Meek's Cutoff - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meek's Cutoff Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Leslie Stonebraker
New York Press
April 11, 2011
While I would love to fully appreciate this circular, feminist, counter-cinema perspective, no payoff makes for an audience that feels cheated.
Roz Laws
Birmingham Post
May 19, 2011
We watch them trudge for miles, growing tired of listening to the squeaky wheel of a wagon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Clint O'Connor
Cleveland Plain Dealer
May 27, 2011
Yes, it's sharply shot, and its stark realism is refreshing. But Meek's Cutoff never gets anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
May 27, 2011
It will definitely divide audiences. Some may find it a graceful and understated master class in observation. Others may be put to sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cole Smithey
April 9, 2011
There isn't a fully developed storyline, and there aren't enough ideas in a movie that film snobs will congratulate themselves for adoring. Pshaw.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Erik Childress
May 13, 2011
Whatever allegory of pre-feminist roles that Reichardt hopes to achieve is slowly put to sleep along with the rest of the audience with a less-is-less narrative style that, like Meek, is too stubborn to realize how lost it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
August 26, 2013
presented people who were so devoid of personality, humor and interest that I didn't care if any of them made it out alive
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
May 5, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
May 13, 2011
This is the sort of film critics love to praise because the filmmaker has done good work before; and well, there must be something there. Well, there's not.
Full Review | Original Score: D
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
September 25, 2010
...a maddeningly dull drama...
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
David Gritten
Daily Telegraph (UK)
September 9, 2010
The film, which clearly owes a debt to Terrence Malick's Days of Heaven, proceeds at a snail's pace.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Damon Wise
Radio Times
April 14, 2011
It's an intriguing take on actual diaries kept by women pioneers of the time, but their journey may be as punishing for some viewers as it was for them...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dustin Putman
May 19, 2011
A promising, intermittently entrancing film that the viewer wishes could have made more of an impact than it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 27, 2011
I felt like I was trapped on a slow-moving wagon train to nowhere with a bunch of people I wanted to escape from.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Louis Proyect
March 30, 2011
A monumentally awful movie. Pretentious, uninformed, boring, and enough to drive one to a steady diet of Adam Sandler movies.
Armond White
New York Press
April 6, 2011
It challenges patriarchy and racism, but it never risks questioning received political ideas.
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
April 6, 2011
Who goes to the movies for 104 minutes of punishment? Where is John Wayne, now that we need him?
| Original Score: 1/4
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
May 5, 2011
"Meek's Cutoff" is earnest and sober to the point of suffocation, which often happens when the decision is made to shut off the air of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered
November 11, 2013
Meek's Cutoff is a thoughtful, and intimate narrative that is beautifully shot and has outstanding direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Michael Nordine
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
October 14, 2011
Reichardt puts such an unequivocal spin on this well-trod territory as to make it feel heretofore uncharted and of her own reckoning.
Page 1 of 7