Monster-in-Law - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Monster-in-Law Reviews

Page 2 of 9
May 18, 2005
I sided with the mother.
Full Review
May 18, 2005
[Director Robert] Luketic tries to revitalize Lopez's public image by pitting her against an older actress's degrading portrayal.
Full ReviewRead More
May 17, 2005
...Barbie-doll romance intertwined with an exchange of vulgar and sometimes offensive salvos between the future in-laws.
| Original Score: 0/4
May 17, 2005
Let's see how long this one stays at number one with the release of "Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith" on its heels.
Full Review| Original Score: C+
May 16, 2005
In "Monster-in-Law," Jane Fonda emerges from her recent tobacco bath to take on her first movie role in 15 years. The good news? At 67, she's still smoking.
| Original Score: B-
May 16, 2005
This really plays a like a really bad sitcom from forty years ago.
May 16, 2005
Was this really the best movie Jane Fonda could find to restart her movie career?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 16, 2005
Fails on so many levels that it is difficult to even know where to start.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 15, 2005
Fonda fans will lap this up, but even they will agree it is no "Barefoot In the Park."
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 6/10
May 15, 2005
Fonda as a dominatrix in the will-she, won't-she shallows of entertainment, with Lopez her match in campy mindlessness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 15, 2005
There's only one reason I'm giving this three stars, and that's Jane Fonda, whose talent is, well, monstrous.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
May 14, 2005
If Director Luketic and Writer Kochoff have to fall back on these unfunny, antediluvian routines, they should learn another trade.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 14, 2005
A one-joke comedy that achieves the oxymoronic feat of being fluffy and flat at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 14, 2005
It's finally happened. Jennifer Lopez has finally made a film that doesn't make you want to chew off your own arm inside of about 20 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 14, 2005
I really wanted to like Monster-in-Law, and in many ways I do, even if the overall impression left by the comedy is one more of desperation than inspiration and excuse me if I want a little bit more depth to my storylines than what's supplied here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 13, 2005
The humor of this movie has been pitched at the wrong level...it's just 100 minutes of women being cruel to each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 13, 2005
I think if 'Monster-in-Law' had been a horror flick instead of a comedy it might have worked for me. As is, it's just a horror of a movie.
May 13, 2005
The run-of-the-mill comedy might not be the Monster hit Jennifer Lopez is seeking, but it opens up the possibility of seeing more of the talented Jane Fonda.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 13, 2005
Reviled for selling themselves, for wielding power, Fonda, Lopez, and to an extent, Sykes have turned their seeming threats into commodities.
May 13, 2005
In a movie about diva-to-diva warfare, each diva is miscast.
Page 2 of 9