Meet Me In St. Louis - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meet Me In St. Louis Reviews

Page 1 of 74
½ January 15, 2018
A feel good musical with some famous tunes. Another lost flixster rating. 1001 movies to see before you die.
January 3, 2018
The musicals that were released in the three quarters of the 20th century are commonly grand by the scale of the said adjective in their performances/talents of doing the number. But they had the challenge of keeping that energy constant without breaking the flat line to go down. The number's the source of energy of a musical to bring that bar up, while the substance of the break between the previous and the next number sometimes can bring it down when it's becoming a little somewhat bland. But the reason behind that is so that the stars can rest and restore their singing energy to have enough to lift the bar back up to the level of a film with an A rating.

"Meet Me in St. Louis" has a beauty in its story and heart with few good numbers that sticks to that grandness. While the substance between those numbers may be what I was just went over, this musical managed to receive a rating with a letter grade of the A by its beauty and some grand. (A-)

My reason watching this was that it stars Judy Garland sometime after "The Wizard of Oz." This is the first film I've seen of her outside of that Dorothy costume, which made this a compelling musical to see if you haven't seen any of Garland's other musicals.

(Full review TBD)
January 1, 2018
Una de las mejores películas del siglo XX y que honra el lema de la era dorada de la Metro Goldwyn Mayer "Tenemos más estrellas que el cielo"

Merece cinco estrellas puesto que visualmente es totalmente agradable, la película toma giro en un área acaudalada de Missouri a principios del siglo XX. Una familia acomodada estadounidense en donde cada uno de los personajes tiene una caracterización que perdura. Es decir no son personajes "de relleno" sino son personajes que aportan a la trama entretenimiento y una sensación de pertenencia a la vida de la familia estelar. Muchas gracias al desempeño de actores de la talla de Judy Garland que es realmente hermosa y deslumbrante respecto a su voz; y al resto del elenco. Además todo el montaje y decoración de los ambientes de la trama están tan bien acoplados a su época que se desarrolla la historia de una manera fluida, comoda y no forzada. Los vestuarios son coloridos y cada hábito de la familia tiene coherencia con los hábitos de una familia sureña de principios del milenio.

La música es aceptable. Ya muchos sabrán que la icónica canción de navidad "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (No es una película navideña aclaro) proviene de este filme pero quien tenga buen gusto no solo apreciará el número de esa melodía sino básicamente todas las demás melodías. En lo personal, me desespera un poco la que interpreta O'Brien sobre el borracho pero no por ello dejó de escucharla. Cada pieza está bien ejecutada para deleite visual y auditivo. Me encanta la que se interpreta mientras van en el tranvía.

La trama en sí es un poco simple, una chica que se enamora de su vecino guapo y que junto con su hermana mayor busca la atención de otros chicos guapos. A pesar de ser una especie de trama simple, no es algo inverosímil. Es algo que era muy normal entonces y lo es aún más ahora. La diferencia está en que hay estilo del bueno en la manera que se desarrolla todo aquello, es decir no carece de originalidad ni sentimiento. Por otro lado, el meollo del asunto es el hecho de que una familia unida y tan apegada a su pueblo natal está próxima a enfrentar una mudanza y en ese sentido la película enseña de una forma adorable la fraternidad y importancia de ser parte de algo. Hay incluso un buen mensaje en los últimos momentos de la cinta.

El Mago de Oz es un musical muy bello y fantasioso y tiene su lugar en la historia. Pero Cita en St Louis es una cinta que merece ser vista y apreciada por hombres y mujeres de todas las eras de la humanidad. Simplemente atrapa y te cambia la vida. Así de buenas son este tipo de obras de la era dorada del cine.

