Mio Fratello Figlio Unico (My Brother Is an Only Child) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mio Fratello Figlio Unico (My Brother Is an Only Child) Reviews

November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2008
The film, which argues that blood brotherhood is stronger than political brotherhoods, vibrates with their youthful energy and ardor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 6, 2008
The linkage in this movie between politics and family dynamics is a point well taken, but the movie -- whose sense of frenetic activity going nowhere is captured by Luchetti's buoyant camera -- does go on and on before anyone learns anything.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 6, 2008
Sometimes, under a torrent of social pressures, water runs faster, if not thicker, than blood, and even the strongest bonds drown in the flood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 15, 2008
You don't need a degree in political science to love this film...The film entertainingly demonstrates that the bonds of blood are stronger than those of ideology.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 9, 2008
That it clicks is largely due to the daredevil chemistry of the actors playing the brothers, who can be a handful whenever they're together.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
Director Daniele Luchetti's strategy is to personify the long-standing divisions of his homeland in a pair of siblings, but make the characters so vital that we don't feel we're being browbeaten with political allegory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
In a sense, the movie is about Accio's appreciation of the practical limits of ideology and the practical uses of rebellion, and it's a poignant realization.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
The rough-and-tumble tone is bitterly entertaining but in the end doesn't contribute to a convincing historical portrait, and a pileup of half-baked resolutions spoils the buzz.
April 16, 2008
One hardly needs to have grown up Italian in the '60s to feel a pang of nostalgia watching My Brother Is an Only Child, Daniele Luchetti's tale of small-town brothers.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 10, 2008
Although the movie never quite dispels the sense of being dated (it could have been made anytime in the past 40 years), it's a memorable, often moving timepiece.
April 10, 2008
The fey illogic in the title of My Brother is an Only Child hints at the style of this funny-sad film, which flips from dark to light moods and back with suave, unpredictable dexterity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
April 6, 2008
manages to evoke, but never trivialise, the mad, internecine conflicts of recent Italian political history
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
April 4, 2008
If some of this sounds like stereotypical Italian behavior, and if in fact My Brother Is an Only Child has a weakness for abrupt and melodramatic plot devices, it has other virtues that make it truly satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 28, 2008
My Brother Is an Only Child is a politically charged family drama set in Italy in the 1960s and 1970s -- think The Best of Youth (director Daniele Luchetti collaborated with that epic film's writers) at a more butt-friendly running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 28, 2008
My Brother Is an Only Child is a lively minor addendum to the grand tradition of Italian fraternal cinema.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 27, 2008
Despite its charged historical backdrop, [director] Luchetti keeps My Brother light and snappy without sacrificing narrative tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
March 26, 2008
It is almost a relief to find some ideological clarity in a film that unfortunately ends in complete political disillusionment on all sides.
March 25, 2008
[Actor] Elio Germano vitalizes the film: He's hyper-reactive, flickering between brash, bashful, playful, and awkward -- offering a Swiss Army knife performance that's diverse and yet totally unified.
March 24, 2008
What makes My Brother Is an Only Child so alive and entertaining is how it dramatizes the endless tug-of-war between political conviction and personal experience -- the way the lines twist and blur and finally implode.
May 23, 2007
A fine and engaging study of two personalities, seemingly in sharp contrast, that prove awfully alike in the end.
May 12, 2007
Helmer Daniele Luchetti keeps the mood light and winning.