Mondo Cannibale (Barbarian Goddess) (El Caníbal) (The Cannibals) (White Cannibal Queen) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mondo Cannibale (Barbarian Goddess) (El Caníbal) (The Cannibals) (White Cannibal Queen) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ October 12, 2014
Cannibals with sideburns wearing sneakers! Enough Said!
Super Reviewer
½ April 14, 2011
I found the film Cannibals directed by Jess Franco to not be as good as any of the other films he has made. The film is about a Doctor, his wife Elizabeth and their teenage daughter Lana. they go to an isolated hospital in the Brazilean jungle, which is close to the Amazon river. whilst they are there they are attacked by savage cannibals they kill and eat his wife, and they abduct the girl. Dr Taylor manages to get back out of the jungle but he needs psychiatric help no one will believe him about his story of seeing cannibals he manages to find a doctor called Doctor Ana she is the only on who believes his story about the cannibals, so takes the risk of going with him into the jungle. also a few others come along as well The cannibals start to kill a few of the members in attacks. this was quite a poor film to watch .
½ February 7, 2011
Jesus Franco's take on this epic genre and my favourite but I must see he didn't put any effort into it. He himself admits that he hates the genre so much but like all Italians he only did it for the money. And he also made in the process Devil Hunter with the demon like cannibal but like a lot my favourite of this genre was Cannibal Ferox or Eaten Alive. Jesus Franco's women in prison films are a major turn on with under 16s girls having sex with each other and be beaten by ever cunt that walks past of course. I am talking about Cell Block 16 of course.

Doctor Taylor, his wife Elizabeth and their teenage daughter Lana go to an isolated hospital in the Brazilian jungle, close to the Amazon River, they are attacked by savages and he sees them kill and eat his wife, and abduct the girl. Taylor manages to get back to civilization, but he needs psychiatric help; only Doctor Ana believes his story about cannibals, and takes the risk of going with him and a few rich people who can pay for a safari in the remote jungle. The cannibals decimate a number of the safari members in a succession of attacks, and only Taylor, the sexy lady doctor, and a photograph, rich the cannibal tribe - only to discover that she is now the wife of the tribe leader, and considered a goddess.

So were to start? First of all a lot of these cannibal flicks should surely start off or in major cities so we can see the link between our societies and there's. You know tall buildings and then the jungle like in Cannibal holocaust or any others, it just dulled down the film no seeing anything of ours. So in any case the story is bad and the worst for any cannibal film. The acting is terrible Al Clive the greatest actor on earth puts on a good performance besides the horrid dubbing and sounds so really all stale as hell.
Jesus Franco has no direction because he doesn't know what he is doing with the awful camera work and shots of the jungle, but some entertaining flesh eating scenes and violence despite the bad special effects that look very rubber like. Blue Underground should be ashamed. I guess I liked the ending and some of the soundtrack.
Here are some facts I found

The film was shot shortly after Terreur cannibale (1981), and used many of the same sets.

The version titled "Mondo Cannibale 3" was signed by Jesus Franco as Clifford Brown, supposedly an homage to the real Clifford Brown, a jazz trumpeter.

In a DVD interview for Sexo Canibal, Jess Franco says that he hated the cannibal genre, and after his two cannibal films, he would never shoot another, as it was just a popular phase of cinema with the directors Umberto Lenzi and Ruggero Deodato.

Overall not the worst cannibal film but still very bad and my final verdict is see his erotic girls prison movies or Devil Hunter.
½ December 14, 2010
a lame brained 80's schlock fest without an ounce of merrit AVOID! at all costs. gore fans beware.
½ September 17, 2010
[size=4]Anyone out there thinking of an alternative to Turkey for their Thanksgiving feast? Here's a pair of films that take that idea to a bit of an extreme.[/size]

[font=Times][size=4][color=#000000]1980 Spain/France/W. Germany Director: Jess Franco[/color][/size][/font]
[size=4] [/size]
[font=Times][size=4][color=#000000]Score: 3[/color][/size][/font]
[size=4] [/size]
[color=#000000][font=Times][size=4]This movie has the usual massive amounts of gore, nudity, and the senseless plot that most cannibal movies contain. Fortunately this one ignored the ?tradition? of the sub-genre of having a penis cut off. I do thank the film maker for that small gift. A better gift would have been to have cannibals that act in a consistent manner and that didn?t have trendy 80s hair cuts. By consistency I mean, one minute they are cursing ?the white invaders? and anyone with white skin, the next scene they are worshipping the ?white goddess.? One scene has them literally eating a victim alive on the spot, the next they are capturing victims instead. Their behavior was obviously dictated by the needs of the poorly written script rather than by any realistic logic. The gore effects are pretty average for their time. The music score is awful. The acting is unintentionally comical in many spots and just plane terrible in others. I?d pass on this one if I were you.[/size][/font][/color]



