Masculin Feminin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Masculin Feminin Reviews

Page 2 of 20
June 12, 2013
A troubled and alienated love story between a young man who fancies himself an intellectual and a revolutionary and a young woman who dreams of becoming a successful pop star is the subject for a film which represents a high point in the incendiary and influential film movement known as the French New Wave by one of its most acknowledged exponents, Jean-Luc Godard. Shot right out in t he street, this is a testament of its fast moving times, as well as a seemingly hopeless research for tenderness among the fierce and never ending battle of the sexes in a disenchanted youth culture. Godard does so in a structure which divides the film into fifteen different episodes, filled with creativity, and starring two major iconic stars, one an icon of cinema of the time, Jean Pierre Léaud, and the other French pop star Chantal Goya.
½ June 2, 2013
ouch maybe i need to watch this twice to understand this movie better
½ May 14, 2013
The guys are idealistic. The gals are materialistic. They are all young & horny. Vietnam, philosophy, diaphragms & Dylan are all strung through the brains of beautiful 21-yr-olds in France during the sexual revolution. Full of pop editing & obscure narration, this is a beautiful movie with caricature, almost vapid acting. I mean that in a loving way.
Super Reviewer
May 12, 2013
One of the definitive films mirroring the life of youth in 60's France.
February 19, 2013
Had a minor update on Godard's films over the last two years. This one is fantastic.
½ February 16, 2013
Morably pretentious.
½ February 5, 2013
Akin to a cinematic sketchbook of "Issues I Think About," the movie has a lot of fun brooding behind a megaphone. It veers to the personal (love, sex, passion) and political (war, birth control, socialism), and the whole thing has a wry, angry, lustful, soulful atmosphere that makes you want to see what these crazy, aimless kids are going to say next. It's only too bad that Godard felt that intellectualism and social awareness was strictly a man's game, and that women - by their own design or society's - are reduced to "consumer products." Sure, he says right there in the dialogue that men are "asses," but he does worse by women with the revelation that they're "nothing" or "the end." The heady passion in "Masculin Feminin" is alive and bristling, but the sexism is overt and unfortunate.
½ January 2, 2013
A good style film about youth in the mid 60's.
½ December 28, 2012
Jean-Luc Godard is known for his unique dramas, and this ranks among the bunch. The main story focuses on Paul (Jean Pierre Leaud), a young man who falls for a singer (Chantal Goya), but also embraces in an affair with her two roommates at the same time (Catherine-Isabelle Duport and Marlene Jobert). During the various romances, random people die either by gunshot (murder) or suicide during civil unrest in the city of Paris. One particularly memorable scene is when a stranger steals a lighter from Paul, douses himself with a bunch of gasoline and lights himself on fire. The characters are somehow able to carry on with their lives even despite the problems happening in their surroundings. Weird film but very fascinating.
½ December 25, 2012
A fascinating examination of youth in the 60's Paris, captured with Godard's poetic touch. The ending is quite a punch in the stomach, but it's done in such a beautiful way. A work of art.
December 7, 2012
Would like to get round to watching.
½ October 24, 2012
Beautifully filmed black and white segments with clever conversation between beautiful actors
½ August 11, 2012
creative and entertaining godard gem.
July 31, 2012
It might embody all of those intangible ways that people try to define Godard's 60s work. It's so relentlessly meandering and entertaining, inspiring and inspired. Where one American movie may try and "smuggle" (as Scorsese put it) one idea into the audience's subconscious, Godard hurls them at your face, one after another, devoid entirely of shame in doing so. He veils his sympathy toward his characters, but it's there, even if the subject at hand is an entire generation and the culture influencing it. In fact, the thematic content is so multi-faceted, it absolutely cannot be consumed in merely one viewing. All of these things are how I define masterpiece, so that's a good way to summarize my feelings. Masterpiece.
July 29, 2012
Godard's hip 60s in Paris seem to predict our future a little too well. The only difference being Marx has been dropped but Coca Cola survived... While I'm not his biggest fan, I must admit he really was onto something here. The Miss 19 interview, mentioning Iraq while Vietnam was still on... Definitely, my favourite of his films to date. Although, most people will stick with Bergman on this one and I wouldn't blame them!
July 22, 2012
godard 66 filmi...bizim turffaut filmlerindne bildigimiz jean pierre leaud ba?rolde paul rolünde, albüm c?karacak olan madeleine i tavl?or ve onunla sewgili oluolar,ama k?z?n 2 arkda?? war ve özelikle birisi var biraz k?l olan elisabeth ,k?z onunla bilrikte de takl?or bayag?,60lar ili?kisi ya??olar biraz dei?ik, 3.k?z da biraz paul dan ho?lan?or filan biraz dei?ik,bizim paul de birazc?k muhalif vs,onun kankas? war aktivisit bi eleman.. wietnam sava??na yönelik bayag? muahhbet gecior filmde, 15 sahne ?eklinde film.. en son sahnede kad?nlar?n ifadeleri al?n?or , dmekk ki bizim paul ölmü?, ama madeleine hamile kalm?? vs... filmde bayag? dialog war,paul un madeleine tavlad?g? sahne vs..

ben begendim bu filmini godard ?n..küçük bi sahnede cafede brigitte bardot da oynuor bu filmde :) 60lar?n gencligini anlatm?? serbest bir stilde, "the children of Coca-Cola and Marx" die annat?or :)
½ July 14, 2012
I read allot of comments about the plot-less directing style of Jean-Luc Godard but for me that makes it just so fascinating to watch. To see that creativity in every single scene, the way it is written, directed, edited, and so on...what makes it that great is when i've seen a Godard film i dont feel like ive seen just another movie that after a year i forgot what it was about, his films stay in your mind because his way of directing is so unique.
...
But about the film... like i said its plot-less but it covers allot of different subjects that makes the film pretty interesting. His showing us his message very clearly, and if you agree with him our not it doesnt matter because his creative style tops everything. The acting is superb, Jean-Pierre Léaud does a fantastic job playing Paul as the communist idealist, trying to be cool and throwing his sigaret in his mounth like Jean-Paul Belmondo in 'Breathless'.
Godard also puts some great references in towards his other films: 'A bout de souffle' and 'Pierrot le fou'.
½ July 6, 2012
Interview with young people in Cinà (C)ma và (C)rità (C) style.
½ May 7, 2012
The children of Marx and Coca-Cola.
May 4, 2012
An interesting film from Godard that tells a story of a young Frenchman who sparks up a relationship with an up-and-coming singer, this film is fascinating photographically, and boasts a terrific performance from Jean-Pierre Léaud. Like many Godard films of the 60s, it is extremely experimental and innovative, with themes concerning people, relationships and politics. A nice little film that people who are interested in cinema as an art form should probably see. It has been said that it's not something that the audience will enjoy while watching it, but it's mainly days after when looking back that it provokes the most thought. I think this is very true, and in retrospect it's a fascinating statement.
Page 2 of 20