Mid90s - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mid90s Reviews

Page 1 of 8
January 12, 2019
Slender from a narrative standpoint, Mid90s largely succeeds thanks to the authentic characters -- and even more authentic dialogue -- offered by Hill.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 9, 2019
Despite the film's harshness, there are quite a few beautiful moments in Jonah Hill's directorial debut. The coming-of-age drama features spot-on performances by the cast and a storyline that provides the audience with insight to these vivid characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 9, 2019
Jonah Hill grinds through his directorial debut with nostalgia and emotion, illuminating the struggles in adolescence.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 21, 2018
A realistic and raw tale of coming-of-age insecurities with a hearty dose of skate culture nostalgia.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 19, 2018
Brutal and uncompromising, Mid90s packs more emotional punch than would be expected of a slacker skater movie.
December 9, 2018
Mid90s is a beautiful tribute to skate culture.
December 5, 2018
Mid90s is a love letter to a time and place unique in youth cultural history. It isn't quite great - it has its share of flaws - but as far as debuts go, it's a hell of a strong one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 21, 2018
Coming-of-age angst and self-discovery set against the skateboarding circuit...Hill spins a heartfelt tale of growing pains balanced by skateboarding rebellion, a sense of tribal belonging, and inescapable domestic disillusionment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 21, 2018
We all go through the struggle at one point or another, but we can't let the bad moments keep us down. We have to keep kicking and pushing until we get where we need to be. With a tagline of "Fall. Get back up.", Mid90s is a must see.
November 19, 2018
For all their faults and myriad opportunities for adults to judge them, viewers also glimpse their history, potential, and worth... especially when no one else bothers. A dissection of unsupervised impending masculinity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 11, 2018
Jonah Hill creates a coming-of-age gem.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 11, 2018
A heartfelt tribute that astutely captures growing up as a skater kid during the era.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 9, 2018
I loved this movie. I think we're going to be seeing Sunny Suljic for a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.25/5
November 9, 2018
I want to see more from Jonah Hill, and certainly, from this kid Sunny Suljic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 5, 2018
It has skateboards and weed in it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.75/5
November 5, 2018
If Superbad launched an entire subgenre that mocks male insecurity, Mid90s reveals, almost tenderly, the devastation of trying to hide it.
November 2, 2018
Passion pours on the screen in Mid90s with most of it feeling like Hill just dropped a camera into this world and started filming.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 1, 2018
It is enjoyable and a favorable first outing for Hill, but it will probably soon be left in forgotten obscurity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 31, 2018
Predictable or not, it boasts endearing performances, a spot-on soundtrack, and smooth direction by Hill.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 31, 2018
Actor-turned-writer/director Jonah Hill has created an Insightful, edgy coming-of-age saga.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 8