Martyrs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Martyrs Reviews

Page 3 of 110
March 12, 2016
This was very disturbing. One of the most shocking films I have seen in a long time
March 1, 2016
My brief opinion is that this well made film by Pascal Laugier showed he has the ability, as a director, to deliver the unquenchable. Anyone who actually 'enjoyed' this film should see a therapist. But those few, like myself, who watched it and questioned how anyone could vindicate the brutal torture of a young woman can appreciate the skill in the film making present. I will never watch this film again but I will watch out for Pascal's next film, which will hopefully be as bloody but more watchable.
February 24, 2016
cosa ho appena visto
½ February 6, 2016
It wasn't quite like its friends in this gruesome genre, this one has a purpose, a sick one of course but hey it's European. It gave me head-aches and depression to some degree. I'm not watching it again for sure.
February 5, 2016
An oppressively uncomfortable watch, Martyrs shoots for the skies of extreme cinema and occasionally hits the mark. Some say it's pointlessly cruel, others say it's a revelation and possibly a game changer, others still don't see what all the fuss is about. Whatever your opinion one thing is for sure: this is a heavy movie with heavy themes and violence which feels all too realistic. But it's also very, very well made and bravely acted. And it deserves credit for that.
½ January 29, 2016
I was so disappointed with this film. Going into Martyrs, I was expecting extreme brutality with lots of gore and torture. But what I got was a few bloody scenes, and some mild abuse.

This wasn't at all what I thought it would be like. The beginning was promising, but over time it became boring and stale.
½ January 27, 2016
I've known about this movie for about 3 years now and I can't believe I've only seen it for the first time now. Martyrs follows two women, Anna and Lucie. Anna was, as a teen, kidnapped and tortured. Upon finding her, the police take her to the orphanage and there she meets Lucie, a girl who seems to be the only friend she has. And now, 15 years later, Anna is still trying to find the people who kidnapped her and she does. Now, I will not go into larger details about the plot because of how unpredictable and surprising this movie this. The plot surprised me four times! I wasn't expecting such a well developed plot, honestly. The ending is quite messed up and leaves a few questions unanswered, but it's satisfying and quite disturbing. The characters are, as well, well developed. Anna and Lucie have great chemistry between them and you actually care for what happens to them. The movie's direction is great. The atmosphere of the movie is very grim and dirty. The gore & violence is amazing! The movie has some truly memorable (in a bad way, I guess) torture scenes and it's hard to watch at times, but it doesn't affect the movie in a bad way, at all, it makes it even better. The soundtrack is great and there's many really cool songs that I added to my playlist! There's a big message at the end of the movie and the last minute might affect on how much the people will like/hate the movie. All in all, a great torture-porn movie with great acting and charaters, an intriguing plot with unpredictable twists and a beautiful soundtrack. I would highly recommend checking this movie out to anyone who wants to watch a good movie.
January 27, 2016
With a promising first half, Martyrs could've been a violent and chilling revenge flick with it's interesting duo, but instead turns into a distasteful torture-porn bloodfest with no substance driving it's second half.
January 15, 2016
Brutal, grisly and surprisingly compelling. Martyrs's graphic violence and strong emotional depth are quite rare for a torture horror of it's kind. It makes Saw look like a kid's movie in comparison.
December 29, 2015
Martyrs is a perfect example of the term "torture-porn" the first hour of the film begins with the typical story of revenge, (quite interesting, especially by the hallucinations of Lucie) but the last 30 minutes are so violent, so cruel, so beasts, so inhumane that all the plot becomes unpleasant. And not only that, despite being one of the films more violent than i have seen, also, Martyrs account with a final more pessimistic and ridiculous that i have seen. It is not a film for the general public, too violent, both that falls into the ridiculous.

