Mondovino - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mondovino Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 18, 2016
Mondovino may be one of the best documentaries that I've ever watched. Rampant capitalism vs small producers, entrepreneurs who make wine only at profits vs people who makes wine for love.
If you think that the brand or the price make a good wine, you're wrong.
Watch this fascinating film.
December 8, 2013
This documentary is fascinating , very well done, incredibly interesting & funny, it shows how wine is being made , consumed & talked about in the entire world. No matter is it's being done by farmers in chile or A big Corporate from the Nappa Valley, you will love this tremendous study of the wine industry in our society in the 21st century.
½ May 19, 2013
Bordeaux, Napa, Florença, Toscana, Cafayate (Argentina) e Pernambuco. Através destas regiões o diretor Jonathan Nossiter apresenta os caminhos do vinho e a globalização dos sabores. Histórias de grandes vinicultores como a família Mondavi, o maior produtor de vinho da California, e também de pequenos como a família De Montilli, que luta para manter suas terras e as características de seu vinho.
January 13, 2013
I really enjoyed seeing this recently on TV. The more you drink wine the more you realize there are basically two major apporaches to wine. Interventionalist winemaking which often results in more sameness amongst wines regardless of region and even grapes vs. non interventional winemaking where the winemaker gets out of the way and lets the vineyard's location and the grape variety speak more transparently. I'm a fan of the latter. Want to know what real Pinot Noir should taste like? Try a btl from Mt Eden Vineyards in CA or from Robert Chevillon in Burgundy France. Want real Chardonnay, try almost any btl from Chablis France.
Super Reviewer
January 27, 2012
Very entertaining documentary on the wine industry. Here we see alcohol's royalty. I have always been fascinated to learn of the Mondavi family in particular. Good work.
April 13, 2011
The world of vino hadn't been so fascinating since Sideways. Jonathan Nossiter's fierce and funny doc focuses on the wine industry, how it went global, pushed speed over maturation and went into mass production overdrive. It's a scenario that can also apply to any number of other industries. Mondovino is potently provocative and a genuine find.
½ June 13, 2010
certainly makes you look at wine spectator, robert parker, and the whole "fine wine" industry in a different light.
June 11, 2010
This is a fascinating film that starts off seemingly about the joys of wine and pretty soon turning into a bit of an indictment of the global wine industry. One is tempted to say â??who cares, it is just wineâ?? but the filmmakers keep it interesting and the pacing is effective. The film is definitely biased and some of the editing is incredibly manipulative (more than I could ever imagine for a film about wine) but they do, to their credit, show the humanness of those they support as well as those they are attempting to criticize. The whole thing is fascinating even if you don't care at all about wine, because it is essentially about the same thing all modern stories of so-called â??globalizationâ?? are about: local, human producers/creators versus large, seemingly faceless and seemingly inhuman companies, and the people who support them.
November 8, 2009
Great film, so well made, jumping from one aspect of wine making & business to the other, with interviews connected to each other, taking us all around the world of wine...just great and so interesting.
½ October 25, 2009
Pretty impressive. I had no idea of so many facts pointed out in this documentary. Very interesting. I've always enjoyed listening to old knowledgable people. This movie features a lot of them.
½ August 25, 2009
documentary was well made with plenty of interviews with the crucial stakeholders...from a small 1 hectar farm in Bordeaux to hundreds of hectars in Napa. I felt a bit disgusted to drink the new world wine now.
June 7, 2009
Way too long, and way too unfocused. The main conflict in the film doesn't appear until 30 minutes in... most of the movie is focused on France and Napa and then they bring in footage from Argentina towards the end... odd. It tries to cover way to much ground and in the process loses the most compelling bits of the story.
½ June 6, 2009
On the one hand, there's the old school wine makers for whom the enjoyment of wine is the ultimate connection between man and nature, the only true realization of experiencing one's terroir. On the other, there's the multi-national corporations for whom wine seems to come down to a profit chart, of mis-matched labels slapped onto bottles produced elsewhere in the name of marketability. Surprisingly intriguing.
May 26, 2009
The Mondavis fondly recall a lunch with Kissenger; the Argentine wine growers are racists and Peronists; the old Italian families? Fascists, and admirers of Berlusconi; almost wherever there's a global wine grower/distributer, there's a picture of Reagan.

It's Walter Benjamin's crack about civilization and barbarism all over again.

Of course Mondovino's biases are mine: it loves the skeptic Burgundians, the Sardinians, the small timers, the New Yorker. It finds Robert Parker, the autodidact, an idiot savant with no sense of how he's being played by the wine corporations. The Californians, babbling about family and international wine growing, bragging about their 'funky' porcelain and their table, 'modeled after the one in The Godfather II,' are as painfully tacky as they're malignantly harmless.

My only complaint is its nostalgia. The interview at Christie's in London gestures towards exploring the international context of the wine trade in centuries past, how the English palate created Burgundian wine culture, &c. In other words, I would have trusted its distrust of technology and love of terroir had it turned its critical eye on these things, too.
May 15, 2009
Andersglobalistische documentaire over de globaliserende wijnindustrie.
March 26, 2009
3 stars although you have to like wine to sit through this doco which is too long and unwieldy. Surprisingly, the anti-American basis of the film does not prevent the makers presenting some awkward moments from others interviewed, whether its the Tuscan nobility's version of their role with Fascism or the hypocritical/ignorant comments made by some of the French producers concerning their family's role in Collaboration. Overall, very interesting but a shorter, more compactly edited film would bring greater enjoyment.
½ March 13, 2009
You may have to be a wine geek to like this movie but I found it fascinating.
½ January 26, 2009
A very intersting documentary on the effects of globalization in the world of wine.
Super Reviewer
½ January 15, 2009
I didn't find this film as engaging as it could have been. The thing I find most memorable about this film was the utterly atrocious camerawork and the puzzling editing: why leave in the footage of a servant interrupting the interview? The subject matter at the core is interesting, though: How, with the advent of globalization, big foreign wineries are buying [muscling] out family-owned ventures and the power that a handful of wine critics weild worldwide in wine consumption and production. I think that the filmmaking manages to cut through the fog of pretention that surrounds wine, but the characters themselves get mired and bogged down in it. I also think this movie's too long.
January 6, 2009
albeit biased and somewhat anti-american this is an interesting look on the effects of globalization and wine
Page 1 of 4