Meek's Cutoff - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meek's Cutoff Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
May 22, 2016
It's a severe life in a hostile world, observed with such delicate detail that the film achieves a grace and poetry. But it is also a primal piece of filmmaking, wrought from dirt and rock and calico, illuminated by natural light and campfire.
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
I was hypnotized from the opening sequence.
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered
November 11, 2013
Meek's Cutoff is a thoughtful, and intimate narrative that is beautifully shot and has outstanding direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
September 15, 2013
Reichardt's film is - to put it simply - a masterpiece.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
August 26, 2013
presented people who were so devoid of personality, humor and interest that I didn't care if any of them made it out alive
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dan Jardine
Cinemania
July 21, 2012
The film is both evocative and provocative; atmospherically and conceptually, respectively.
Full Review | Original Score: 80/100
June 15, 2012
I rarely feel the heart-in-my-throat suspense that I felt as Reichardt's characters sent a covered wagon down a steep hill ...
Full Review | Original Score: A-
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
November 17, 2011
A better complement than 'The Big Trail' would be 'The Blair Witch Project,' another film that taps into an American unease with the wilderness that is the shadow twin of the country's bold sense of manifest destiny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 27, 2011
I felt like I was trapped on a slow-moving wagon train to nowhere with a bunch of people I wanted to escape from.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Michael Nordine
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
October 14, 2011
Reichardt puts such an unequivocal spin on this well-trod territory as to make it feel heretofore uncharted and of her own reckoning.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 27, 2011
Offbeat and most interesting western about emigrant pioneers lost in the prairie.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Sean Axmaker
Parallax View
September 14, 2011
... a primal piece of filmmaking, wrought from dirt and rock, calico and splintered wood, and illuminated by natural light and campfire.
Jason Best
Movie Talk
August 8, 2011
Be warned. Some stretches are almost as much of a slog for the viewer as they are for the pioneers... But Meek's Cutoff conveys a far more realistic account of what life was really like on the frontier trail than John Wayne or Clint Eastwood ever did.
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
July 14, 2011
This is a film where life and death decisions are made at every turn; where the very concepts of religion and humanity are dissected in gorgeously subtle yet devastating ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
July 13, 2011
Kelly Reichardt's extremely modest film is slow, but it is also intriguing, moving and meaningful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
June 23, 2011
May well be truer to what the migration west was like for many settlers than Hollywood's romanticized and sanitized version of such stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
June 16, 2011
Michelle Williams is now the only Dawson's Creek cast member with a chat-worthy film career.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
June 10, 2011
"Meek's Cutoff" works wonders even if you don't buy the political metaphor, instead appreciating the film as a historical survival tale and a meditation on the nature of trust - how others win it from us and why we give it to them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Susan Granger
SSG Syndicate
June 9, 2011
Exhausting and ambiguous, it's for moviegoers who relish a quiet, arduous chronicle of bleak hardship, seemingly portrayed in real time.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Clem Bastow
The Vine
May 31, 2011
Sparse, uncompromising and bewitching. Reichardt has stripped back all but the bare essentials, scattering the characters across the sun-bleached landscape like marbles.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 7