Memoirs of a Geisha - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Memoirs of a Geisha Reviews

Page 1 of 8
July 30, 2009
It's lush, stylish and a feast for the eyes and ears rather than the heart and soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 1, 2007
For all of its inaccuracies and over-the-top mise-en-scène, Memoirs is quite entertaining.
September 27, 2006
The overall effect is not so unlike Mameha's description of geisha themselves: a moving work of art.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 1, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2006
A beautiful-looking film with an ugly little fantasy at its heart.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 21, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 19, 2006
Cinematographer Dione Beebe ... fills the screen with lavish images that constantly amaze the senses.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
January 18, 2006
The subject remained interesting enough to this provincial American to accept and ultimately enjoy the film's well-worn romanticism, even with its resignedly tired happy ending.
January 17, 2006
Marshall's approach is simultaneously accessible and exotic, a breathtaking introduction that exposes without spoiling a world of carefully guarded mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 16, 2006
The greatest achievement of author Golden and director Marshall is their delicate capturing of the viciousness of women among women.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 16, 2006
Stunning to look at, Memoirs of a Geisha is worth seeing for the lush visuals alone. The accents and culture clashes may grate, but the insight into this world, where men can be brought to their knees with a single glance, is mesmerising.
January 11, 2006
Even though the novel is one of my favorites; the movie did not leave me disappointed. It left me wanting more, but I didn't walk out dissatisfied with what I was given.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 11, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 10, 2006
Always pleasant to watch even as the plot bites off more than it can chew.
| Original Score: 3/4
January 2, 2006
Geisha offers a colorful glimpse that is as alien to most Western audiences as the dark side of the moon.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
December 30, 2005
Marshall weaves together an exotically sumptuous production frayed by a disappointing ending that tries to draw a powdered happy face on tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 29, 2005
Memoirs of a Geisha is grand entertainment, telling its epic story in bold yet graceful terms without ever descending to melodrama or soap opera.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
December 28, 2005
I can't say that Memoirs is a good film, and it's certainly not action-packed (oh, my, is it ever not action-packed), but it's not without its merits, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 27, 2005
In any case, if you judge Memoirs of a Geisha as a moving work of art, it's pretty fabulous.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 27, 2005
Ultimately, Memoirs of a Geisha compares unfavorably with the book, though it offers pleasures of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 8