Monster Hunter Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 20, 2021
Sequel-bait, with a high price tag.
January 20, 2021
If you're a fan of the original games, I can't blame you for a certain level of animosity toward this...it's fun enough I guess if you're watching at home, but again, that's me not playing the games.
January 14, 2021
Monster Hunter is red meat to any cynical moviegoer of the modern age looking for exhibit A. It's been commodified and globalized to the point of nonidentity.
January 14, 2021
Anderson stays within his interests as a filmmaker, preferring the creation of eye candy over telling an exciting story.
January 7, 2021
Loud, violent video game adaptation is mostly forgettable.
December 29, 2020
Somehow, it's both action-packed and boring.
December 28, 2020
There's nothing especially original about Monster Hunter as a creature feature or a buddy movie or a fish-out-of-water story.
December 28, 2020
Did nothing for me.
December 26, 2020
Another prime example of the medium not translating to the screen in a coherent manner, instead exploding on the big screen in an incomprehensible mess that recycles most of what we've already seen in countless sci-fi actioners prior.
December 24, 2020
Big, noisy dumb fun. That's pretty much it. [Full review in Spanish]
December 23, 2020
Milla Jovovich and Tony Jaaa's chemistry are fun in this video game adaptation, but not enough to keep those sand creatures from taking an easy mark.
December 21, 2020
The blaring cascade of repetitions this limited spectacle has to offer might be appealing, but for anyone desiring anything more from such elemental escapism, abandon hope all ye who enter here.
December 20, 2020
At least with the video game, audiences can control the action. With the Monster Hunter movie, audiences have to sit through an often-incoherent mess that seems recycled from countless other generic sci-fi/action flicks.
December 19, 2020
We're left to process a Post-it-sized plot, numbing fight sequences and dialogue along the lines of "My God!" and "Aargh!"
December 19, 2020
If nobody got Milla Jovovich, just know that her husband got her and he'll go out of his way to piss off thousands of video game fans to prove it.
December 18, 2020
Fun for a while until it completely derails. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, etc. - also Available)
December 18, 2020
Monster Hunter is a sloppily put-together action film with little character development.
December 18, 2020
Monster Hunter rambles on to a final act that will only surprise those who have never played a video game or watched a movie based on one.
December 18, 2020
This is just supposed to be a mindless-fun monster bash, which would be fine except that the creatures aren't interesting either, or terribly original.
December 18, 2020
Mostly set-up for a more epic sequel. Decent enough when taken as a B-movie.
Page 1 of 2