M*A*S*H - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

M*A*S*H Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 3, 2015
I looked in vain for pertinence or surprise. Nor was I shocked: without some maturity (if not by the participants, at least by the managers), irreverence is merely brash.
September 15, 2009
A good dint lower than its reputation, more so if you look at it not as one of the seminal 1970s films but instead as the first chapter from the finest filmmaking career spent examining the American mystique.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 25, 2015
What lingers is the Army's sexism. At first it's exposed but the story soon indulges in the humiliation of women. M*A*S*H* remains enjoyably irreverent but falls well short of the counterculture, anti-establishment war-satire it could've been.
April 19, 2007
A black comedy that rings hollow today.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 21, 2003
Although it is impudent, bold, and often very funny, it lacks the sense of order (even in the midst of disorder) that seems the special province of successful comedy.
June 15, 2001
I can only be grateful to whomever was the brilliant producer who saw the potential for one of the best-loved series within this mess of dullness and mean-spirited randomness.
Full Review| Original Score: 1.5
April 2, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
October 23, 2004
One of the reasons M*A*S*H is so funny is that it's so desperate.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 31, 1970
I always enjoy the movie when I watch it, but it will never hold anywhere near the same place in my heart or my memories as the long-running series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 25, 2009
Altman chronicles the sardonic wasteland with a camera that's always in the wrong place at the right time
November 7, 2002
Robert Altman's Korea-as-Vietnam 'comedy' demonstrates the best -- and worst -- of '70s cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2005
One of Altman's bona-fide masterpieces. Even better than the subsequent TV show. (Easily.)
| Original Score: 5/5
August 27, 2014
That it's is so much of its moment doesn't mean that it's aged poorly... it's brash enough and inventive enough to still feel like a work of radicalism, more than 40 years on,
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 26, 2012
[VIDEO ESSAY] "M*A*S*H" ruthlessly satirizes the hypocritical U.S. military, and de facto the U.S. Government, for its systemic hypocrisies and arbitrary means of doling out Draconian punishments to friends and foe alike.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 18, 2010
Rollicking, biting, satirical classic is so 1970.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 27, 2007
This is still watchable for the verve of the ensemble acting and dovetailing direction, but some of the crassness leaves a sour aftertaste.
November 15, 2004
Robert Altman's biggest success to date is also one of his least interesting films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 27, 2007
In the end M.A.S.H. succeeds, in spite of its glaring faults.
April 14, 2006
A battle against the idea that 'a war movie' had to be a serious affair.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
June 24, 2006
It shows Altman's stylistic signature in embryonic form.
Page 1 of 3