Mike Bassett: England Manager - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mike Bassett: England Manager Reviews

Page 1 of 10
February 8, 2015
Fantastic football comedy.
½ October 8, 2014
Classic mockumentary. Looks painfully outdated now but still stands up comedy-wise.
½ May 8, 2014
funnier than expected could have been alot better but this mockumentary film about a lower league manager becoming the international english teams manager has a joke at every corner and a semi circle in the middle or something, also the lead is is your man out of the royle family i dont watch the royle family but my family like the royle family and i dont mean the royle family as in the queen and prince harry i mean the tv show the royle family not that my family have anything against the royal family im sure they dont, but they might.
December 7, 2012
Would like to see at some stage.
½ October 2, 2012
This movie is just a must watch for all fotball fans, i laught my socks of :)
½ September 4, 2012
A film of two halves, this starts off quite weak and fizzles out quickly. If you don't turn it off after 20-30mins during England's qualifiers, the pace improves ever so slightly when England reach Brazil. The jokes don't though - for me, it was only the slight nostalgic value of seeing Ronaldo, Pele' and that bloke who used to present the sport on Anglia, that made it halfway bearable. I was going to rate this 4/10, but I'll reluctantly admit to smirking slightly at Atomic Kitten's appearance and just being reminded of the halcyon days of On The Ball with Gabby Logan & Barry Venison is surely worth another half a star. Like an England penalty shootout, 5/10
August 23, 2012
England will play 4-4 f*****g 2!!!
½ June 10, 2012
Hilarious in places just a shame they couldn't get proper licensing from the FA. 7/10
½ May 19, 2012
Painfully true, the England Manager's dilemma. I had a good laugh, I love that his claim to fame was winning at Norwich.
½ May 19, 2012
Couple of funny moments but was expecting more.
½ April 14, 2012
If you're of the age when Venables' reign as England manager hold your fondest memories of the national game and you're looking for some lowest common denominator humour, this is the film for you. It's pretty consistent and there are chuckles throughout, and if you're a fan of Tomlinson then that's probably worth an extra 1/2 star.
½ April 12, 2012
This is not a brilliant film. Mike Basset, England Manager, whilst at times funny, also has itâ(TM)s weak jokes. Unfortunately, the weak jokes outnumber the strong jokes immensely, and make it difficult to enjoy. One good aspect, thankfully, is Ricky Tomlinson, who unsurprisingly is a solid lead who carries the film, playing the buffoon of Mike Basset very well, as well as also hitting the best moment of the film, a poignant reading of âIfâ? by Rudyard Kipling which silences the journalists who doubt him.

Probably the best element of the film is the direction, the use of mockumentary for a football manager is an original idea, possibly inspired by a similar supposed documentary about Graham Taylor in 1994. It is good to see it from the Managerâ(TM)s point of view for once where he is destroyed for every little thing he does, and the movie stands up well even today when looking at how England Managers are treated. The supporting cast arenâ(TM)t particularly memorable, and sometimes are very one-dimensional, but then, so are most footballers, which probably makes the film suit more.

Overall, an okay film, mostly best for the style of direction and the âIfâ? speech.
October 1, 2011
The most impressive thing about Mike Bassett England Manager is that the expectations of the nation are curbed. A lesser film would have pandered more to the stereotypes. At the end of the day (sorry, horrible football cliche there) this does what it says on the tin and it does it fairly well.
July 18, 2011
Worth 5 stars just for the Mexico half time team talk alone
½ July 10, 2011
The mockumentry is clever and the direction great and the film so true to real life.

Pity the potential is lost at points in and get's boring, but it still keeps it going and results in a good film
June 5, 2011
He'd make a good England manager that Ricky Tomlinson. Its a comedy but actually a decent insight into the footballing mentality in theis country that produces the England teams we've been watching for the last 50 years. Like a self parody, not a funny one though.
January 29, 2011
Spoof documentary about life in the England hotseat, doesnt raise too many laughs but just about covers its own arse.
September 9, 2010
Funniest UK Movie ever
August 19, 2010
maybey doesnt deserve the cult following it has but a very solid comedy that will please football loving men of all ages. there are better sports comedys, even ones centricon football, but it still has some really funny comedic moments for any england fan. its a niche market but it delivers to its target market aptly.
Page 1 of 10