[font=Times New Roman][size=4][color=#000000]Notes: XV-GN Suggested Age: Adults Only[/color][/size][/font]
[size=4][/size]
[size=4][/size]
[font=Times New Roman][font=Times][size=4][color=#000000]2007 US Director: Jonathan Hensleigh[/color][/size][/font]
[size=4] [/size]
[font=Times][size=4][color=#000000]Score: 4[/color][/size][/font]
[size=4] [/size]
[color=#000000][font=Times][size=4]It seems that the film maker was either hoping to catch the same lucky vibe that [i]The Blair Witch[/i] received or perhaps he was hoping people had forgotten that film and would consider this one original. It really doesn?t matter; the movie fails on both counts anyway. It bears more resemblance to the movie [i]Cannibal Holocaust[/i] in that it mostly watched through the recovered video footage. The actors who are tasked with trying to look like they are not acting don?t do so poorly at it. They are not amazing or anything close to that level as far as acting goes, but they are okay. The SFX are also done well enough, though not of any great level beyond average.[/size][/font][/color]
[size=4] [/size]
[color=#000000][font=Times][size=4]The story itself is pretty badly conceived and put on film in the same way. We have four young people who by all accounts appear to be nothing more than useless lay abouts who are living in Fiji on ?family money? who suddenly get the urge to investigate rumors that Michael Rockefeller (heir to the Rockefeller family fortune who disappeared in 1961 in New Guinea) has been spotted living in the jungle among a remote and primitive tribe. There is no real reason at all why these ?surfer brats? would really give a crap about that, not to mention spend the time, effort, and money on an excursion to investigate it, but that is what we are supposed to believe.[/size][/font][/color]
[size=4] [/size]
[color=#000000][font=Times][size=4]If that very shaky premise isn?t bad enough, we are then subjected to the fact that the rest of the movie is scene after scene of the two couples bickering with each other. One couple are booze hound losers who further drive home the fact that the whole trip is pretty unbelievable in that it is unlikely at least half the group would have even bothered to go. The ?cannibals? only show up in the last 20 minutes or so of the film and their arrival and actions don?t do much at all to pull this film out of the tail spin it is in by that time.[/size][/font][/color]
[size=4] [/size]
[size=4][/size]
[size=4] [/size]
[font=Times New Roman][size=4][color=#000000]Notes: XV-XL-BN-SA Suggested Age: 16+[/color][/size][/font][/font]
½ September 17, 2010
Not one of the best cannibal films by any means (that distinciton belongs to Deodata's Cannibal Holocaust and Umberto Lenzi's Cannibal Ferox or Make Them Die Slowly), Jesus Franco's entry in the cannibal canon does prove original, entertaining, and somewhat disturbing. The disturbing scenes are far fewer than in the aforementioned films, but the flesh eating scenes are filmed with both an eye to artfulness and brutality. They go on forever in a slo-mo revery that seems to evoke cannibalism as not just a violent act but also an erotic one--the groans of the cannibals in time with the screams of their victimes push into an almost sexual realm. One of Franco's more coherent and well-plotted films, Cannibals is an interesting entry in the pantheon of cannibal films. If you're a fan of the animal horror scenes in other cannibal films, then you may be disappointed, but I for one was not saddened by the lack of scenes in which animals are mutilated (for real in the case of the above two mentioned films). Worth checking out for fans of cannibal films, exploitation cinema, and Jess Franco.
September 17, 2010
Jesse Franco makes some real shit (I don't know how he has become a noted cult director considering the best thing Ive seen him do is Isla The Wicked Warden & even then) & this cannibal flix has some of the whitest clown faced Spanish amazon cannibals Ive ever seen . Slow motion of people eaten alive that is just as excruciatingly painful as the labium munching in Devil Hunter. One star for the theme song which is sorta catchy.
September 17, 2010
OK not the most brilliant film but very gory compared to other cannibal movies. The slow motion eating scenes were good to watch as it slows down the horror to a point where you are nearly sick and totally horrified as they eat the guts of their unfortunate victims. A little boring in parts but the gut munching makes up for that easily. With the exception of cannibal Holocaust, this is one of the gruesome cannibal horrors around. However though it is one of the cheesiest ones too as most of the cannibals look like English actors and the lines are very cheesy too especially when the "chief" of the tribe is talking. I couldn't help but laugh and of course the stupid characters who ignore the warnings and end up running right into the cannibals clutches (which you obviously know is going to happen but you wait to see who gets it first. It is a bit cruel also in parts especially when the women get eaten, a few of which you don't want to die but they do with horrific consequences.

If you just fancy a good gore fest then sit down with a rare steak and beer and watch cannibals. if you can take it.
½ April 25, 2010
Le film de cannibales le plus naze que j'ai vu! Tout y est nul, ca manque cruellement de rythme, ils marchent beaucoup dans la jungle et c'est long, y'a pas de budget, les scènes "gores" sont minables, on y croit pas une seconde, les indigènes qui parlent "notre langue", ridicule... Même pas un peu d'érotisme, un comble connaissant Jess Franco!
Il y a au moins Lina Romay mais beaucoup trop habillée, malheureusement...
½ October 22, 2008
horribly boring with lots of flesh munching. i have never been tricked into thinking that these people are eating flesh but i am often grossed out by whatever raw meat they happen to be chewing on. some of the overdubs are pretty entertaining especially the random southern accents on a few characters including a gentleman from portugal.
½ July 31, 2008
Horrendous, even worse than you'd expect from a cannibal flick from Jess Franco. Fulci regular Al Cliver is a wooden hero.
½ July 3, 2008
will there ever be a mondo movie i don't love? doubtful.
½ May 3, 2008
Allt är relativt, att Al Cliver går och gömmer sin arm bakom ryggen som ska vara avhuggen halva filmen får man ta, lika att djungel scenerna är inspelade bakom ett hotell i Spanien, Lina Romay är ovanligtvis lite naken i den här, det får du tolka som positivt eller negativt själv
April 11, 2008
Cannibals everywhere!
Page 1 of 1