Meet Monica Velour - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meet Monica Velour Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ November 17, 2014
Meet Monica Velour: What a weird, contrived and ultimately sweet movie. Circumstances lead Tobe, a bad "Napoleon Dynamite" knockoff, to rural Indiana, where his vintage porn star crush now resides in a trailer. Yes, the premise is ridiculous, but Tobe's goofy likability and Kim Cattrall's spot-on portrait of a down-on-her-luck, washed up porn star is so jaw-droppingly good, and the film's last 20 minutes so charming, that it delivers the perfect happy ending.
½ October 9, 2014
Extremely low budget Indie about a teenager in love with an aged former porn star. While occasionally reminiscent of Napoleon Dynamite, "Meet Monica Velour" is much more serious, even in its dark humor. While it isn't a bad movie, it isn't particularly good either. The performance of Kim Cattrall is actually pretty good and a welcome change from her "Sex and the City" typecast she's been saddled with the past decade. Yeah, this film may not seem like much of a departure from the type of character she's been playing for a long time, but it did give her a chance to be more raw and serious. Definitely worth watching at least once.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
September 20, 2014
Owing a heavy debt to Napoleon Dynamite, this quirky indie follows closely in that film's smalltown footsteps, right down to the skinny, nerdy, puffhaired oddball male lead. When he learns his favorite porn star is starring at a strip club in Indiana, he road trips in his inherited weinermobile to sell the vintage auto and catch her show. Kim Cattrall is excellent in a standout performance as the former '80s sex idol now in her late 40s on a downward slide, and unafraid to show the inevitable effect time has on beauty. Brian Dennehy is equally good in a supporting role as the boy's crusty father, and Keith David ingratiates as a wizened artist/collector of Americana. A happy-ever-after ending doesn't quite fit with the rest of the offbeat storytelling, but the trip has enough detours worth taking.
April 2, 2014
This movie is well written and inspiring. It has a heart of gold unlike a lot of movies out there. It also provides plenty of laughs, what's not to like?
October 29, 2013
We thought this was cute, even though it got mostly bad reviews.
July 22, 2013
Kim Catrall was really good but her story was rushed. The main character spoilt the film for me
March 21, 2013
In a nutshell, it's Napoleon Dynamite Meets Sex Outside The City LOL. Gave 3 stars since I didn't think it was a bad movie. Kim Cattrall has the balls to knock out this gutsy, not so appealing kind of a movie. From enjoyable 80's faves like Police Academy with Steve Guttenberg, Mannequin with Andrew McCarthy, Masquerade with Rob Lowe, and of course Porky's with her classic "Lassie" nickname noticed by many male teens back in the day! I admire her bold move to make this movie with Brian Dennehy in a supporting role. It's ugly reality at it's best and away from the Honey Boo Boo fascination!
SC007
Super Reviewer
½ January 2, 2013
The film was good but could have been so much better. Kim Cattrall is amazing and should have gotten an Oscar nomination for the film. The film needed a rewrite. The tone was off. Also it felt like I was watching 2 different films here. His story was more like Napoleon Dynamite and her story was like The Wrestler.

I thought Dustin Ingram was ok as Tobe. However, they made a mistake making him look like a clone of Napoleon Dynamite. That was too distracting. I did think Brian Dennehy and Keith David were good in their supporting roles.

The film is worth seeing especially for Kim Cattrall's performance in it.
January 2, 2013
Brrrrrrrhhhh.... it's one of those pointless movies where we get to see a bunch of losers finally figuring out that they have steered their lives into a blind alley... and then working hard on making the wall blocking the exit even higher! Pretty good acting though...
November 23, 2012
I liked that I hated it, at least.
½ October 26, 2012
weird comedy about a 17 yr old who is in love with a '70's porn star.
October 16, 2012
I liked it. Sometimes you run in to people that leave a mark in your live forever...
September 24, 2012
wrong trailer. 'meet monica velour's trailer shows 'the way back'
August 30, 2012
it's kinda like napoleon Dynamite and I didn't like that movie.
August 4, 2012
Charming but predictable.
½ July 7, 2012
The movie was not what I expected, but it wasn't a complete waste. The ending feels like it was slapped on, it doesn't really fit in with the whole of the movie. Worth a viewing if you have the chance.
½ June 12, 2012
This certainly isn't anything special, but it did keep me interested enough to make it all the way to the end. It's not as funny as it thinks it is, but there are a few good laughs in it. Kim Cattrall gives a decent performance, but she isn't as dolled up as she normally is. Not a must see.
June 4, 2012
Cute movie. Had a few lame moments, but otherwise enjoyable for a rainy afternoon.
April 17, 2012
Caught this gem on IFC. It's a different kind of film, good characters.
April 8, 2012
This is going to become a cult movie with a bigger following than Harold & Maude.
Page 1 of 3