Miami Vice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Miami Vice Reviews

Page 3 of 10
August 6, 2006
a watchable, but otherwise unremarkable flick.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
August 6, 2006
Miami Vice is pure Miami Vice. It's pure Michael Mann. And most importantly of all, Colin Farrell is pure Don Johnson
August 6, 2006
Not the film we were promised but no shame either, Miami Vice is loaded with just enough thrills and spills to keep us glued to our seats.
| Original Score: 3/5
August 6, 2006
Mann wants to distance his film from the Reagan-era consumerist fantasy of the TV show that inspired it, but all he does is put a dour veneer of visual grime over the same attitudes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 5, 2006
If you're looking for the Don Johnson version of Sonny Crockett, you're better off looking at television re-runs.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
August 5, 2006
Many critics have found in Mann's films an excess of macho bluster. I can only say his power and exuberant self-belief expose the indentikit dullness of a hundred other meagre film-makers working with similar material.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 5, 2006
Miami Vice isn't perfect, but it is perfectly mesmerizing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 5, 2006
Spearheaded by the compelling paring of Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx, Miami Vice delivers serious action, dangerous liaisons and spectacular locations in a tense and highly anticipated drama adapted from the 80s TV series.
August 4, 2006
There isn't much real chemistry between Farrell and Fox, or even Farrel and Li, so we really don't believe much of what's going on.
Read More | Original Score: 2.4/5
August 4, 2006
Thrums with a raw, fierce, jazzy soul.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 4, 2006
A highly-influential TV show winds up as a decent but flawed movie and the hunt for a truly great 2006 summer blockbuster continues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 4, 2006
Bearing all the Mann hallmarks, this is visually enthralling, relentlessly stylish crime drama. A little too languorous for its own good at times, but still vastly superior entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 3, 2006
I enjoyed Mr. Mann's new Miami Vice from its first ravishing frame to the last, but I can't say that very much of it made sense -- but then, neither do the daily headlines.
August 3, 2006
Farrell is superb as Crockett, even managing to avoid being out-acted by his ridiculous moustache, and his scenes with Gong Li (whose English accent sadly hasn't improved since Memoirs of a Geisha) generate real chemistry.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 3, 2006
It's business as usual for Mann. Truly terrific.
August 2, 2006
Beautiful to look at and difficult to embrace, this is a movie of moments, not of overall narrative force.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 2, 2006
I say, bring back the pastel suits, the flamingos, and the Jan Hammer score. You can keep Phil Collins, though.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 2, 2006
Takes itself so seriously that you'd think you were watching a production of King Lear -- except King Lear is positively action-packed by comparison.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 2, 2006
"Miami Vice" is singularly lacking an iconoclastic style. It's shot with a gritty, shaky approach.
August 2, 2006
Routine in some respects, but in others, it delivers everything expected of a summer blockbuster. And it's gorgeous.
Full Review
Page 3 of 10