comedy or a drama.

To me the film exploits the dreams and desperation of being poor in the UK.
August 20, 2008
i thought i were quite good, lol
Super Reviewer
August 12, 2008
A cringeable look at Britain's stereotypical benefit scroungers, it's a fairly humourous film, nothing great but certainly worth a watch.

I always feel these are the type of films that non-Brits should watch as opposed to the 'Bridget Jones' style ones.

Most people associate Kathy Burke with comedy, but it's defintely these kind of roles that Kathy shines in.
Page 1 of 3