Melancholia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Melancholia Reviews

Page 1 of 187
January 8, 2017
"Melancholia" de Lars von Trier es una explosión artística que merece la atención de todos. Ningún cineasta que conozco crea psicodramas tan difíciles de ver y tan difíciles de olvidar. Este trabajo es un recordatorio de que siempre que se crea que las cosas no pueden empeorar, pueden hacerlo y mucho. Se trata de una composición poética que investigando acerca de ella, fue realizada de forma casi accidental.
Es el tipo de película en la que todos sus elementos clave se reúnen en el momento y lugar adecuados conforme en la historia se van requiriendo y son presentados de una manera tan armónica que al observarse, uno asimila y es ya lo suficientemente maduro para entender el material y reflexionarlo. El viaje que crea von Trier personalmente logró sumergirme a meditar y profundizar lo que es una revelación de la capacidad humana de sentir, mostrando también lo frágiles que son las emociones, y el resultado en esta obra maestra lleva a una mejor comprensión de lo más profundo de nosotros y al cómo nos comportamos tanto a una pequeña e insignificante acción, como frente al peor de los desastres.
En un momento en el que la mayoría de las películas son persuadidas por la idea de revelar todo de forma rápida, he aquí un esfuerzo reflexivo y preciso que fomenta a que la información se desenvuelva de forma paulatina y fascinante y esto a un nivel de pasión que al menos a mí me ha perseguido mucho después de haberla terminado de ver.
Creo que esta obra magistral es de lo mejor que he visto y es digna de ser mencionada, reconocida y aplaudida.
December 29, 2016
A medida que pasa la noche va perdiendo Justine la capacidad para aparentar contento, y se hace más difícil retenerla en su fiesta de boda. Pasada su fiesta de boda y luego de atravesar una etapa de la depresión que le anula sus fuerzas, abandona toda pretensión de mostrar empatía y da rienda suelta a su perversidad.

Similar a El Ángel Exterminador de hace medio siglo atrás, Melancholia explora coloridas maneras de violar las normas de conducta en reuniones de alta solemnidad: echarse a dormir la siesta mientras esperan que salga a dar el brindis. Salir a pasear en el carrito de golf mientras la esperan para cortar la torta. Encima con la apretada planificación se obtiene un calvario de tensiones, uno siente la incomodidad como si estuviera ahí presente junto a la suegra loca que para rematar no deja escapar la oportunidad de expresar en los peores momentos el absurdo de la celebración y la estupidez de los protagonistas. Por otro lado, la elección y manejo de la música y de las imágenes es impecable pero no sobresaliente. Y para una descripción pormenorizada de la trama cabe mencionar que hay un planeta que se quiere chocar contra la Tierra. 8/10
½ December 20, 2016
I get that it's about depression being universal, but that doesn't mean I want to see it in an over two hour movie. Kirsten Dunst looks great though.
½ December 11, 2016
I never expect depression is compatible with the theme of the doomsday, but Lars von Trier did it, and beautifully. The volatile Kirsten Dunst is well deserved for the best actress at Cannes.
November 19, 2016
Haunting. This movie stays with you.
October 21, 2016
It is a shame that such a simultaneously thrilling, fascinating, and harrowing premise was wasted on such an unnecessarily odd, consequently unnecessarily long, and unnecessarily erratic film. I would like to stress that if Von Trier had been more interested in trying to tell a coherent story rather than trying to be niche-counterculture-cool, this really could have been a masterpiece. The visual presentation of the premise is unforgettably moving, but the characterization and the overall narrative here are so extremely weird and directionless that it becomes distracting...severely diminishing the overall effect.
October 21, 2016
Kirsten Dunst stars in Lars Von Trier's sci-fi extravaganza which investigates the internal situations of individuals on Earth whilst science threatens to end humanity. The film is split into two halves following one of two sisters each time as they both battle depression and anxiety issues. It is in this first half where we learn more of Justine, played by Dunst, who deteriorates rapidly during her lavish wedding day and the second is Claire, her sister, struggling to cope with her sister's downfall and the fact that she may never see her family again. Justine's section is fantastic. The slow burn look at a person's fall from grace. We never quite know why she is like she is which makes it feel all the more real. Despite only spending a night with these characters it is as if you have known them for much longer with each one fleshed out and boasting depth. The second half however begins to drag and remove any initial enjoyment. It starts well but by the climax Melancholia has out stayed it's welcome. The title is for the mysterious planet that threatens to collide with Earth and it is this 'character' that is the issue with the film. If it is to be as pivotal as it is then the first half needs more resemblance to it and there is very little science fiction elements in there. However it is this area that could easily have been removed and the drama being left to the humans of the story. Von Trier has gone to lengths and depths for this film and it, at times, is mesmerising but ultimately the long running time and the second half do deflate it. Dunst is excellent and deserved more than just the Best Actress at Cannes awards, and Von Trier's script feels real and researched. If only he hadn't of taken it so far this could have been a masterpiece.
