The Master of Ballantrae - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Master of Ballantrae Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 31, 2015
Despite his age and problems with alcohol, Flynn still managed to pull off a pretty good swashbuckler here.
January 4, 2015
considring the man had hepatitis attack during the making of the movie and the fa ct that he would die 6 years after making this movie is an amazing testament to the mans talent and tenacity.Any Flynn movie is better than no Flynn at all. the scenery was spectacular, the fight scenes athletic and exciting. the movie was made for him. the only person who bored me was beatrice campbell....no spark between she and Flynn at all. Just a shame Flynn didnt live now. with all the healthy eating and exercising Mr. Flynn could have looked better for a long time
June 30, 2014
Errol Flynn's last film with Warner Bros tries to recapture his swashbuckling glory days, but this film feels pretty tired, as does Flynn, nearly 20 years after his star making turn in "Captain Blood". However, some absolutely gorgeous photography by the brilliant Jack Cardiff, who shot everything from "The Red Shoes" to "Rambo: First Blood Part II", makes this film a visual feast.
October 10, 2013
Errol Flynn's last studio film is pretty good if nowhere near the heights of "Captain Blood" or "The Adventures of Robin Hood". It's helped greatly by Roger Livesey's supporting turn. Livesey makes every film just a little better.
May 26, 2012
Just one of those Errol Flynn movies from the twilight of his career, that delivers on surface level thrills without much depth or attention to quality.
½ January 19, 2012
good adventure yarn Flynn's last WB pic
December 5, 2011
some seriously bad acting ... fairly silly
Super Reviewer
February 21, 2011
As much as I love Flynn and Cardiff, Master of Ballantrae wasn't amazing. Not bad, but it's far from the gloriousness that is The Sea Hawk and Captain Blood.
½ September 1, 2010
Errol Flynn is getting on a bit in this good intentioned, but somewhat lacklustre swashbuckler.
½ May 26, 2010
Nice adventure with a classic sound stage feel to it, but the story doesn't make for the most interesting of plots.
May 24, 2010
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.....its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie....i think that errol flynn, roger livesey, anthony steel play good roles/parts throughout this movie.....i think that errol flynn was great as a jacobite, i think that roger livesey, anthony steel were great throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this adventure/drama/classics movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie i think that this is an enjoyable movie with a good cast throughout this movie n its a good adventure movie
January 1, 2008
I MEAN THIS FOR THE 1984 ONE WITH MY BOY TIMOTHY DALTON
½ September 19, 2007
Not Flynn's best swashbuckler.
January 3, 2007
i already have a master ^_^
Page 1 of 1