Middle Men - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Middle Men Reviews

Page 2 of 30
June 4, 2013
Came for the R rating, got disappointed.
½ March 24, 2013
There's a lot of story to tell here and not a lot of time to tell it. This is a "true life" crime thriller, comedy and suspense drama all rolled into one movie. The key to making it all cohesive is the editing which is quick and flashy and well suited to the subject matter. Luke Wilson is unassuming enough to pull off the family man/ pornographer and his first person narrating helps to move things along. Great supporting cast in Giovanni Ribisi, James Caan and Laura Ramsey. Lots of glitz, glam and TnA . A fun fast paced look at the beginnings of internet porn.
March 10, 2013
I very much enjoyed it.
March 5, 2013
this is a solid fun movie
February 28, 2013
Really enjoyed this start to finish. Can't understand the low ratings. Luke Wilson is fantastic, as is Ribisi, and the story keeps you glued to your seat. Yes it's trying to be goodfellas but is that really a bad thing? Brilliant! One of my favourite movies.
½ January 20, 2013
Really good, it's funny, entertaining, smart and well-acted. I wasn't expecting to like it so much, it was a really good movie that I would make everyone watch if I could, exept children... This movie had potential to be a bit better and I think it could might make me actually give it a four star rate but look, nobody's perfect and they did what they could and I think that for what they done, it was enough and they could create a really fun movie to watch, that's what it matters. Really good.

George Gallo is a director that I don't know and I'm sure that other people also don't know him that well, but read this carefuly, he directed and writed the movie, wich is a surprising thing, he directed one of my favorite kinds of movies and I got to say, even though I never heard of this guy, I'm sure he has much potential to direct some other movies. Luke Wilson takes the lead role and let me tell you something, he was amazing, I always thought he was a good actor and that he could be funny and also mature in every movies, in here, he keeps like that, he had an outstanding character and an amazing perfomance, he was really awesome in here, this was one of his best perfomances of his entire career, Luke is known from Old School, Idiocracy, Blades of Glory, My Super Ex-Girlfriend and some other movies. Giovanni Ribisi is an actor that I know and I actually saw him in Avatar and I thought he was a good and funny actor, in here, he let me thinkt he same things about him, here, he plays a total dumb character that turned out to invent one of the world's biggest inventions, he was hilarious and he had a really good e, Giovanni is known from Avatar, Saving Private Ryan, The Rum Diary, Gone in Sixty Seconds and some other movies. Gabriel Macht was good in here, I already saw him acting but I was never able to really comment his acting, now I do can and I can say that he has potential and he's funny, Gabriel is known from the TV show Suits, he is also known from Love and Other Drugs, The Spirit, The Recruit and some other movies. James Caan was just okay in here, nothing amazing, only good perfomance and acting, James is known from The Godfather, Henry's Crime, Elf and some other movies. Sow, as you can see, this is just the main cast, and it's good I can say that, but the movie doesn't have in it the most wanted actors in a comedy movie, but forget about that when you watch the movie, because the actors, pretty much all of them, had an amazing perfomance, this movie was really well-acted, trust me. The cast will also offer you one or two cameos that you will enjoy. Nice actors, terrific characters and perfomances, specially Luke Wilson, who is a really good and hilarious actor that continues that way in here.

Wayne Beerin (Giovanni Ribsi) and Buck Dolby (Gabriel Macht) are two drugged guys who are completely dumb and in a certain day, come up with the idea of creating a porn site on the Internet and make people charge for it (For the first time in the world). They start to get a lot of money in a few days. That business was to big for them to handle it. The straight-laced Jack Harris (Luke Wilson) joins the team to help them and making sure that they don't do anything wrong. Jack wrestles to not drownd in a sea of conmen, mobsters, drug addicts and pornstars.(What I thought about the plot) Well, I loved the plot, it's based on a true story and in these days, that always give us a good movie. This movie's script made this movei work well, very well in did, I wouldn't make any changes in it, the set ups, the twists, everything's amazing about it. Overall, this was the script of an amazing movie that I highly recommend.