Considérese la época que toma lugar el filme y evítese crear conspiraciones de cualquier índole. Me encanta la forma en que la actitud de las protagonistas enseña la importancia de la mujer en la vida famliar y social y la forma en que se demuestra la audacia y el carácter. Dejando a fuera la idea de "mujer sumisa"

MGM...Pueden descansar en paz las personas detrás del filme sabiendo que su trabajo será reconocido por generaciones de críticos y espectadores. Además de ser un manual para cualquier actriz o actor.
December 26, 2017
Wonderful family musical is one of the best vehicles for Judy Garland and an excellent cast, especially Margaret O'Brian who got a juvenile Oscar for her performance in it, a statue taken by a maid when she was 19 and returned to her 50 years later. One of those films that is quintessentially American and that everyone should see.
½ December 24, 2017
Pretty good Judy garland movie.
December 5, 2017
Incredible! One of my all time faves.
½ August 27, 2017
A feel-good film featuring the incomparable Judy Garland
August 26, 2017
This lovely movie --Meet Me in St. Louis--provides nostalgic memories of America at the turn of the century. Judy Garland just glows in her acting and singing.The sweet characters navigate personal relationships and family drama to arrive at a fairybook happy ending at the 1904 World's Fair. The music is fabulous with well-known songs such as Meet Me in St. Louis and Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. The costumes and the settings add to the overall 'reliving history' experience. This movie is an annual family favorite!
July 28, 2017
Though lacking a conventional plot (it almost didn't get made because of this), it somehow ends being full of excitement. Full of genuine sentiment, its sharp humor and skillful cast keep it from ever being sentimental or saccharine. Highly watchable and listenable (to). I recommend.
May 20, 2017
The film projects a homey (there I say magical) glow of warmth and nostalgia, even for a time and place that none of us ever knew (St. Louis, MO, 1903, based on a memoir by Sally Benson). We follow the Smith Family, helmed by Leon Ames and Mary Astor, across an eventful year that culminates with the announcement that they must move to New York City. Of course, this throws everything into chaos. After all, daughter Esther (Judy Garland) has just begun a starry-eyed romance with handsome boy-next-door John Truett (Tom Drake). Things aren't quite working out for older daughter Rose (Lucille Bremer) and her hoped-for beau but she doesn't want to leave St. Louis. Nor do the younger kids, Tootie (Margaret O'Brien) and Agnes (Joan Carroll). During each season, we see their lives revolve around seasonal events (Halloween, Christmas) and we get a sense of the community spirit that exists amongst kids and families. Vincente Minnelli masterfully directs film so that the interspersed musical numbers, mainly by Garland (and featuring "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"), seem to further the plot rather than distract from it. Technicolor works its wonders. I'm glad I stopped by to spend some time; this is true escapist fare (although perhaps Americans might be more likely to resonate with the major plot dynamic involving a move and that might have positive or negative connotations).
May 19, 2017
10 out of 10:

Sweet, nostalgic, well acted, touching, and filled with great music, Meet Me in St Louis makes one of the best Christmas (it's considered a Christmas movie possibly because of one song) movie night.
May 4, 2017
Americana at its finest. This is a lovely movie and musical, and is one I will continue to watch through the years. (First viewing - 11/7/2009)
February 27, 2017
One reviewer described this movie as coming up "fresh as paint" each time he sees it. I couldn't agree more. It's always a treat, both aural and visual, and I find these characters people I'd like to know. I recommend it!
January 17, 2017
Very sweet with strong performances from Garland. I love the little sister character...so macabre!
January 7, 2017
(UPDATE as of Jan. 7th, 2017) It's been a few months after I've watched this movie and I've come to compare it to "little slices of life" films like Bambi and To Kill a Mockingbird and musically fun as Mary Poppins. I thought it was okay at first but looking back, I think it's pretty great, almost timeless and untouchable.
December 27, 2016
Outstanding acting and script - fun and entertaining on every level!
December 24, 2016
Remember watching this as a child, and fell in love all over again. Thank you TCM for bringing back memories.
December 17, 2016
This is a walking-talking Rockwell painting, a year-in-the-life of the Smiths, a lovely and lively American family. Sure, the "Merry Little Xmas" scene is incredibly affecting, but it's far from alone. Garland is wonderful, with a voice that is unmatched; Ames gives subtle layers of hard-nosed, dim-witted, fully present & completely loving; & Tootie is the definition of a scene stealer, a girl refusing to fit into gender norms. A technicolor classic with bright songs, charming humor, perfect emotions, and big characters.
December 11, 2016
Always a now to watch. "It's a great big beautiful tomorrow..."
Page 1 of 74