Martyrs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Martyrs Reviews

Page 2 of 110
½ July 23, 2016
Maybe it isnt perfect, but at least its not boring LIKE FUCKING GHOST BUGGERS! FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No apreciation for art at all!!!!!!! take the revel rod out yer asses rutten turnips!!!!! JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
July 19, 2016
The effects may be decent but at the end of the day it's just a pretentious, torture porn fuck fest with no interesting characters and a plot that completely dies after the first 45 minutes. it's not the worst horror movie of it's kind but it is one with the biggest ego
July 9, 2016
Just plain disturbing, brutal, and very hard to watch.
June 17, 2016
do your self a favor do not watch this movie!
½ June 10, 2016
This was the most creepiest, gruesomes film since Frontiers. It had great performance, it was intense, and the ending was the most horrific thing I've seen. It wasn't scary, but it was very graphic on how people can be, so evil. It delievered what It was going for.
May 29, 2016
It wasnt scary but man was it good...a must watch for any horror fan but just keep in mind that it is not for everyone so do not watch if you're younger than 18 also probably the most violent horror movie that i have seen..
May 17, 2016
This was my second time watching Martyrs. The first time around I wasn't particularly moved, however with the remake having recently surfaced I figured it was worth revisiting the original. Martyrs is brutal but the violence isn't cartoonish as it is in films like Human Centipede and A Serbian Film. It is grounded in a very real setting, ultimately making this a gruelling experience but one with sufficient depth make it stay in the mind after the credits have rolled. For the right reasons too. It is a revenge story told primarily from the perspective of a survivor of severe childhood trauma, however the tone flips about midway through and takes some surprising turns. It all culminates with one of the most memorable final acts in modern horror.
½ May 1, 2016
Hope it doesn't take too long for the images from this movie to get out of my head!
½ April 26, 2016
Not a movie one wants to watch more than once. That being said, Martyrs is one of the best horror films ever made.
April 7, 2016
A brutal realistic story about enlightenment. Yet another film that makes me distrust critics.
½ March 29, 2016
The excessive violence almost drowned out all signs of intelligence and thought provoking ideas this movie brought to the table. Keyword almost.
March 28, 2016
A first half filled with lots of gore but plenty of intrigue and visceral thrill quickly descends into all I can describe as wretched, sickening filth. I can handle violence. I can handle gore. I can't handle a young girl being flayed while a group of old people clap and call it science.
March 15, 2016
A masterclass in French horror. Sick, twisted, in all the best ways.
March 12, 2016
This was very disturbing. One of the most shocking films I have seen in a long time
March 1, 2016
My brief opinion is that this well made film by Pascal Laugier showed he has the ability, as a director, to deliver the unquenchable. Anyone who actually 'enjoyed' this film should see a therapist. But those few, like myself, who watched it and questioned how anyone could vindicate the brutal torture of a young woman can appreciate the skill in the film making present. I will never watch this film again but I will watch out for Pascal's next film, which will hopefully be as bloody but more watchable.
February 24, 2016
cosa ho appena visto
½ February 6, 2016
It wasn't quite like its friends in this gruesome genre, this one has a purpose, a sick one of course but hey it's European. It gave me head-aches and depression to some degree. I'm not watching it again for sure.
February 5, 2016
An oppressively uncomfortable watch, Martyrs shoots for the skies of extreme cinema and occasionally hits the mark. Some say it's pointlessly cruel, others say it's a revelation and possibly a game changer, others still don't see what all the fuss is about. Whatever your opinion one thing is for sure: this is a heavy movie with heavy themes and violence which feels all too realistic. But it's also very, very well made and bravely acted. And it deserves credit for that.
½ January 29, 2016
I was so disappointed with this film. Going into Martyrs, I was expecting extreme brutality with lots of gore and torture. But what I got was a few bloody scenes, and some mild abuse.

This wasn't at all what I thought it would be like. The beginning was promising, but over time it became boring and stale.
½ January 27, 2016
I've known about this movie for about 3 years now and I can't believe I've only seen it for the first time now. Martyrs follows two women, Anna and Lucie. Anna was, as a teen, kidnapped and tortured. Upon finding her, the police take her to the orphanage and there she meets Lucie, a girl who seems to be the only friend she has. And now, 15 years later, Anna is still trying to find the people who kidnapped her and she does. Now, I will not go into larger details about the plot because of how unpredictable and surprising this movie this. The plot surprised me four times! I wasn't expecting such a well developed plot, honestly. The ending is quite messed up and leaves a few questions unanswered, but it's satisfying and quite disturbing. The characters are, as well, well developed. Anna and Lucie have great chemistry between them and you actually care for what happens to them. The movie's direction is great. The atmosphere of the movie is very grim and dirty. The gore & violence is amazing! The movie has some truly memorable (in a bad way, I guess) torture scenes and it's hard to watch at times, but it doesn't affect the movie in a bad way, at all, it makes it even better. The soundtrack is great and there's many really cool songs that I added to my playlist! There's a big message at the end of the movie and the last minute might affect on how much the people will like/hate the movie. All in all, a great torture-porn movie with great acting and charaters, an intriguing plot with unpredictable twists and a beautiful soundtrack. I would highly recommend checking this movie out to anyone who wants to watch a good movie.
Page 2 of 110