Messiah of Evil - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Messiah of Evil Reviews

Page 1 of 5
April 7, 2014
Little explanation and poor coordinates, but it has a that 70's zombie shlock-feeling that makes it at least eye catching. The characters aren't too interesting, and the pacing is off, but there are decent moments and fun minor movie effect.
September 8, 2013
Probably the only zombie film to ever give me an honest-to-goodness case of the willies. surprisingly creepy and atmospheric for a 70's low budget romp. Highly recommended!
August 25, 2013
stimmungsvoller horrorfilm mit kunstflair
½ June 21, 2013
Interesting movie with a build up as to the nature of the threat of this small village. The payoff is ok, but at the same time, it is very slow and drawn out. Characters make some far from believable decisions which does distract.
½ April 16, 2013
The pan and scan format and crappy picture quality of the copy of this that I saw may have affected my enjoyment a little. It made the film look very unprofessional. Despite that I didn't think a whole lot of this movie. I went out of my way to watch this because I enjoy nightmare horror and dreamlike films in general. This didn't dissappoint as far as strangeness is concerned and has some really cool imagery. It's a very distinctly unique zombie film. It may be too strange though as I thought it was incoherent. It was also poorly acted and melodramatic. All this combined to make something like a 1970's daytime soap directed by Don Coscarelli. Not as cool as it sounds.
½ April 9, 2013
One of the OOP Code Red DVDs that I was able to snag used, and it was well worth the grab, playing out like an American Giallo meets Gary Sherman's Dead & Buried, where the action is set in a creepy town where no one likes an outsider, and you feel uncomfortable the entire time they're there.

Good stuff, well worth tracking down.
January 28, 2013
A young woman looks for her father where the people of a town turn into zombies because of an ancient curse. Another zombie film that doesn't stand out, though there are some nice visuals. This film is also known as Messiah of Evil.
November 27, 2012
An Interesting, Somewhat Hidden Diamond in the Rough, Aesthetic and unique--Phantasmagoric nightmare!!
October 15, 2012
Mill Creek's 50 Movie Pack: Chilling Classics Reviews
WILLARD HUYCK & GLORIA KATZ'S MESSIAH OF EVIL /THE SECOND COMING [1973]: Long before husband and wife Willard Huyck & Gloria Katz where behind script of George Lucas' AMERICAN GRAFFITI [1973] and the infamous HOWARD THE DUCK [1986] ; the pair behind these films had made a now cult classic horror film. Starting life in 1971 under the title THE SECOND COMING the investors who were involved with the project pulled out towards the end of the film's production. The film was then left unfinished until another investor brought the footage, had it edited together and realised the film 1973 under a new title, MESSIAH OF EVIL.


Of course the film ended up in near obscurity not long after it's realise. Upon most likely a few TV screenings, Home media and the fact the films copyright has since lapsed making it a Public Domain Film under US law. MESSIAH OF EVIL has now since become a sleeper cult classic. While not a widely known Cult film, I like other people hold this film in high regard. Instead of going for all out graphic violence that other low budget contemporaries productions where making. This film relies mainly upon an atmospheric sense of dread, mood, hypnotic imagery, an ambiguous plot, and building of tension to make the viewer seem uneasy.

THE PLOT: Sees a young woman in an asylum reflect upon how she got there. The flashback shows the young woman searching for her missing father in a small costal Californian town. The woman soon finds the town is bizarrely cold and hostile to her enquires. The woman soon meets with a posh paranormal investigator and his female entourage who are interviewing a wino (played by Elisha Cook Jr) about a local legend of the blood moon.

The group join the woman at her abandon fathers house where the join in the search for him (and mooch of the offer of free accommodation). However when it becomes clear that the town's residents are becoming horrifying zombies; the group are placed in a dire situation.

THOUGHTS: Despite a slow start, this film really becomes atmospheric with the help of a sense of mystery and the lack of an explanation of what is going on. With the use of vivid colours, creepy set designs including the realistic painting figures on the walls of the artist home, the deliberate slow building of tension and an artistic vibe really works in this films favour. For a low budget picture from a bygone era it really gets under your skin much like another forgotten cult horror films. My rating is a much deserved 80% for such a ghoulish gem.
½ March 31, 2012
Very pleasant surprise from the dvd collection it came on. Very well shot, some creative scenes, and of course, plenty of zombies. A nice little low budget horror flick.
½ October 22, 2011
Surrealism my ass. Simply lousy storytelling.
September 25, 2011
The coolest part about this movie is the trailer id rather watch that for an hour and half then the whole flick
September 5, 2011
Overrated . . . the Zombies in the Grocery Store scene is CLASSIC!!!!

Elisha Cook Jr. is faar out in the hotel-scene.

WHERE'S THE WIDESCREEN DVDRIP?

Where's the Beef?
July 30, 2011
Fantastic forgotten gem of 70's horror that wrings a vibe of hallucinatory weirdness for every drop of stylistic fright that it can. It's like a lost or Argento or Bava, with transfixing visuals that are are both beautiful and disorienting, and the story is a pure Lovecraftian riff on his "Shadow over Innsmouth" novella. Fans of 70's cinema should take note of the production pedigree - written, directed, and produced by the writers of AMERICAN GRAFFITI, edited by the award-winning editor of ROCKY, art directed by award-winning Jack Fisk, lensed by famed DP Steven Katz, and features the great Walter Hill.
April 24, 2011
Decent atmospheric horror, felt like a mix of Let's Scare Jessica to Death and Dead and Buried.
½ March 16, 2011
Can't expect much from a public domain movie, but overall it's a very solid movie.
March 13, 2011
Didn't plan to watch the entire movie last night but I did. Excellent creepy stuff.
January 21, 2011
An excellent and underated horror film. Seeing this i idid not expect it to be as good as it was due to its public domian status and chessy alternate titles but i was pleasantly supriesed. Slow ,atohpereic and artsy this movie leaves good time for chracter development but at the same time draws you into its bizare tone. the pacing is grate and the twist while predicable works. Proof that you dont need gore for a frighting flick i recommened this movie to fans of Carnival of souls or lets scare jessica to death as it is in the same class as those
Page 1 of 5