Matthias & Maxime Reviews

April 9, 2020
Large, hyperbolic and without focus. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 10, 2019
M&M...is shot on film to rather grey effect, with clunky, handheld camera moves further dulling down a story that never gives us enough rooting interest in its protagonists to actually care about the ampersand between their names.
October 10, 2019
Unfortunately, the new film Matthias & Maxime arrives lacking much of the emotional urgency of the Dolan who once captured the international art-house crowd, feeling provincial in more ways than one.
June 13, 2019
Nothing new, not even the "impossible love" plot, although this time it focuses on the doubts of friends that could have been something else. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 3, 2019
Mathias et Maxine is a movie that we probably should not be watching. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 1, 2019
As much as Matthias and Maxime heralds a return to old themes and familiar turfs, a return to form it is not.
May 29, 2019
There is nothing new that can surprise us and perhaps this is the film's main problem. [Full review in Spanish]
May 29, 2019
The staging almost never goes far beyond the rather capricious illustration of the script and the intermittent repetition of sequences with music. [Full review in Spanish]
May 28, 2019
The cannonball naivety and gutsy showmanship is the director's greatest strength, but in Matthias & Maxime we see him ignore that in favour of a pseudo-nuanced liaison marred by mawkishness.
May 27, 2019
A weaker film than most of Dolan's other filmography. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 27, 2019
Everything in it is simply childish. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 27, 2019
Matthias et Maxime is obsessed with moving viewers, regardless of what he has to say. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 26, 2019
The problem in my case is that I am not affected in the least by that sentimental complexity, that I am looking forward to the end of such a sensitive movie once and for all. [Full Review in Spanish]
Top Critic
May 24, 2019
There was a time when I used to wish that Dolan would settle down a little-the manic energy of his work could be exhausting. But if this is the alternative, I take it all back.
May 24, 2019
Matthias & Maxime is filmed all in tightly pressed close-up, faces looming, constantly erupting into furious rows, shouting and shrieking. It's like being at the worst party ever.
May 23, 2019
A gay panic drama which dwells as gracefully as a mud-slicked pig hunting truffles trapped in its own trough.
May 23, 2019
It is contrived and unpersuasive; characters grate, situations don't quite ring true, jokes are strained and it all feels oddly old-fashioned.
May 23, 2019
It feels amateurish, as if Dolan decided to make a home movie instead of a well thought-out cinematic endeavor. The result is something that is never involving.
May 22, 2019
Dolan's film is so awash in the chaos of these men that it fails to provide a little focus to their blurry lives.
May 22, 2019
Dolan... returns to his native Quebec for Matthias & Maxime, a dramedy of repressed homosexual desire. If only it were a return to form.