Mommy Is at the Hairdresser's (Maman est Chez le Coiffeur) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mommy Is at the Hairdresser's (Maman est Chez le Coiffeur) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 16, 2014
Sweet story of a carefree summer that was not so carefree after all. Made me wish it was childhood summer all over again. Nothing else to do but be yet so much to do..... And geesh that Canadian french hurts the ears!
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2013
A good film by Lea Pool that explores a family that has had mom leave for supposedly brighter prospects in the midst of the 1960s. An unusual circumstance for the ages leads to unusual behaviour by the kids.
May 22, 2012
Honest and amiable, an almost disturbingly nice look at a dysfunctional society.
½ April 8, 2012
I was so surprised by Marianne Fortier's acting (who played in the horrible Aurore), she was such a natural in this movie! The story was great and original (yet similar to most of the stories from LÃ (C)a Pool's family), and it was very enjoyable.
February 27, 2011
One may find the initial shock of the mother literally dumping away her maternal responsibilities and abandoning her kids, over some blatantly common relationshp conflict, knowing oh so well how much they need her, a disgusting representation to mothers really.

However the film turns out to be pretty clever and magnificent in bringing out the way these children and their townfolk neighbourhood peers handle their own ups and downs of life in a realistic but still a rather positive manner. I cant help but admire their determination to stay as who they are and remain supportive of their own families whilst (most of) the adults on the other hand are portrayed as chaotic and miserable as they lost control of their own family lives.

Not to mention the ending which is itself smart and a sharp pinpoint to the flow of the whole fiasco because, sometimes things takes a really really long time before they arrive at happy endings. This movie stands out to me because it is unlike many others which force their way, skipping many timelines and disrupting the flow just to arrive to a satisfactory ending.
December 27, 2010
J'ai bien aimà (C) ce film intimiste...Marianne Fortin est très bonne là-dedans dans le rôle d'une adolescente qui voit ce qu'est la vraie vie lorsque sa mère quitte la famille.
½ November 15, 2010
A family crisis film. It's summer of 1966 in a Québec town, Élise 15 years old suspects her father having an affair with his golfing partner. When she saw her father talking discreetly on the phone, Élise ran to her mother in the kitchen handing the phone receiver for her mother to listen the conversation. Her mother learns he was having an affair with another man and decides to leave the family and moving to London, England. The father is left alone with her daughter Élise and her two younger brothers which their life are disrupted.
August 12, 2010
Aunque el tema de la pérdida de la inocencia está bastante visto, está bastante bien.
August 4, 2010
no me imagine que tan buena podria ser esta pelicula, juzgandola por la portada(titulo y poster)..... muy buenas imagenes, buena banda sonora...y trama muy conmovedora...
April 23, 2010
Bittersweet and nostalgic. Emotional but not sentimental. A look back at childhood which is beyond fun and games, but a time full of discovery and emotional warfare. The children as actors prove yet again that they can perform way beyond our adult expectations. Simply, a wonderful Canadian film. Congrats to Ms. Pool!
November 16, 2009
I thought this movie was okay, although I wasn't completely crazy for it. Interesting storyline, but felt a bit slow at times for me and not sure it really went anywhere by the end. The movie does a great job in capturing the look and feel of a suburban family from the 60's though, and explores some interesting ideas of the "non-typical" family life, I just wish it would have explored some of the issues in greater detail.
November 7, 2009
There have been a number of jewels out of Quebec recently (I think of C.R.A.Z.Y. and I Killed My Mother), but none as heartbreaking as this 70s suburbian summer holiday story. What commonday horrors witnessed by the children of the block from behind closet doors is matched with an equally moving score, nominated for a Genie.
July 24, 2009
This movie is gaining a new lease on life due to the Youtube popularity of Élie Dupuis, a boy prodigy who starred in it as Conrad (Coco) Gauvin. Élie, now 14, is a magnificent pianist and singer who also puts in a good acting turn here as the boy who escapes family conflict by retreating to the garage and turning a dead lawn mower into a fabulous go-kart. His two musical contributions to the soundtrack are truncated but appear in full in his youtubes: surprisingly, he turns Sunny Bono's "Bang Bang" into a stunning same-sex torch song -- the first time I know of that any 13 year old has ever given voice to those feelings.

