Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 10, 2016
Rachel's dying isn't really about Rachel at all. It's about Greg. In fact, everything that happens in the film is about Greg.
December 31, 2015
There's plenty to like here, but the movie focuses on the least interesting person on the screen, a curious choice considering we're talking life and death.
December 31, 2015
I found myself relishing the skill of the cast and laughing at the sharply turned dialogue while wincing at the self-consciousness of the storytelling and the self-congratulatory pop-culture references.
December 31, 2015
Somewhere along the way Earl eases up on the suburban-Wes Anderson whimsy and starts to find its heart, infusing the story's self-conscious cleverness and trick-shot set pieces with something sweeter, sadder, and even a little bit profound.
December 31, 2015
Poignant without being melodramatic, overflowing with unforced charm, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl holds a unique appeal that's certain to last.
December 30, 2015
The filmmaking from Alfonso Gomez-Rejon is hyper-stylized and a bit wonky at times, with a few odd security camera angles thrown into the mix. But it's also energetic and mostly fun to watch, especially the glimpses of their "awful" movies.
October 14, 2015
The biggest flaw in Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is right there in the title: the first word, specifically.
September 7, 2015
Andrews walks a fine line between the literary and the cinematic, studiously sidestepping mawkishness without recourse to emotional detachment.
September 4, 2015
If the film seems less interested in Earl and Rachel than it is in Greg, then that is, surely, because it is telling its story from the perspective of a teenage solipsist.
September 3, 2015
A gem from Gomez-Rejon. Intrigued to see what he does next.
September 3, 2015
All this may sound horrendously twee on paper. But on film, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is thoughtful and tender, bursting with mordant humour and energetic camerawork, and acted with merciful intelligence.
September 3, 2015
Me And Earl And The Dying Girl is funny, highly original and very moving too, even if it becomes a little gloopy in its final reel.
September 3, 2015
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is everything that [The Fault in Our Stars] should have been, and more.
September 3, 2015
It remains a thoroughly cellophaned package, no more affecting - or lasting - than a vaguely colourful baguette from an upmarket sandwich chain.
September 3, 2015
It's a tricky mixture of charm and contrivance, with appealing performances, ambition and surprising limitations.
August 14, 2015
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl has those handkerchief moments, but the laughs far outnumber the hard and sad punches. This is a movie that's grounded in reality, has just enough whimsy and soars to the stars. It's one of the best films of 2015.
June 26, 2015
There are many reasons to fault "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl," but it's sweet enough, and smart enough, to overcome every one of those reasons.
June 25, 2015
"Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" is a must-see - and one of the best films of the year.
June 25, 2015
Even with their disproportionate screen time, all three young performers give exceptional, rounded performances. We may not see the fullness of their lives, but they make them full-feeling anyway.
June 18, 2015
Mann is simply perfect for the role, and Cooke and Cyler bring a weight to their characters that lends a necessary balance to the movie's tone.
Page 1 of 3