Meek's Cutoff - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meek's Cutoff Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 11, 2011
While I would love to fully appreciate this circular, feminist, counter-cinema perspective, no payoff makes for an audience that feels cheated.
May 19, 2011
We watch them trudge for miles, growing tired of listening to the squeaky wheel of a wagon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 27, 2011
Yes, it's sharply shot, and its stark realism is refreshing. But Meek's Cutoff never gets anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 27, 2011
It will definitely divide audiences. Some may find it a graceful and understated master class in observation. Others may be put to sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 9, 2011
There isn't a fully developed storyline, and there aren't enough ideas in a movie that film snobs will congratulate themselves for adoring. Pshaw.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 13, 2011
Whatever allegory of pre-feminist roles that Reichardt hopes to achieve is slowly put to sleep along with the rest of the audience with a less-is-less narrative style that, like Meek, is too stubborn to realize how lost it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 26, 2013
presented people who were so devoid of personality, humor and interest that I didn't care if any of them made it out alive
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 5, 2011
Boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 13, 2011
This is the sort of film critics love to praise because the filmmaker has done good work before; and well, there must be something there. Well, there's not.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 25, 2010
...a maddeningly dull drama...
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
September 9, 2010
The film, which clearly owes a debt to Terrence Malick's Days of Heaven, proceeds at a snail's pace.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 14, 2011
It's an intriguing take on actual diaries kept by women pioneers of the time, but their journey may be as punishing for some viewers as it was for them...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 19, 2011
A promising, intermittently entrancing film that the viewer wishes could have made more of an impact than it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 27, 2011
I felt like I was trapped on a slow-moving wagon train to nowhere with a bunch of people I wanted to escape from.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 30, 2011
A monumentally awful movie. Pretentious, uninformed, boring, and enough to drive one to a steady diet of Adam Sandler movies.
April 6, 2011
It challenges patriarchy and racism, but it never risks questioning received political ideas.
April 6, 2011
Who goes to the movies for 104 minutes of punishment? Where is John Wayne, now that we need him?
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
May 5, 2011
"Meek's Cutoff" is earnest and sober to the point of suffocation, which often happens when the decision is made to shut off the air of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 11, 2013
Meek's Cutoff is a thoughtful, and intimate narrative that is beautifully shot and has outstanding direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 14, 2011
Reichardt puts such an unequivocal spin on this well-trod territory as to make it feel heretofore uncharted and of her own reckoning.
Page 1 of 7