Soundtrack, well, I didn't heard any themes or anything like that, but at least they joined some musics into the movie and by the way, some good songs that I enjoyed.

Besides all that, I am now going to tell you what I thought about this movie. First of all, I had no idea that I was going to like it so much, cause I thought this movie wasn't that popular and I onlyknew that it existed when I saw the tailer on the TV, since there, I wasn't that interested in the movie, but I should be, because if I knew that I was not watching this. This movie is a bit confusing sometimes but that's okay, this is not those kinds of confusinf movies that you never undertand anything, you do get your questions answered, so if you start off watching this movie and then you stop watch it just because you think it's confusing, don't, because I think I saw movies like that and I wanted to stop watching it, sow, warning, watched the entire movie, it's really worth to. Do I think this movie could be better? Just a little bit, despite the fact that I really liked it, I think it had potential to be slightly better, but I'm not really sure what they could adjust here, that's the problem, but that's okay, they could already make a good movie. The 6.8 in IMDb is really understandable, the latest movies I have ever seen almost never have an undertandable rate in IMDb, this one did had. Overall, I really liked this movie, it has outstanding perfomances and characters, it has a really nice plot and it's really entertaining. You really should watch it if you haven't, it's cool, hilarious and smart. Amazing.

Amazing movie. Very recommended movie. Grade: B-.
January 19, 2013
Who doesn't want to learn about the birth of internet porn? The involvement with Russian gangsters seemed a little far fetched and fabricated but the plot was still interesting.
January 9, 2013
It's 1995 where VCR's are still the rage, people still bought their music in record stores & the Internet is still in its infancy. Enter two genius men who find a way to post porn on the World Wide Web & charge everyone for it & Jack Harris who pioneers their enterprise to become a multi million dollar business. Luke Wilson plays the part of Jack Harris, a man with a special talent of being able to sort out problems for anyone & make them a success. As he steers these two men through their successful porn site he soon starts to wrestle with his conscience & morals as he struggles in a sea of adult entertainment, conmen & drugs. He only gets involved to make enough money to set up his family financially but is soon up to his neck in back stabbing, double crosses, a fling with a 23 year old porn star, the Russian mafia & the FBI. But thanks to his talents he ends up having to solve his own problems & the life's of those close to him.
½ December 31, 2012
La verdad supera a la ficcion. "Middle Men" es una estupenda, poderosa y divertida pelicula que nos cuenta la increible historia del origen de la pornografia en internet. Owen Wilson interpreta el mejor papel de su carrera encarnando al negociante Jack Harris, eje central de este cuento de enredos, crimenes, lujuria y traiciones. Imperdible.
December 30, 2012
Alrite film based on a true story
½ December 13, 2012
Vale pelas atuações e pela montagem
½ December 10, 2012
Good film,bit long but tells a great story about amongst other things how easy things are to get into but impossible to get out the same person....
December 7, 2012
The direction and storytelling is a complete rip off of 'Goodfellas' right down to the soundtrack and voice over...Luke Wilson is miscast as a porn businessman and Giovanni Ribisi (sans Saving Private Ryan) plays his usual 'strung out on methamphetamines' character that doesn't really appeal to me.
November 18, 2012
Surprisingly well made and fun. Not a great film by all means but one that I could imagine myself watching a few more times over the next few years.
½ November 13, 2012
I really liked this movie! Great recommendation by Jason
½ October 20, 2012
I always thought Luke Wilson was under-rated and this movie proves that. The movie was well written and entertaining.
October 19, 2012
Even though it gets a bit messy in some scenes, the movie caughts your attention with it's solid cast and intelligent plot
½ October 18, 2012
Very cheap and bad, but at the same time entertaining for how ingenuously bad it is.
Super Reviewer
October 14, 2012
Really interesting story - also I thought Giovanni Ribisi stood out and gave a great performance.
Page 2 of 30