October 19, 2016
PAINFULLY boring. Great actors, extremely unlikable main character, & a plot dragged to death. Complete waste of your time, don't watch it.
October 8, 2016
A film about the end of the world unlike anything you've ever seen, the end is near, "Melancholia" shows the end of the world following the idea of ??Lars Von Trier, polemical, rude, garrulous, but a spectacular director without aliens, no giant robots or creatures that come from the deep, melancholy is only a planet that is in collision with the earth, we started the film witnessing an extremely troubled marriage with a wealthy but dysfunctional family, Lars Von Trier before speaking everyone will die (please right, do not expect a fairy tale end of a movie Von Trier), he makes us know all the characters and sympathize with them or not. The first part is focused on Justine (Kirsten Dunst) who makes a good regular performance, and this first part corresponding to half of the film, after 20 minutes is completely drawn, always giving us the same message, is visible that something strange , marriage, party, her husband and the star ... and these pillars will be repeating and repeating, in the second part of the protagonist's sister Justine, Claire (Charlotte Gainsbourg) who does a good work as always , nothing exaggerated in this second part we all consequences of marriage more the fear of impending death, all the sins of the script in the first parts are offset in the second, which is not perfect, but at least has a rhythm, photography is beautiful Lars Von Trier abusing slow motion, but it can, because he knows how to use, like all his films, the opening scenes are works of art, with a sad and masterful soundtrack, the first five minutes of the film are allah " 200I a space Odyssey ", Lars also writes almost every movie camera in hand, leaving more realistic and poetic. Finally, we have a great movie science fiction, different, deep (could be more), with scripts and rhythm problems, but it is a film that surprises for the simplicity and in the end, even if not all the reflection that film Lars Von Trier usually cause, when you lie down on the pillow, you will think, think, and think about this film, and in the end, Justine finally finds its slogan "life on earth is evil."
Super Reviewer
½ September 14, 2016
Where does one even begin a review about Lars Von Trier's film that was inspired by one his depressive episodes. Where would you begin? I guess first things first, this movie is ambitious as fuck, there's certainly no denying that. I haven't watched many Von Trier films if I'm being completely honest, though I've wanted to see Dancer in the Dark for a long time. While I certainly respect his style and approach towards filmmaking, his movie just generally haven't appealed to me that much. Don't know why. And this is coming from someone who enjoyed Antichrist, but his films have never caught my attention. It goes without saying that I think the guy is talented, but, again, his movies just haven't caught my attention. But, if I'm being completely honest, much like a lot of his films, this will cause a polarizing reactions. Some will find it to be an absolute masterpiece and others will find it to be a pretentious and infuriating piece of work. And I can see both sides of the equation. Like the first 8 minutes of the film are just slo-mo images set to classical music basically showing the ending of the film. Part of me gets the reasoning behind it, but part of me also feels that it was completely unnecessary. It doesn't add anything to the movie one way or the other. I wouldn't say the film is genius, but I can see how someone might feel that it was. I fall somewhere in the middle. Part of me hated this film, like the first part focusing on Justine's wedding. Not that the wedding itself and everything that happened wasn't relevant to where the film wanted to go, but a lot of parts of it feel more like self-serving as opposed something that is meant to help the overall narrative. Though, again, I do feel that it served a purpose. Justine, basically, during her wedding screws herself out of a job and out of her own marriage by fucking someone else on the golf course. You get to see how Justine's behavior goes up and down from depressed to happy to angry and then back to depressed again. She's clearly a woman who is not very stable mentally. Which leads us to the second part of the film, focusing more on Justine's sister, Claire, who's adjusting to life after Justine, who seems to have been in an institution after suffering a mental breakdown, moves in with her and her family. She's also growing increasingly worried that this planet, Melancholia, will collide with her due to some research she's been doing. Her husband reassures her that it's just gonna pass us by and leave. This is when the film really finds its focus, because, again, the wedding is relevant in showing the state of mind that Justine finds herself in, uncaring and indifferent to the fact that the world is pretty much about to end. The characterization is strong, but that is mostly helped by the fact that Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg are both fantastic in their roles. Seriously fantastic. I think both Kirsten and Charlotte put in some of their best work, I really do believe that. Because of that, I do think the film does go to some interesting with its characters, particularly Kiefer Sutherland's character once he finally realizes that it's all over. The film is certainly not a happy one, that's for sure. Its outlook is pretty damn bleak, but, in spite of that, it's not really a movie that leaves you feeling down or depressed about the world when it's all over. Which is not an easy thing to achieve when the film deals with the literal end of the world due to another planet crashing into us. So that was, not necessarily impressive, but it was pretty interesting how they handled some pretty bleak themes without actually depressing the shit out of viewers. At least that's how I felt, maybe someone else saw it differently. Visually speaking, the film is very impressive, like just seeing Melancholia closing in on earth. It's pretty damn beautiful. In spite of the fact that the planet is gonna destroy everything, there's something beautiful about it all. So yea, all in all, I'd say I actually really enjoyed this movie in spite of all the flaws I felt it had with the wedding segment of the film. The second half more than makes up for that. It's not a movie that everyone will love, but I do think it's worth watching because of its characters, its storytelling and its style. It's gonna inspire debates between people who hate and love Lars Von Trier. And that's what art is really all about honestly.
