The Miracle of Morgan's Creek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Miracle of Morgan's Creek Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 16, 2016
"The Miracle of Morgan Creek" es una escandalosa y disparatada comedia de enredos que es casi imposible de creer que haya logrado ser exhibida en su época. Betty Hutton interpreta a una joven que se aprovecha de su retraído e ingenuo pretendiente (Eddie Bracken), para salir a bailar con varios soldados. La joven en cuestión termina embarazada y sin saber quién es el padre, por lo que busca enredar a su pretendiente para que asuma la paternidad del futuro retoñito. El director Preston Sturges logra, gracias a su talento, una divertida cinta con magníficas actuaciones.
Super Reviewer
½ May 15, 2016
Been waiting to see this for awhile, simply for it's rep. Imagine my surprise when I finally gleaned the subject matter. Betty Hutton is bored to tears by local swain, Eddie Bracken, but excited with the possibility of partying with soldiers who're spending their last night before going to war. And so she uses Bracken to get around her protective dad (William Demerest, who practically steals the show) dumps Bracken at a movie theater triple feature, and then proceeds to party it up with an entire regiment. I fully blame Sturges for this ... sad, sad, morally repellent, degenerative filth.
October 18, 2015
one of sturges' best screwball comedies very very funny
September 13, 2015
Trudy Kockenlocker is a wild girl who ditches her homely male friend in order to give a solid goodbye to the American GI's at a dance. When she wakes up the next day, she's got a ring in her finger, a bun in the oven, but she doesn't know who the groom is! This was The Hangover before The Hangover, and the results are somewhat hilarious. The characterization it top notch, from the strict policeman father and the sassy sister confidant. It has so many themes of premarital sex, troops going overseas, and its all a wacky and satirical film. The plot is definitely not predictable, that's for sure.
½ November 18, 2014
It might not be Sturge's most meaningful film, but it's probably his funniest.
July 29, 2014
What the miracle actually is, I'll leave to you to find out. It's revealed quite late in the piece and it's a testament to Preston Sturges' clever screenwriting that you can't guess despite the clues. The screenplay is as madcap as the one he wrote for The Palm Beach Story and Sturges again proves himself as willing as any good satirist to traipse on moral norms, tweaking the Hays Office and/or the audience (who apparently loved it). When saying goodbye to "our boys" headed overseas for WWII, Trudy (Betty Hutton) accidentally gets herself married and in a family way. The trouble is that she doesn't remember the night or the husband and apparently used a fake name on the certificate. In steps humble Norval (Eddie Bracken), excused from service for high blood pressure (or is that nervousness?), to save Trudy's reputation. William Demarest is a riot as Trudy's exploding constable father and Diana Lynn is wicked as her sane sister. The film is so funny, Sturges brought Bracken and Demarest (a regular) back for another take in Hail the Conquering Hero.
November 10, 2013
More marvellous mayhem from Preston Sturges!
October 31, 2013
This highly satirical screwball comedy will make you laugh at things you wouldn't think were funny.
September 10, 2013
This is the original "the hangover" in many ways. This really shows how much morays have changed more then any old movie i have watched. Some funny lines epically a great scene with the doctor. This movie is all about the build up and it does a good job of paying off in the end. The one criticism i have is the old time slapstick is not funny and never was.
August 3, 2012
Great film that depicts how World War II society was in the Midwest. At times I was wondering if I was watching a documentary, a satire, or a straight comedy. Melodramatic but it had some great comedic moments. This film was well ahead of its time. I mean, a film about premarital sex and having children out of wedlock? Nowadays stuff like that barely gets a reaction from mainstream society. Back in the 1940s, it had to be a death sentence of sorts in society's eyes. Only Preston Sturges could bring levity to such taboo subjects. Eddie Bracken was excellent as the hapless Norval Jones and Betty Hutton was perfect as Trudy. This is by far one of the funniest films I have ever seen and it has stood the test of time, still relevant in the 21st century. Preston Sturges's script and directing was witty and comical, pure genius.
April 5, 2012
Hilarious, a riot and crazy. Eddie Bracken plays a young 4F who cannot get in the war due to a minor ailment. Betty Hutton plays a young girl who wants to go to the local dance they are giving to the troops leaving for WW2 and uses Bracken as a decoy to say they were at the movies all night long. Well he was, she wasn't, and from then on, it gets screwy; She comes back to meet Bracken, but don't remmber much of nothing. Then, she realizes a ring she has on her hand and can't recall where it comes from. OK, that is a bit off, but check out a month or so later, when she discovers that she is also pregnant and she don't know who the father IS. and that is when the true fun begins. Bracken being the big ol' sap he was for Hutton volunteers to help her out by making a honest woman out of her and marry her, though to be honest, shes already married, but things get even more crazy when they do it under false pretenses, and the state and local governments put in their two cents too.
March 23, 2012
Really funny 1940's comedy. Though I must say I like the remake Rock-a-bye Baby with Jerry Lewis much better.
August 18, 2011
"The Miracle of Morgan's Creek" is definitely one of the best comedies ever made. Seriously. By the time this movie was made, Preston Sturges was the most popular director in Hollywood. Every film he made was a hit, and are still hits today. His genre was comedy, but he uses something different than most directors in the day did. He had smart comedy, and instead of having stupid jokes, they all have hidden meaning or some snap or crackle, and "Miracle" is great example. It was a very "racy" story in the '40's-- a girl (Hutton) goes to a party, gets drunk, and gets married to and gets pregnant with a soldier. But of course, the Hays Code was so possessive that Sturges had to re-write it. The girl couldn't get drunk so she gets her head bumped. He just wanted her to have a one-night stand, but the producers said she would have to get married to do so. Even with this changes, you can't even tell the difference. Sturges' goal was to make the people in charge of the Code look like absolute idiots, and yes he does! So many lines have to do with the "forbidden" topics, but don't say any words like sex or pregnant, and instead use some good fillers that make the movie like a puzzle. With the stars Eddie Bracken and Betty Hutton, this movie definitely was better. They are both excellent comedians and play off each other each line of the way. They are definitely the perfect picks for this movie, and they do awesome jobs. "The Miracle of Morgan's Creek" is a groundbreaking comedy. Highly recommended.
½ July 19, 2011
The joke's on the Hays code, but that's not enough to make this movie as funny as the rest of the Sturges stuff I've seen. The leads aren't nearly as entertaining as in the other films either, but Diana Lynn is quite good as the main character's kid sister.
June 26, 2011
Really funny 1940's comedy. Though I must say I like the remake Rock-a-bye Baby with Jerry Lewis much better.
February 8, 2011
What a corn ball feast! The goofiest, silliest film I've seen yet!
½ January 24, 2011
In some ways, The Miracle of Morganâ(TM)s Creek was written by the Hays Code. Preston Sturges built the convoluted plot around the Codeâ(TM)s strictures, and the Code is the butt of most of the jokes.
½ January 16, 2011
What a trip to see Bobby Hutton all young and weird. Funny stuff. Be sure to watch "The Great McGinty" first.
January 10, 2011
Great slap stick comedy satire.
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2010
Wow, this is a crazy, hilarious, remarkable movie, really worth watching. I highly recommend checking it out.
Page 1 of 8