Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Reviews

Page 2 of 11
April 15, 2016
Its Sundance buzz wears off well before the end credits roll.
April 6, 2016
This delicate movie elevates itself from the usual run-of-the-mill schooldays saga with a script that is one part funny, one part tragic and all parts thoroughly human.
March 2, 2016
There is whimsy, but also a grounded realism in the idea that life is a journey and not always a smooth one.
February 29, 2016
Me and Earl and The Dying Girl is a film that shows that behind the director, there is a new voice with a lot of talent. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 24, 2016
Directed by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon with remarkable control, creativity and fervor, the film is equal parts a homage to classic cinema and a heart-wrenching romantic comedy with earned emotion.
January 14, 2016
If only we all cared as much
January 8, 2016
Me and Earl & the Dying Girl is a superb tearjerker that skilfully captures the vulnerability that comes with intimacy and the bittersweet inevitability of life and death.
December 31, 2015
It relies on smart writing, clever ideas, terrific cinematography and rich, complex characters who are inhabited by three superb young actors, as well as a cast of crafty veterans in the supporting roles.
December 31, 2015
There's plenty to like here, but the movie focuses on the least interesting person on the screen, a curious choice considering we're talking life and death.
December 31, 2015
I found myself relishing the skill of the cast and laughing at the sharply turned dialogue while wincing at the self-consciousness of the storytelling and the self-congratulatory pop-culture references.
December 31, 2015
Somewhere along the way Earl eases up on the suburban-Wes Anderson whimsy and starts to find its heart, infusing the story's self-conscious cleverness and trick-shot set pieces with something sweeter, sadder, and even a little bit profound.
December 31, 2015
Poignant without being melodramatic, overflowing with unforced charm, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl holds a unique appeal that's certain to last.
December 31, 2015
As written by Jesse Andrews, based on his own novel, Greg and Earl are cast as extreme loners, although the friendship with Rachel makes them aware of the necessity of connecting with others. In the end, that's more than enough.
December 30, 2015
The filmmaking from Alfonso Gomez-Rejon is hyper-stylized and a bit wonky at times, with a few odd security camera angles thrown into the mix. But it's also energetic and mostly fun to watch, especially the glimpses of their "awful" movies.
December 30, 2015
Pretty good.
November 29, 2015
There are some things about it that bothered me, so I have mixed feelings. However, the strong acting, directing and the inventive cinematography by Chung-hoon Chung ('Oldboy') is just too good to knock.
November 18, 2015
Every time I thought this movie was going to disappoint me with something clichéd or too sentimental, I was, instead, surprised by its cunning and self-awareness.
November 16, 2015
What it does better than many of the other sentimental youth comedies it's linked with, is hide its gooey moments better than they could.
November 13, 2015
The movie stays aways from sentimentalism about the main character's condition, giving us a heartbreaking film full of emotion. [Full review in Spanish]
November 12, 2015
This is the meta teen cancer film, a story about a tragic disease but also about movies that are about tragic diseases.
Page 2 of 11