The McKenzie Break (Escape) (Wolfpack) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The McKenzie Break (Escape) (Wolfpack) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 20, 2013
Intriguing WWII film about a UK prisoner of war camp holding captured German U-boat crew members who are attempting to tunnel out. I think this is the first POW war film I've need not told from an allied forces or US perspective, although this film is certainly not solely told from the German perspective like in "Das Boot". Brian Keith is a British military specialist who has been called in to look into problems happening at the camp as gets equal screen time as the Germans trying to escape. However, it's the German story that seemed more interesting, watching the distention and factions that form among the German prisoners over the justness of their war and why they are fighting. Not a great war film, but it's a unique and interesting one.
December 4, 2012
I own this in a six movie pack along with:
* A Bridge Too Far (1977)
* Battle Of Britain (1969)
* 633 Squadron (1963)
* The Train (1964)
* The Devil's Brigade (1968)
½ October 17, 2010
Genuinely above average WW2 movie - never heard of it but caught it on the new 7MATE channel by accident. Suprising.
½ September 7, 2010
August 10, 2010
Pretty well done WW2 prison escape movie. Nothing amazing, but it is pretty well made.
½ April 7, 2010
‚??The McKenzie Break‚?? is an entertaining WWII movie full of action and suspense, approaching an obvious historical topic from yet another refreshing angle. Nevertheless I did not find it special enough to meet the ‚??really good‚?? criteria. It shirks against the 4-star level, but never actually makes it. It is hard to say exactly why this is so, but I think it has something to do with the fact that many of the aspects in the movie have been used before in some way or other. There is a dug-tunnel escape, a submarine, a prison camp on enemy territory, there are the inevitable tensions and power struggles between AND within the two groups who are condemned to each other‚??s presence due to circumstances beyond their control, etc. All great ingredients to build a good war movie. And ‚??The McKenzie Break‚?? is a good war movie, but it is not special enough to be honoured with a 4-star rating. The makers certainly put in the effort, but the sum of the ingredients somehow feels less intriguing than the individual ingredients make one hope for. Perhaps one‚??s expectations just get too high after seeing so many films about the same historical period.
½ February 6, 2010
Fairly good - no Great Escape, but then who's rooting for the pos Kriegsmariners in this one. And they double cross their Luftwaffe mates.
½ December 31, 2009
The start was weak, by which i mean that it was a bit amateur like. But after an half hour our something the story gets better and more interesting who could only lead to a very tense ending. The directing went pretty smooth to and i have no complaints whatsoever about the acting skills, there are no cliches init at all, a very original movie. It's the first WWII PoW camp movie ive seen where it are the nazi's who are the prisonars, so that also was pretty interesting.
November 16, 2008
a good war plot.
August 14, 2006
Somewhat unusual prisoner of war drama, it should have been more compelling, given the nature of the plot, but it is interesting throughout. Cast is fine, well filmed.
Page 1 of 1