½ September 10, 2016
I know there are problems with the movie, but I love it. It speaks to me and understands me. It's so somberly beautiful that it brings a tear to my eye.
½ August 31, 2016
An engaging story that is well acted, but the two halves of the movie feel too disconnected from each other, and feel unresolved.
½ August 30, 2016
Art house film that's not going to be for everyone. Much like Antichrist (2009) Melancholia is shot beautifully and has a fantastic musical score that follows the film. On the surface the film is about two sisters Justine (Kirsten Dunst) and Claire (Charlotte Gainsbourg). The film is split in two parts with Justine getting married in the beginning of the film and exploring her deep depression. While the second part is about Claire and her denial of what's going on and trying her hardest to make everything just work. The Earth is about to be hit by a planet named Melancholia and some people are in denial. Claire's husband John (Kiefer Sutherland) is telling everyone it won't happen, but Justine knows it will. It's hard to describe this one. You really have to see it to believe it. The movie has metaphors non stop everywhere. The overall meaning could be interpreted any number of ways, but this is mostly my opinion on it. Claire is like the Earth. She's "normal" and does everything that she thinks she should do including watching over her sister. Justine is represented by the impending doom of Melancholia. She is deeply depressed, different and just doesn't fit in. The crashing of the planet represents the depression someone feels and how it invades their own "normal" life suddenly and violently. The early wedding scenes show us different people in Justine's life and a few of them stand out A lot of her family members represent something as well such as her father Dexter (John Hurt) representing Greed because he only thinks of himself and can't even take the time to talk to Justine. Her mom Gaby (Charlotte Rampling) is bluntness she's super rude and acts out without thinking. All of the people are just very characterized it's quite interesting. Overall, it's still a bit too hard to follow along with and although it was a pretty one and well acted by Dunst I just didn't enjoy it overall!
½ August 3, 2016
The 3rd of Mr. Von Triers film I've watched, and the 3rd one I've disliked. I watched Antichrist, and it was horrible. I watched Dancer In The Dark, and it was depressing. I watched Melancholia, and it was boring. Very, VERY boring. This experiment in grandiose art-house self-indulgence opens with a wedding reception that lasts nearly an hour, and contains characters who are either too annoying to be likable or too dull to be interesting. All except Kirsten Dunst's Justine, who manages to be both. The film is over 2 hours of relentless misery, grinding tedium and protracted scenes of pure nothingness. For me, Von Trier's films all have the same central problem: The unwavering belief that they're saying a lot more than they really are. The movie's contention seems to be that depression makes people feel sad, which is hardly revelatory. After all the flat dialogue, static plotting, detestable characters and endless sulking, you'll be begging for the eponymous meteor to come along and wipe everyone out as quickly as possible.
½ May 28, 2016
Spectacular movie, sort of a blockbuster on the theme of depression.
½ May 9, 2016
A relentlessly dark and depressing film that never once lets up, or offers its viewers a chance of relief. This is not a pleasant viewing experience. In fact, it's downright miserable. By the halfway point, you're likely to find every single character utterly despicable, and by the end, you'll just be happy to watch them all die. This doesn't make it a bad film per say, it's impeccably well-made with some beautiful cinematography and great performances, but it will certainly turn off many viewers. Even for movie fans, this will start to feel like a chore to get through after a while. The many plotholes and scientific inconsistencies can also be extremely frustrating. To be fair however, this is a movie driven by emotions rather than logic. As it is, the film is a unique and original take on the "end of the world" genre and offers an interesting look at depression. Just don't expect to feel good about yourself after it's over.
½ April 19, 2016
OMG SOOO BAD!! not even kirsten dunsts boobs make it worth watching
½ April 5, 2016
Unlike anything else. Visually breathtaking. I walked away from it feeling as though it was a dream. A movie that stays with you long after it is over.
March 14, 2016
I like Von Triers - and for me, Melancholia isn't on a par with my favourites, Breaking the Waves or Dogville, but it's still a very thoughtful, moving film (and probably the only disaster movie I can relate to. Great idea to have Kiefer Sutherland NOT saving the world.) My highlights were the soundtrack, and a wonderful performance from the underrated Kirsten Dunst.
½ March 12, 2016
I enjoyed it in a melancholic way. Some fine acting from a strong cast and Dunst in particular. Film plays out in two parts and it works quite well.
Page 1 of 187