Mogari no Mori (The Mourning Forest) (The Forest of Mogari) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mogari no Mori (The Mourning Forest) (The Forest of Mogari) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
½ January 6, 2017
Kawase is trying to make a sensorial film in which little is said and we are supposed to feel in our hearts the pain that troubles the characters, but she ends up creating something terribly dull and empty that wants to look a lot more profound than it is.
November 17, 2016
Actually I watch a lot of "boring" movies and usually I like it but this one ... no idea how anyone can recommend it as there is hardly anything there, just two people aimlessly wandering in a forest.

Okay you could say there is something hidden deep in the movie but I guess the average joe wouldn't see that hidden whatever XD

If it would have at least had some kind of story but for me it was just nothing.
½ February 14, 2015
?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????NHK????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2012
The catharsis is executed right in the ending. Kawase uses in a most intelligent way mental limitations/disorders as a psychological distractor, but the troubles that invade the human heart are universal. Beneath the surface, both characters suffer very similarly. Absorbing cinematography and among the five best movies of 2007.

97/100
May 31, 2011
"La Forêt de Mogari" (2007) de Naomi Kawase (Japon) revu sur Arte en VO sous-titrà (C)e dans la nuit du lundi 30 au mardi 31 mai 2011 de 3h20 à 5h du matin !
April 20, 2011
Grand Prix at Cannes 2007. Plenty of scenes of large open spaces and fields that look like squeezed cream on cakes. Beautiful cinematography of forests and fields but it was a tad too draggy. An alternative take on grief and loss.
½ March 29, 2011
à¹à¸"ิà¸(TM)à¸>à¹à¸²à¸?ัà¸(TM)à¹à¸-อะ
January 17, 2011
Shigeki vive feliz num pequeno asilo nas montanhas. Machiko, uma das funcionárias do local, cuida especialmente dele. Ela, por sua vez, carrega, em segredo, a angústia da perda de um filho. No aniversário de Shigeki, Machiko decide levá-lo para um passeio. Quando o carro em que viajam fica preso num atoleiro, Shigeki se mete no meio da floresta e Machiko é obrigada a segui-lo. Depois de dois dias através da mata, eles finalmente chegam ao túmulo da mulher de Shigeki. Há 33 anos, ele vinha escrevendo cartas para ela e agora chegou a vez de redigir a última.
July 6, 2010
Preciosa. Me dio la lloradera
June 8, 2010
Very beautiful movie about mourning and intergenerational understanding.
February 4, 2010
deep love for those forests <3
½ January 10, 2010
�trange ... le vrai sens du film qui tient dans son titre n'est expliqué qu' à la fin et donc, durant le film tout n'est pas toujours très clair.
Au final, nous avons à faire à une d'allégorie du deuil assez touchante.
January 3, 2010
Beautiful with very touching moments, but way too long and focuses too less on the characters to live up to the expectations.
½ December 6, 2009
Es injusto puntuarla sin verla pero es que me quedé Zzzzz... lo siento Naomi Kawase :P
September 6, 2009
A different slice of life in Japan, with a good view of a inwardly-focussed approach to mourning. While there were some beautiful forest shots, I was kind of hoping for more...
August 31, 2009
herkes izlemeli, izlettirmeli
July 13, 2009
Puede que parezca densa y tediosa, pero la verdad, esta pelicula es maravillosa. Tiene una belleza unica, un argumento que enternece e invita a preguntarse ¿que es estar vivo?. El Bosque del Luto es un viaje a traves de un hombre que pasa sus ultimos dias en un asilo para ancianos. Alli comparte varias actividades en compañia de un grupo de trabajadoras sociales. Un dia, luego de un incidente a mitad de un camino cualquiera entre los bosques, Shigeki arranca un periplo con rumbo, al parecer, hacia ninguna parte. Machiko, la enefermera que lo acompaña (por accidente) en su rutina, es testigo de como Shigeki va dejando atras el luto que guardaba por su esposa durante 33 anhos. Asistir a esta pelicula es como estar metido dentro de un haiku.
½ June 28, 2009
Slow but nice movie set in Japan's countryside. Beautifully shot.
½ May 28, 2009
Extremely slow, eerie and contemplative, this film beats every other film for its slowness and its pseudo spiritual crap!
½ March 2, 2009
too meditative and anti-climax for me
Page 1 of 5