Me and You and Everyone We Know - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Me and You and Everyone We Know Reviews

Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
August 10, 2005
It seems quite possible that Me and You marks the arrival of an artist who may affect -- disturbingly yet helpfully -- films and audiences to come.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
July 29, 2005
Here's a perfectly twee little romance all but smothered in a blanket of indie 'edge.'
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
July 22, 2005
These characters are sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Leah McLaren
Globe and Mail
July 22, 2005
July is without a doubt a brave new talent in the creatively beleaguered world of American cinema.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Eleanor Ringel Gillespie
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
July 18, 2005
July, who also wrote the script, is a keenly observant filmmaker.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
July 16, 2005
It's a sturdy piece of writing wed to an utterly unique visual style.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
July 15, 2005
Easily the year's most imaginative movie.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
July 15, 2005
A film of indescribable and often unmentionable charm, Me and You and Everyone We Know is one of those completely unexpected artistic experiences, a work from an unknown with such a compelling, unique perspective that it boggles and inspires.
| Original Score: A
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
July 15, 2005
First-time feature director July's success has a great deal to do with her bold embrace of childhood and its gnarly truths.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
July 15, 2005
Director Miranda July just might be the year's most exciting film discovery.
| Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 14, 2005
Although Me and You and Everyone We Know requires patience on the part of the viewer -- to get past the faux naivete of its grown-up characters, to get past its deadpan arty tone -- Miranda July's feature debut is worth the time.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Jeff Strickler
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 14, 2005
July is a delightful discovery, as both a filmmaker and a performer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Richard Nilsen
Arizona Republic
July 14, 2005
One leaves the theater grateful to have shared the time with these characters on-screen, but hoping we won't meet them in the lobby.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Rose
Newark Star-Ledger
July 8, 2005
The debut film from performance art crossover Miranda July delivers an unlikely blend of irreverence and optimism. For all its dark humor and fringe qualities, the movie never descends into easy misanthropy.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
July 1, 2005
Delightfully light on its feet, suffused with a knowing humor that is more sweetly careworn than cynical.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
July 1, 2005
July's oddball vision grows on you, and I found myself looking forward to her next film.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ruthe Stein
San Francisco Chronicle
July 1, 2005
Totally original yet filled with familiar human frailties, Everyone leaps off the screen to become one of those rare movie-going experiences that linger in the part of the brain reserved for celluloid memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
July 1, 2005
Set in a down-at-the-heels suburb that might be called Anywhere, America, the movie looks for connection in the oddest places, and, with an emotional impact out of all proportion to its gossamer touch, finds it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
June 30, 2005
Hums with compassion for its outlandish, lonely but always sweet characters.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
Variety
June 25, 2005
Me and You and Everyone We Know brings a fresh perspective to age-old human dilemmas: the longing of children to become adults, the yearning of adults to recapture the innocence of youth, and the difficulty of finding true love at age 7 or 70.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
June 24, 2005
July's tender view of these characters borders on the sentimental.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
June 23, 2005
Gorgeously loopy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Allison Benedikt
Chicago Tribune
June 23, 2005
Very personal, very funny vision of performance artist Miranda July.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 23, 2005
Miranda July's Me and You and Everyone We Know is a film that with quiet confidence creates a fragile magic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
June 20, 2005
A wonderful film
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
June 20, 2005
Not just creepy and unsavory at such moments, but pleased to be so.
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
June 17, 2005
Takes a couple of neat swipes at the pretentiousness of the art scene, but as a commentary on the difficulty of connecting in contemporary society, it's too precious by half.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
June 17, 2005
A vanity project by a moderately talented artist that has moments of real brilliance in it.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
June 16, 2005
Commercially, this IFC release is better suited for the IFC Channel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
David Edelstein
NPR's Fresh Air
June 16, 2005
The acting is marvelous, all the way down the line.
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
June 16, 2005
While Miranda July's first feature film might be classified as romantic comedy, it introduces the playful qualities of installation art to the conventions of narrative cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
June 15, 2005
July's handmade movie is so unique and so true to the artist's elementally feminine self, both in form and in content (it also picked up a batch of awards at Cannes), that it's impossible not to respond strongly to it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Jessica Winter
Village Voice
June 14, 2005
The film conjures a heightened reality where characters verbalize their thoughts, desires, and impulses without submitting them to the usual filters first; July takes in their foibles unblinkingly and folds them into an awkward, heartfelt embrace.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
June 14, 2005
Truly independent, which is to say offbeat, daring, and the kind of offering Hollywood will never come close to embracing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
June 11, 2005
Performance artist Miranda July hits a grand slam as the writer, director and star of her first film.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
March 15, 2005
Me and You and Everyone We Know brings a fresh perspective to age-old human dilemmas: the longing of children to become adults, the yearning of adults to recapture the innocence of youth, and the difficulty of finding true love at age 7 or 70.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
March 15, 2005
This first feature by multimedia performance artist Miranda July is a hit-and-miss affair. It has moments of unexpected, offbeat comedy, but most of the time neither the characters nor the situations engage the viewer.