Midsommar Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 1, 2019
Aster is good at creating environments, but he seems more concerned with projecting himself as an intelligent filmmaker with messages full of symbols and intellectuality, than for telling a story that touches the public.
September 30, 2019
The film - unlike Hereditary - leaves no reverberations on the audience, that leaves the theater quite indifferent. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 20, 2019
As if that were not enough, the pain management proposed by the film also leaves the director / screenwriter's point of view unbalanced. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 27, 2019
Where were we going with this thing? I felt trapped, and it was way too long...
August 27, 2019
The performances saved the movie, as did the amazing cinematography...it was pretty good until the third act, when it falls off the rails really fast.
August 9, 2019
Midsommar starts off strong then devolves into a muddled mess. The filmmaker hopes you're too distracted by pretty visuals, solid acting, and violence to notice that this isn't a very good movie overall.
July 30, 2019
Maybe one day Aster will decide to tell us a horror story rather than turning B-series arguments into melodramas. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 29, 2019
Ari Aster is drunk on his own self-importance. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 25, 2019
I want my time back. Do you know what I could've done in two hours and 27 minutes...I left the theater unfulfilled.
July 14, 2019
This film attempts to tackle too many serious topics while giving the audience a memorable horror experience (and I cannot be sure it is even providing good horror)"
July 12, 2019
[This] thriller was one descent into sunshine-filled pagan madness I could have done without.
July 12, 2019
As the film sways drunkenly towards its inevitable conclusion, Aster fails to conjure a sense of dread or even tension - essential qualities of the horror genre.
July 12, 2019
Ultimately...feels too familiar and on the rails which takes away any sort of elements of surprise or real ingenuity. Aster remains an impressive talent...but may be more successful for him to...hand off script duties to someone else
July 12, 2019
Midsommar again makes the case for Aster as a brilliant craftsman, with skill nearly unparalleled in his field, held at arm's length from meaning by his hollowness as a storyteller and maker of meaningful art.
July 11, 2019
Good actors create listless characters as the plot fiddles while the barn burns.
July 11, 2019
The implication that an audience's emotions should be wrenched out rather than coaxed out is as arrogant as 'Midsommar' is self-indulgent.
July 9, 2019
Sadistic and all-too-derivative of Robin Hardy's 'The Wicker Man,' this pastoral/pagan horror film is filled with sinister, nightmarish rituals.
Top Critic
July 9, 2019
Grim, grisly and downright sickening, Midsommar is a feel-bad horror film about suicide, mercy killings, insanity, graphic nudity, religious hysteria, and the kind of grotesque imagery that exists for no other reason than shock value.
July 9, 2019
Don't let the studio-manufactured hype fool you; this is a midsummer's matinee bore.
July 8, 2019
Memorable, certainly. Enjoyable? Hardly.
Page 1 of 3