The movie is one of two recent Québec films that deal with families splitting up because a loutish, over-busy professional husband has finally driven his trapped wife to fulfilling her career ambitions elsewhere. In C'est Pas Moi, Je le Jure, little Léon, the most affected son, turns to vandalism and romance. Here in Maman est Chez le Coiffeur, in its deliberately gorgeous setting of rural Québec, only the youngest son Benoit becomes distraught and destructive. The middle child Coco gets creative, and big sister Élise befriends an isolated, scary looking deaf man, M. Mouche (Mr. Fly), who turns out to have a heart of gold, as well as a spectacular talent for tying fly-fishing flies. The dramatic threads at the end of the movie remain unresolved -- the cinema-verité quality of the film is as persistent as a meditator's mantra -- but you may find you've developed an urge to go to back-country Québec and do some fly fishing, or hang out by a river enjoying the miraculous scenery.
½ July 4, 2009
Un film drôle oui, mais pas que... Plein de petits messages et autant d'émotions. Côté interprétation les gosses sont géniaux.
½ May 25, 2009
Un bon film quebecois qui trait "enfin" d'autre chose que les periples de la terre! (Du genre Le survenant, Un homme et son peche, etc) Une histoire qui ne peux pas vous laisser indiferent - la mere qui decide de partir, de laisser ses enfants car elle n'est pas heureuse en menage. Poser, calme et sensible, la vision d'une jeune fille triste.
Voyez aussi "Ce n'est pas moi j'le jure" - le versant masculin de la meme histoire, vecu par les membres d'une meme famille.
April 24, 2009
Wow, j'ai vraiment aimé, malgré que je l'ai trouver un peu court et que je n'ai pas aimé la fin du film. Mais s'était très bon!
½ April 18, 2009
Malgré des interprétations un peu plaqué à cause des textes qui manquent de naturel malgré leur poésie, le film hante par son récit et l'absence de Céline Bonnier qui se fera cruellement sentir. Touchant à bien des moments.
April 12, 2009
Lea Pool a reussi selon moi son meilleur film. Je nai jamais aime ses realisations a vrai dire "le papillon bleu" ou "Emporte moi" manquaient criamant de verite. Seulement Lost and delirious qui revela Mischa Barton jusqua maintenant meritait qu'on parle d'elle. Pour celui-ci elle engage des acteurs a la hauteur qui donne une couleur, une vie aux annees 60. On passe par toutes les games d'emotions. Et qui dit plusieurs gamme d'emotions dit versatilite et c'est exactement ce que Marianne Fortier qui avait soutenu tout le long le navet de Luc Dionne Aurore, seul bonne interprete du film nous donne, mais cette fois-ci avec plusieurs jeunes bons acteurs. Une direction photo superbe qui rend grace a la montagne St-Hilaire, un coin magnifique pres de chez-moi. Certe l'histoire est classique, mais tout a deja ete fait au cinema et ce qui compte cest la precision du jeu et du scenario qui rend grace a cette epoque. Un petit bijou a voir.

Yves
March 28, 2009
Touchant! Léa Pool ne déçoit jamais!
March 21, 2009
Touching family drama illuminated in many ways but most meaningfully for me through the eyes of the youngest brother, confused at why Maman has left without saying goodbye. Papa's gay love affair is only there for narrative purposes, but doesn't Elise realize what's going on when she listens in on his phone conversation with his lover? She knowingly signals this to her mother, but later seems to be just as perplexed as her little brother as to why the family has fallen apart. The father (to echo another reviewer, bizarrely metropolitan French, not Quebecois) can't handle the child-rearing, a stereotype perhaps, because the filmmaker doesn't make much of an effort for this character to grow. The journey of the children is what is really interesting here, particularly Elise who finds a new mother and father in the deaf-mute Mr. Fly who "lives in a van down by the river" (sorry, couldn't resist). Though we see nothing of the mother once she leaves, which is fine because the whole scene develops around the home, the mother's screen presence is amazing. This would make a great stage play.
Page 1 of 3