Michael Clayton - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Michael Clayton Reviews

Page 1 of 10
October 5, 2007
There's nothing sadder than a prestige picture that just doesn't work, because these kinds of films so rarely allow themselves to have fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 27, 2009
Equates serious inquiry with inert filmmaking
October 22, 2007
Michael Clayton wants it both ways. It requires smarts to understand what's going on, and a lack of smarts to care and not be able to predict the outcome.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 1, 2007
So: the crazy people are the truly sane ones. Does this sound more like a complex 70s thriller or a dizzy 60s dream?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 5, 2007
Money hungry men in nice suits stopped being cool in 1982, and Michael Clayton doesn't do enough to bring it back again.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 28, 2007
Think old chewing gum with a masculine flavour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2007
Gilroy's goal is to create a smart, literate thriller, and while Michael Clayton is smart and literate, it isn't thrilling.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
October 4, 2007
Despite an exceptional performance by Clooney, Michael Clayton is like watching a drawn-out third act that left the really compelling stuff back in the first two.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 9, 2008
Grisham for exceptionally bleeding hearts
Full Review | Original Score: 68/100
October 4, 2007
It's invigorating and impressive on a formal level, but ultimately wearying.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 1, 2007
Legal miracle workers or "fixers" hide simple truths behind a calculated barrage of extraneous smoke and mirrors, which is exactly the tactic screenwriter-turned-director Tony Gilroy employs for his directorial debut Michael Clayton.
October 10, 2007
Dude, there's a bomb in your car.
April 10, 2008
Malo je gledatelja koji od prve ne%u0107e shvatiti tko su u filmu pozitivci a tko negativci.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 8, 2007
Some might see the dark cinematography, the protagonist pursued by demons, and the slow, wordy, incoherent story-telling as tense. I looked at my watch a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
November 22, 2007
"Man, I could be doing my laundry," I groused, as Clooney looked deep into the camera's eyes and gave me nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 29, 2007
So bogged down in plot that it has little in the way of suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 3, 2007
Hipster filmmakers keep looking backwards to the 1970s, hoping to disguise how ill-equipped they are to deal with contemporary social issues.
October 3, 2007
Michael Clayton literally knocks its brains out trying to be clever, but it ends up being the same kind of smart-alecky filmmaking most of Mr. Clooney's movies are famous for.
September 28, 2007
There's a great George Clooney film in here somewhere, but you have to look mighty hard to find it.
April 8, 2011
There's a lot of skill involved in Michael Clayton and an understated, ambiguous hero that's becoming rare in modern film. Even if under its subtle surface there isn't really much there, the surface is good enough to make it worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 10