Moana Reviews

May 7, 2020
The worst thing about it is that it's too long.
May 7, 2020
This movie needed a little bit more Blue Crush.
November 11, 2018
Moana's heart is clearly in the right place, but it doesn't appear to have anything to offer beneath the surface - and certainly nothing to keep older viewers as entertained as younger ones on repeat viewings.
February 22, 2018
It's good that Disney is branching out beyond the Western European princess model. But the story around those characters can't be just a generic amalgamation of native lore with a couple of catchy tunes.
December 22, 2016
...one of Disney's least entertaining efforts in years...
December 13, 2016
It could be a great work similar to Kubo and the two strings, but it lacks true innovation preventing it to transcend. [Full review in Spanish]
December 8, 2016
A film that is far from being a disaster but at this point in the game, one expects something more from the Disney. And this time it didn't manage to meet expectations. [Full review in Spanish]
December 5, 2016
Though Moana delivers plucky entertainment and some colorful characters, it plays the narrative too safely by relying on commonplace machinations.
December 5, 2016
A film that reformulated the classic mythology of Disney princesses in stories of emancipation and female self-assertion. [Full review in Spanish]
December 1, 2016
This is Disney's way of having its formulaic cake and eating it, too: "We know what we're doing here, and we know that you know it, too. So please stop fretting and enjoy while the pieces fall into place."
December 1, 2016
No matter who wrote the songs, there was always going to be a line about listening to your 'inner voice' - it's pretty much Disney company policy.
November 23, 2016
As an animated film, Moana isn't close to ranking among Disney's best. But as a tropical postcard on the big screen, the animation couldn't be more spectacular and inviting.
November 23, 2016
It would be going too far to say that Moana combines everything I enjoy about contemporary Disney with everything I dislike, but it's got quite a bit of both.
November 22, 2016
Moana looks lovely, and it gives us a princess we really haven't seen before. Those elements are surrounded, though, by too much that's all-too-familiar.