Messengers 2: The Scarecrow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Messengers 2: The Scarecrow Reviews

Page 1 of 10
½ May 13, 2016
It's not great but it isn't terrible either. I can't remember much about the first film but this is a prequel. A nice spooky atmosphere, some very good bits ... but a few awful bits too. Just about worth a watch.
July 7, 2015
Pretty good till the scarecrow started walking around.
May 21, 2015
It has Norman Reedus in it . its a very good movie
February 20, 2015
Enjoyed watching this , not really scary or so , but a nice neighbour and some dead people helps !
October 7, 2014
A Farmer Unknowingly Erects An Evil Scarecrow In His Corn Fields, Soon A String Of Mysterious Deaths Occur. This Film Has A Decent Script, Average Acting, Good Use Of Music, Builds Up Some Slight Tension And Atmosphere. Sadly The Plot Is Something We've Seen Before, Not As Often As A Haunted House (Like it's Predecessor), But It Doesn't Add Anything New To The Haunted/Evil Scarecrow Plot, & Does Feature Some Clichés. In My Opinion This Is A Better Made Film (Than It's Predecessor), With A Plot That Has Been Used Previously But not Been Overused. A Generally Entertaining Film.
September 26, 2014
bad movie! doesn't even relate and pertain to the first one! waste of viewers time!
April 5, 2014
Typical horror slash genre.
½ January 7, 2014
a far cry from the first, bad casting, meh story line and random porno scenes that showed the writers tried to distract you from the train wreck that is this instead of making the attempt to write a decent film/sequel
November 15, 2013
Was no where near as good as the first. That's what happens when you make movies backward. For me it was not worth watching. Wish I hadn't seen it.
June 6, 2013
The Messengers 2: The Scarecrow is an impressive and solid Direct to DVD prequel to the 2007 film The Messengers which was directed by the Pang Brothers. The Messengers 2: The Scarecrow takes place before the events of the first film where it explains the origins of the Rollins family and the curse that takes place in the house. John Rollins is a farmer man who has been facing financial problems in his life and has been in a lot of stress due to the water pump being broken. Crows eating the stuff he planted and some problems from the bank. When John puts a scarecrow and things in his life started to change like the scarecrows are dying. The water pump has been fixed and the banker dies in a fatal accident until John soon realized that the scarecrow is the one doing it and he soon discovers that the scarecrow is about to harm John's family and its up to John to save his family from getting killed. To be honest I seriously love this movie and it was great. The film is so nice and magnificent at the same time and I love the plot of this movie a lot and from what I can tell I heard that the plot of this movie was supposed to be used on the first movie until Revolution studios and Ghost House Pictures wanted it to be a supernatural Horror film with a different plot and the scarecrow plot was later on used in this film and its great enough to use the scarecrow plot in this movie a lot and I did like that idea for one reason. What's great about The Messengers 2: The Scarecrow is that the whole film is shot on a big budget rather than an ordinary low budget movie and from what I can tell all of the things in this movie are so big budget rather than low budget like other direct to DVD movies and its good enough that the film managed to bring justice jut like the first movie. What I also like about this film is that the movie is atmospheric from start to finish. The whole film is so atmospheric and it totally creeped me out and the atmosphere in this film is haunting and dreadful at the exact same time thanks to Director Martin Barnewitz he nailed the atmosphere of this film a lot and it totally fits well for the film along with its tones and I love the shots in the cornfield and the scarecrow kill in the finale is so atmospheric and I overall love the atmosphere of this film. The other things I like about this movie is that the film is full of scenes that are very suspenceful and intense at the exact same time and the kills are solid and I love most of the kills in this film. The opening scene of the movie is fantastic. The banker's death was pretty unexpected while the rest of the kills and suspense scenes are so effective and magnificent at the exact same time and I overall love the style of this film a lot. While the last things I like about this movie is the settings of the film and I love the way the house looks like in this movie and the cornfield is huge and o stunning and haunting at the same time and I love the settings of this film a lot. Now the acting is great all of the casts did a magnificent job with their work on the movie a lot and overall the acting is great. Director Martin Barnewitz and screenwriter Todd Farmer did an excellent job in creating a dark supernatural Horror film with lots of scares and tension and a huge amount of atmospheric scenes and I love the way Todd Farmer wrote this movie and I also like Martin Barnewitz's directing at the exact same time. Overall The Messengers 2: The Scarecrow gets a 10/10 because this film is just as good as the first movie.
April 25, 2013
pretty interesting and tensed for horror movie
February 11, 2013
pretty decent sequel or prequel however you wanna look at it,in same places I found this better then the original movie,the story is better,the lead character seems more believable the only downfall for me was the end...when the scarecrow fights the family ha ha but overall good film,and considering I only payed £1 lol bargain :)
½ December 22, 2012
Y que demonios tiene que ver esto con la primera parte?
½ December 20, 2012
hated it, I thought this film was crap, the first messengers was the best, I hated this movie, it was really crap and I will never watch it again, I expected better from this movie, I own it on DVD
½ November 5, 2012
Suffers from many of the same problems as the first film but I enjoyed how it kept a similar tone and setting as the first film and yet created a completely different story.
I might go so far as to say this was a better film than its predecessor but maybe I'm just loving Norman Reedus now that he's all Walking Dead and shiiiite.
½ October 30, 2012
Don't really gt ihht bt ihhts good
September 15, 2012
I'm a huge horror fan, and I tend to watch most dvds I can get my hands on.

This straight to DVD "prequel" of the original film should please most horror fans. It's not a great movie, and you'll likely forget it not long after watching, but it's entertaining enough if your expectations are low.

It has good acting and a big-budget look. I didn't know much about the plot going in, so some of the twists towards the end were a little unexpected for me. It doesn't have much at all to do with the original Messengers.

The plot is a little goofy. But I think it gives this B movie some of its charm.
½ September 2, 2012
"The Shining goes country." SCREEM MAGAZINE
Quite possibly the most accurate blurb ever.

Supposely a prequel but completely goes against what The Messengers explains happens to the Rollins family.
Instead this more than likely was an unused script Sony owned and since it involved a barn and a farmer they adapted it as a 'Messengers' film.
Needless to say, it sucked. A slow, boring mess that never goes anywhere, borrows heavily from the aforementioned Shining and doesn't satisfy on any level. Well except a nicely gratuitous bare breasted scene. But other than that--zipola.
½ September 1, 2012
this movie sucked so bad, nothin like the first 1.
August 29, 2012
A direct-to-video prequel-sequel better than the first. Which really isn't saying much, because The Messengers was a terrible movie.
Page 1 of 10