Me and You and Everyone We Know - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Me and You and Everyone We Know Reviews

August 10, 2005
It seems quite possible that Me and You marks the arrival of an artist who may affect -- disturbingly yet helpfully -- films and audiences to come.
July 29, 2005
Here's a perfectly twee little romance all but smothered in a blanket of indie 'edge.'
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 22, 2005
These characters are sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 22, 2005
July is without a doubt a brave new talent in the creatively beleaguered world of American cinema.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 18, 2005
July, who also wrote the script, is a keenly observant filmmaker.
Read More | Original Score: B
July 16, 2005
It's a sturdy piece of writing wed to an utterly unique visual style.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 15, 2005
Easily the year's most imaginative movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 15, 2005
A film of indescribable and often unmentionable charm, Me and You and Everyone We Know is one of those completely unexpected artistic experiences, a work from an unknown with such a compelling, unique perspective that it boggles and inspires.
Read More | Original Score: A
July 15, 2005
First-time feature director July's success has a great deal to do with her bold embrace of childhood and its gnarly truths.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 15, 2005
Director Miranda July just might be the year's most exciting film discovery.
Read More | Original Score: A-
July 14, 2005
Although Me and You and Everyone We Know requires patience on the part of the viewer -- to get past the faux naivete of its grown-up characters, to get past its deadpan arty tone -- Miranda July's feature debut is worth the time.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 14, 2005
July is a delightful discovery, as both a filmmaker and a performer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 14, 2005
One leaves the theater grateful to have shared the time with these characters on-screen, but hoping we won't meet them in the lobby.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 8, 2005
The debut film from performance art crossover Miranda July delivers an unlikely blend of irreverence and optimism. For all its dark humor and fringe qualities, the movie never descends into easy misanthropy.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 1, 2005
Delightfully light on its feet, suffused with a knowing humor that is more sweetly careworn than cynical.
July 1, 2005
July's oddball vision grows on you, and I found myself looking forward to her next film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 1, 2005
Totally original yet filled with familiar human frailties, Everyone leaps off the screen to become one of those rare movie-going experiences that linger in the part of the brain reserved for celluloid memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 1, 2005
Set in a down-at-the-heels suburb that might be called Anywhere, America, the movie looks for connection in the oddest places, and, with an emotional impact out of all proportion to its gossamer touch, finds it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 30, 2005
Hums with compassion for its outlandish, lonely but always sweet characters.
June 25, 2005
Me and You and Everyone We Know brings a fresh perspective to age-old human dilemmas: the longing of children to become adults, the yearning of adults to recapture the innocence of youth, and the difficulty of finding true love at age 7 or 70.
June 24, 2005
July's tender view of these characters borders on the sentimental.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 23, 2005
Gorgeously loopy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 23, 2005
Very personal, very funny vision of performance artist Miranda July.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 23, 2005
Miranda July's Me and You and Everyone We Know is a film that with quiet confidence creates a fragile magic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 20, 2005
A wonderful film
June 20, 2005
Not just creepy and unsavory at such moments, but pleased to be so.
June 17, 2005
Takes a couple of neat swipes at the pretentiousness of the art scene, but as a commentary on the difficulty of connecting in contemporary society, it's too precious by half.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 17, 2005
A vanity project by a moderately talented artist that has moments of real brilliance in it.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 16, 2005
Commercially, this IFC release is better suited for the IFC Channel.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 16, 2005
The acting is marvelous, all the way down the line.
June 16, 2005
While Miranda July's first feature film might be classified as romantic comedy, it introduces the playful qualities of installation art to the conventions of narrative cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2005
July's handmade movie is so unique and so true to the artist's elementally feminine self, both in form and in content (it also picked up a batch of awards at Cannes), that it's impossible not to respond strongly to it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 14, 2005
The film conjures a heightened reality where characters verbalize their thoughts, desires, and impulses without submitting them to the usual filters first; July takes in their foibles unblinkingly and folds them into an awkward, heartfelt embrace.
June 14, 2005
Truly independent, which is to say offbeat, daring, and the kind of offering Hollywood will never come close to embracing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 11, 2005
Performance artist Miranda July hits a grand slam as the writer, director and star of her first film.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 15, 2005
Me and You and Everyone We Know brings a fresh perspective to age-old human dilemmas: the longing of children to become adults, the yearning of adults to recapture the innocence of youth, and the difficulty of finding true love at age 7 or 70.
March 15, 2005
This first feature by multimedia performance artist Miranda July is a hit-and-miss affair. It has moments of unexpected, offbeat comedy, but most of the time neither the characters nor the situations engage the viewer.