Mister Johnson - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mister Johnson Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 3, 2015
Eziashi delivers an exquisite performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2014
To both the humane Rudbeck, intelligently played by Pierce Brosnan, and the abusive drunkard Gollup, Johnson is a cipher.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 7, 2011
Beresford, adapting Joyce Cary's 1939 novel, looks at the psychological relationships inherent in colonialism with some subtlety.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 28, 2008
Beresford and writer William Boyd have delivered a film strangely devoid of emotion and lacking a clear point of view.
August 30, 2004
The film works well as far as it goes, but some of the story's emotional power is denatured or lost.
August 24, 2003
This just doesn't really work, but then, neither did the novel.
| Original Score: 3/5
July 12, 2003
A richly nuanced and well-acted screen version of Joyce Cary's 1839 novel.
May 24, 2003
Issues of race and racism here are as vague as they were in Driving Miss Daisy, and you are left with the impression Beresford is happy to dodge the issues he dabbles with.
January 1, 2000
I have seen "Mister Johnson" two times, and both times I admired its sense of time and place, and the thoughtful performances of Eziashi, Brosnan and Woodward.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Although this colonial satire has intelligent aims, it's always a degree or two off the mark.
January 1, 2000
No great friend of colonialism, Beresford makes his point without losing sight of either history or its mostly unsung heroes.
January 1, 2000
We care about Mister Johnson even while he's annoying. And we hope for him to acknowledge his weaknesses, even while we anticipate his downfall.
January 1, 2000
A standout performance by Maynard Eziashi in the title role
Full Review
July 7, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 1