Molly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Molly Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 25, 2016
Although not based on a true story, but it plays as if it were. The performances are sincere and you feel their joys, fears and disappointment with every turn.
May 21, 2016
I believe this is a female version of Flowers for Algernon. A fantastically sweet film. Wonderfully acted.
January 17, 2016
Even though this film just SCREAMS Oscar Bait.. Elizabeth Shue is certainly no Cliff Robertson (who played a similar character in Charly) and hell not even a Matthew Modine (who played a similar character in a later film) AND this film has the always execrable Aaron Eckhart, there is a certain fascination about this film for just that. Lots of Scenery Chewing, Important Statements to be made and hooty dialogue just made this one a passable time waster.
July 31, 2015
No stars. Absolutely disgusting. That's all I have to say about this movie. For a better portrayal of autism and the effects it has on the sufferer and those around them, see "The Boy Who Could Fly" or "Temple Grandin." Hell, watch anything else, as long as it's not this piece of sh!t.
½ June 16, 2015
I liked the movie, I have never heard of it and yes similar to "Flowers for Algernon" but it is a good movie on its own. It is not a bloody movie or it has not fast cars but a few tears pleasant entertainment.
August 9, 2014
Review:
I honestly think that Elizabeth Shue was a bad choice for the lead in this movie because she didn't really play her role that convincingly. I think that I saw this movie when it first came out and I wasn't that impressed then. The storyline wasn't that bad and I liked the chemistry between Shue and Thomas Jane, who plays her boyfriend, but she just seemed a bit too normal compared to Hoffman in Rainman. There are a couple of emotional scenes which were well written, but it seemed pretty dated and boring in parts. I know that the movie is quite old and that it didn't really blow up at the box office when it first came out, but a I thought that I would give this movie a go because I'm a fan of Aaron Eckhart. Basically, it could have been much better, but it's a sweet little film that has it's emotional moments. Average!

Round-Up:
As Downey Junior says in Tropic Thunder, "You Never Go Full Retard". This type of role really needs a professional actor to pull it off and Elizabeth Shue wasn't the one. After sending her in Leaving Las Vegas and The Saint, which was an awful movie, she wouldn't have been my first choice to play a mentally disturbed character. I did like Aaron Eckhart who put in a great performance alongside Thomas Jane,  but I did get bored after a while and I lost interest. 

Budget: $21million
Worldwide Gross: N/A

I recommend this movie to people who are into there emotional dramas about a brother who takes in his mentally disturbed sister who finds it difficult to fit into day to day life. 4/10
August 2, 2014
(First and only viewing - 6/6/2011)
October 15, 2012
A sweet and touching movie about a woman with autism and her selfish brother and an experimental surgery that is designed as a "cure". Great performances and good plot make a great viewing that is well worth a look.
October 2, 2012
Shue was just not believable in her role. Try "Awakenings" for a much better portrayal of a similar story.
½ September 7, 2012
Ever since she was little Molly has been autistic. She turns 28 and now is released into her brothers care. His life is falling apart as it is and is having a hard time handling Molly. He takes a chance and has a risky surgery done on her brain so that she can be normal. She starts learning about things and is very smart but things start going downhill. Aaron eckhart and Elizabeth shue give memorable performances in this touching and often funny story about life and love.
July 12, 2011
me gustaria saber donde puedo ver esta pelicula on line
½ March 9, 2011
This was a good movie..i was very surprised.
February 3, 2011
Wow! Critics really got this one wrong! Beautiful movie! Great job Elisabeth Shue!
November 11, 2010
A decent movie thats sheds some insight on Autism and the relationships it affects
September 28, 2010
The line that grabbed me most went something like this, "There is a real person inside."

I thought that a doctor character, in the beginning of the film, said that Molly has an autism-like disorder that they haven't quite diagnosed. I'll go back and watch the film again to be sure and if I'm wrong I'll edit this comment.

My point is that Autism Spectrum Disorder can manifest a range of symptoms and behaviors. Shue's portrayal is almost exactly like a child I see every day where I volunteer a classroom for mentally challenged children. I don't know this child's diagnosis, but the observable behavior is quite similar. Also, the way Shue transformed her character into a higher functioning person was very well done. For those who say that Shue did a poor job of acting autistic, I challenge them to explain exactly what that means.

This movie touched my heart. I see my own sons in the characters portrayed by Echhart and Shue. I hope that they will have as warm a relationship as the one portrayed in "Molly."
September 2, 2010
pada bagian awal, film ini langsung mengingatkan saya dengan film yang bertema hampir sama produksi tahun '88 karya sutradara barry levinson yang kala itu mendapat predikat film terbaik versi oscar, "Rain man"... tema autistik yg di latari dengan kisah drama dua saudara yg berawal dari kosong berujung cinta... akan tetapi film ini tidak saja fokus pada kisah hubungan si autis dan saudaranya, melainkan ada beberapa interaksi tokoh center dengan para karakter pembantu yg memberi perbedaan segi cerita film ini dengan film "rain man" yg notabene hanya mengekspose kisah perjalanan seorang pemuda dengan saudaranya yg autis..,, akan tetapi pada film ini mempunyai sedikit perubahan ritme tone ketika perpindahan interaksi karakter satu dengan yg lainnya yg mengakibatkan ada perasaan risih ketika haL itu terjadi,,, hanya saja film ini lebih di kemas ringan dan mudah untuk di cerna oleh semua kalangan di bandingkan film 'rain man" yg mungkin bisa di bilang pengemasan ceritanya sedikit lebih berat dari film ini,,,
½ June 10, 2010
Watch if you want a good cry.
June 7, 2010
I like it. I bought the DVD before I had a player.
May 8, 2010
Although the film has a well written plot, the actors needed to carry over more emotion.
Page 1 of 4