Micmacs (Micmacs tire-larigot) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Micmacs (Micmacs tire-larigot) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 26, 2010
Micmacs is Jeunet's whimsy unrestrained; this is hardcore twee, uncut cute. Every character on screen is quirky and eccentric to various degrees of irritation, and the constant visual whizbang stuff never lets the actors interact.
February 26, 2010
Jeunet(TM)s fondness for the whimsical and slapstick has gone over the top, leaving plot and character floundering.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 3, 2010
In an age when special effects can show us almost anything, there can come a tipping point when a movie is essentially only showing off. I'm not flatly against that, but in general, I like to delude myself that the story is in the foreground.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 3, 2010
Jeunet's film, co-written by the director and Guillaume Laurant, is one of high polish and prodigious creativity. I found it exhausting.
June 11, 2010
There is something whimsical about Micmacs but also something laborious, and that is not a good combo.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 26, 2010
The film is visually impressive and I'd be lying if I said I didn't laugh a few times. But too often, the gags aren't so much quirky as just plain jarring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 13, 2010
So much time is devoted to chases and ricocheting bullets that whimsy for whimsy's sake takes over.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 24, 2010
Micmacs is the logical next step in Jean-Pierre Jeunet's career, more or less completely doing away with narrative as a vital component and exalting mouse trap-style set pieces as a be-all end-all.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 2, 2013
It's superbly directed but the story just isn't involving and the characters are empty shells. Knowing how awesome this director can be, MICMACS was a major letdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 8, 2010
It throws just about every piece of shtick in Jeunet's book at us, and the result is that we spend very little time getting to know the characters. They are undeveloped.
April 28, 2010
Jean-Pierre Jeunet has turned to caricaturing his own fixation on Rube Goldberg mechanics to create a truly boring cinematic exercise in futility.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 5, 2010
It's like every American's worst nightmare of what France must be like.
February 26, 2010
A film that has belaboured our funnybones for 100 minutes makes a charge for our tear ducts. Neither we nor the landmine victims deserved this facile flipping of agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 3, 2010
The movie would be sweeter if it developed its characters instead of trying to be so cute all the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 21, 2010
Dripping with gooey crowd-pleasing sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 3, 2010
I found this film unbearable, almost unwatchable. Fifteen minutes in, I felt as though I'd been drugged, and I stayed awake only by shifting constantly ...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 16, 2010
While the parts are quite good, the sum is pretty pedestrian.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 27, 2010
free-style caricatures turn the movie into a bucket of comic slop
| Original Score: 2/5
July 13, 2010
For anybody worried Amelie wasn't overstylized and cutesy-poo enough, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet finally disappears completely up his own twee-hole...
Page 1 of 7