Review en Español:
Martyrs es el perfecto ejemplo del termino "torture-porn" la primera hora del film comienza con la típica historia de venganza, (bastante interesante, sobre todo por las alucinaciones de Lucie) pero los últimos 30 minutos son tan violentos, tan crueles, tan bestias, tan inhumanos que toda la trama se vuelve desagradable. Y no solo eso, a pesar de ser una de las películas mas violentas que he visto, también, Martyrs cuenta con un final mas pesimista y ridículo que he visto. No es una película para todo el publico, demasiado violenta, tanto que cae en lo ridículo.
December 2, 2015
A film that split audiences when it was released had a very similar effect on myself. To begin with I was very optimistic, witnessing an opening that suggests the film intends to analyse the mind of one who has endured prolonged systematic abuse, the effects it has on their current life, the interactions with people around them, a true friend who tries to understand them and help them cope with what they've been through and still have to face on the road to recovery. It has potential, and may have been very interesting, but when I was subjected to a series of jump scares, gory deaths and that classic movie trope of imagining something horrible is happening only to discover it's a dream, my optimism sagged. It's elevated somewhat by a powerful lead performance and some of the most convincing make up I've ever seen in a film. But like The Human Centipede, it takes a premise that's silly but strangely plausible and suffocates it under a blanket of unpleasant images and ceaseless violence. But while Centipede was an equal opportunities gore-fest, here the brutality is doled out solely on the female, giving the film a strong air of misogyny that makes things more than a little uncomfortable. The spiritual philosophies in the movie are poorly explored and simply don't justify the last half hour, which looks it was filmed by a real life torture murderer. The camerawork is often clumsy and characterisation is virtually non-existent. I wouldn't watch it again & I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Expect maybe someone I didn't like very much.
November 20, 2015
Wow. Where to begin with this one...

This movie is so unpredictable, disturbing, graphic, and emotional. A testament of sorts to unrelenting love and compassion as well as the lack thereof, and the psychological effects of trauma. It also paints a portrait of the desparation and depravity that the need for answers breeds.

If you can handle torture porn, which I don't feel this is, and you love your gory horror movies it is a must watch. A well done addition to the genre.
½ November 19, 2015
Have no idea why this film was ever made. A completely depraved film that has no reason of being. Perhaps one of the worst films I have seen in the last decade. Not sure how I discovered this but wish I hadn't. How did this get an average score of 7.1?
November 16, 2015
Hold you food in for this one
November 15, 2015
Just ...wow. This is two different movies. The first is oddly empowering and puts you on the weird side of the story by making you sympathize completely with a mass murderer. But the second half takes an odd turn you need to just go with and you discover that the film is really about something else. To me, the film was about violence against women in culture, i.e. horror movies, police procedurals, etc... and how we carelessly martyr young women in stories. But CRAP the ending is upsetting and I found the film to be genuinely disturbing.
November 8, 2015
Unique horror film which doesn't hold back on the gore. A horror masterclass with a story that goes above and beyond most which just leave us to accept that the only reason nutters do what they do is because they are nutters. This has a large emotional factor as well as all the other constituent parts that a good horror should. It's certainly not for the faint-hearted but, if they can manage it, anyone who gets through this film will be rewarded with that feeling that they have watched an excellent film.
October 28, 2015
nope. Just nope. Panders to the "torture porn" crowd. It attempts to be deep and philosophical about the creation of "martyrs" but really its all about torturing a woman to death. Sorry, nothing novel or worth recommending here.
½ October 26, 2015
Martyrs is a ruthless sadistic film about the mental stability and balance one may acquire from long lasting tortures. The film is intense and is actually executed with a lot of technical skill. It looks good and is edited well. The pacing is also well thought out and structured nicely.

The picture is vicious and demands very little thought. Violation of the viewer should not go without a point. The film makes an attempt at reaching some level of intrigue from a particular idea, however it is not presented in a way that justifies the violence as it intended.
October 23, 2015
a mind fu*k, basically.
September 25, 2015
Not for the faint of heart.
Page 3 of 110